We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place to stay in Oaxaca.”
Review of Hotel Azucenas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Azucenas
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is wonderful. It is traditional and charming. The management and staff are friendly and helpful. The front desk staff all speak English and they have very good recommendations for restaurants, tours, sites, etc. Donna, the owner is awesome. Rooms are very clean and homey. It is a great place to get away from the busy daily lives we live. The hotel has a beautiful roof top garden area and they serve a very nice continental breakfast. They have hot coffee most of the day and it is very good. I can't recommend this hotel enough. I won't stay any place else.

Room Tip: It is a small hotel and only has 10 rooms, but they are equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Constance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Hi Constance S!
Can you tell this is a guest we LOVE to see?? Thanks for all the compliments…and we look forward to seeing you again.
It’s true – all of our receptionists and our manager speak English. Some are university students (Daniela and Juan at this time) , and for others this is a first job post-degree (a GREAT way to improve their language). And our wonderful manager –Aleythia - has been with the hotel 8 years. My English isn’t bad either.
Thanks again! Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 233 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

I loved the intimacy, services, and location of Hotel Azucenas. It's close enough to the Zocallo to be convenient, yet far enough away to be quiet. The rooftop patio is a delight from morning breakfast on into a moonlit evening. The rooms are nicely appointed and the staff is lovely. I'll be there on my next visit to Oaxaca!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrammyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hola Grammy Travels!
Small has its advantages…we usually get to know our guests, and so can help them enjoy Oaxaca in the way that THEY want to: Bird-watching? Hiking in the mountains? Cooking classes on OUR ROOF??
We look forward to seeing you again! Donna and the staff of Hotel Azucenas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was there for five days with a group of birders. We used the hotel as our center and traveled out to outlying areas to bird and enjoy the culture. Donna and her staff were fabulous, always meeting our needs even having to get up early for us to serve our breakfast. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. Because of the location, when we were doing the city thing, we could walk. It was a delightful stay.

Room Tip: I was in room 2 which was right around the corner from the check in desk but far enough away to hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hi Stephanie A – it was a delight to have you and your group!
We’re glad to make special arrangements for groups - whether they are family get-togethers, birders, photographers or yoga-practitioners. We can help them arrange tours, private meals in the hotel, transportation…and whatever else comes up when you get a group of people together for a few days. The hotel’s size makes it perfect for smaller groups…and if they rent the all of the rooms, they are welcome to close the front doors and use the whole hotel as they like!
A few years ago a Canadian woman said she’d take the entire hotel for a week in February: over the next while all the rooms were booked by her friends… We put up lists so they could sign up individually for cooking classes, tours and market visits. They set up their wine collection in our comedor…and spent at least some of their time in PJs. Delightful!! Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 wks. during the Dec. fiesta season. Azucenas's staff, roof garden, and pretty center courtyard were as charming as remembered from previous visits. Everything is clean and well-tended. We were invited to join in a staff Xmas party, which was nice fun.
I enjoyed early coffee up in the roof garden, taking in the quiet city as the sun began to warm it. Throughout the day and evening, the rooftop is a great place to meet other guests or simply observe the city and surrounding hills.
We experienced a snafu of travel complications on our last day. Donna went beyond the call of duty to help get things smoothed out.
Day & night, Oaxaca boomed with fireworks throughout the holidays. Re the noise: Oaxaca is a lively big city, noisy with traffic, centuries-old church bells, everyday life, and celebration. Despite fireworks going off nearby and all through the night, the room we were in on New Year's Eve was quiet enough for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Hi Betty B – it was great to have you with us again - glad you liked the Christmas party!
And that you enjoyed the rooftop – guests often say it was one of the things they enjoyed most about their visit to Oaxaca.
Glad we got your trip smoothed out! We’re here to help guests find their lost luggage, make onward reservations, and deal with whatever travel challenges come their way…
We’re looking forward to seeing you again – Donna and the staff of Hotel Azucenas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We recently spent a few days in the city of Oaxaca, and have found a real gem of a hotel there. The owners and staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The hotel is an easy walk to the Zocolo, and to many of the interesting sites in the downtown area. There are many resturants and markets in the area, and the hotel gave us some recommendations, which was helpful and which we used. We stayed here during the Gualaguetza a few years ago, and were able to walk to and from the arena above the town. I agree with others that the breakfast is delicious and a great way to start the day, sitting on the rooftop patio - and I'm a vegan, which can be difficult in Mexico. I love this hotel, and recommend it to all who visit the beautiful and interesting cit of Oaxaca!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thanks, Katherine K – we love having you and your family come back for a visit!
Location, lots of friendly help and a great breakfast on the rooftop terrace is a lot of what we’re about…
We look forward to seeing you again – Donna and the staff of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay of 4 nights here during Oaxaca's bustling Christmas week. We loved the rooftop terrace and fresh breakfast (delicious granola). The staff went out of their way to help us with our (many) questions, even though I'm sure it was a very busy time for them. Muchas gracias to Donna and Daniela, especially.
We found the hotel to be perfectly located, about a10 minute walk to the zocalo. A good jumping off point for just about anywhere.
A note to those who complain about the noise: Oaxaca is a vibrant, lively city. Dogs bark, fireworks explode, children play. This is part of the city's charm, and it's hard to find a hotel that blocks out all of the noise. Embrace it, it's part of the culture.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 10, which was on the rooftop. Beautiful and somewhat secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hi Sara P – thanks for taking the time to write!
We really appreciate your comments on NOISE… Oaxaca = boisterous, lively, unconcerned noise - and we’re doing everything possible to help those who are not quite accustomed to that to be comfortable!
And WE LIKE answering questions…it gives us a chance to get to know people. We’re glad you had a great stay!
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed 6 days over the Xmas holiday. It is a cute small casa, very nice staff, with good basic fresh breakfast on the rooftop terrace. Our room would be nice for 2 in one bed; we needed an additional twin bed for a child, so it cramped us a bit with limited space to unpack. The school across the street was out for holiday, and not much traffic on the street there, so we found the hotel to be plenty quiet enough. They have safety deposit box in the office. Busy week in the town, but I was able to safely park rental car on street beside hotel. Laundry service prompt and reasonable $. All were nice foreign tourists at hotel during our stay. It is a few blocks removed from all the action of the zocalo, providing a quieter setting than hotels closer in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Hi Gregory S,
Thanks for all your compliments! We do have wonderful, knowledgeable staff…several of whom have been with us for most of our 13 years!
It’s true that most of our rooms are smaller – but so is our PRICE! That’s how we've managed to provide wonderful common areas on our roof and great services at a very competitive price…
All the best! Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aitana
Hotel Aitana
#39 of 109 in Oaxaca
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#22 of 109 in Oaxaca
306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Mariposas
Hotel Las Mariposas
#12 of 109 in Oaxaca
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#36 of 109 in Oaxaca
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#24 of 109 in Oaxaca
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parador San Agustin
Hotel Parador San Agustin
#18 of 109 in Oaxaca
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azucenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azucenas

Address: Calle Prof M Aranda 203, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range: $41 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Azucenas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Azucenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azucenas Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing