We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the city!”
Review of Hotel Azucenas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Azucenas
Ranked #25 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We loved everything about this hotel! All the staff were so helpful & fluent in English!!
When our original flight to Oaxaca was changed & we missed getting here on Christmas day, they didn't charge for the night we missed even though it is high season here. They were so kind & understanding.
They helped us with luggage storage, taxi arrangements & tour booking. We would stay here again & highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Hi Bobia,
It sounds like you had a great time, even with the delayed flight!
We're always happy to store baggage so you can head off to the beach a little less encumbered. We're also glad to help you figure out HOW you want to get to the coast, where you want to go...and to make your reservations so you can get there.
We appreciate your comments! Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Azucenas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 230 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2011

Just spent 6 nights here. Great location, clean and lovely hotel. The terrace is a gorgeous place to spend some time after a day of touring the city and its surroundings. Love the complimentary coffee, tea, pop or beer for purchase etc. Stamps are sold if you need them; nice touches like this are so great.

The wonderful, accomodating staff make it a place I will definitely return to. They were more than willing to answer questions, help to recommend a restaurant, tour, whatever we might want. All of the staff is so friendly and nice.

This hotel is a great value for the price. If you're looking for a clean, well-priced, lovely hotel in a great central location, you've found it - look no further. Highly recommended.

The only reason I was not more sad to leave....was now venturing to the coast of Oaxaca to enjoy the beaches!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B'ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Hi B'ham, and thanks so much for your compliments... We try to specialize in "nice touches"!

So, we hope you had a GREAT time at the beach (REMEMBER, you're always welcome to leave some luggage with us for a few days if you'll be returning through Oaxaca)..and that we we see you soon! Donna and the people at Hotel Azucenas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This was the second hotel we stayed in whilst in Oaxaca and we enjoyed it much more than the much more expensive Casa del las Bugambilias.

As soon as we went into the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly young man and were made to feel very welcome. This got the stay off to a great start.

The room was basic but comfortable and homely. The only problem we had was the water. On our first stay we waited a long time for hot water and on the second trip (we stayed there on two separate occasions) we couldn't get water hot water at all one night.This is the only reason I have scored it 4 stars and not 5!

The hotel benefits from a fantastic rooftop terrace. It is great place to start the day with breakfast or to end the day with a drink.

If you are staying in Oaxaca and want a good hotel at a great price then don't look further!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WOWGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Hi WOWGordon - thanks for writing with your wonderful complements about our staff (they are ALL great!), and the terrace.
AND thanks, too, for letting us know about the problem you had with hot water. We DO have hot water 24 hours a day - in all rooms - but the rooms that are furthest from our hot water heaters can take a LONG time for the hot water to arrive. We are working on resolving this problem right now - perhaps with a closer pass-through water heater.
Saludos desde Oaxaca, Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel was well located (walking distance from Zocalo) in a quiet neighbourhoud (rare in Mexico)
Nice and clean room
Excellent balcony where we could enjoy a good breakfast with a great view.
Very friendly (english speaking) staff, both owner and guy at the reception!!!
A place to recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Hi Ruben D - We remember you for your smiles! It was a pleasure to have you enjoy our place so much - and to have you back after your trip to the beach.
We're always glad to keep peoples luggage for a few days when they head to the coast - you certainly won't need your warm clothes there...
Belgium is a long way away, but we hope to see you again, Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We started our trip with Donna, the owner, inviting us to the local market to get things to make a Day of the Dead altar at the hotel. It was a wonderful way to meet the other guests and get into the spirit of this very special holiday. The staff was amazingly helpful and knowledgeable, helping us with everything from finding a local professional photographer (see photos below) to recovering our lost luggage. The rooms are charming as well as comfortable. You feel safe and secure within the compound that is Hotel Azucenas. Breakfast is served daily on the roof garden, it was a great start to each day and an opportunity to meet the other guests. We love this place and will always stay here when visiting Oaxaca.

Room Tip: #10!!! Away from the street. Up on the roof. Felt very private.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Hi Cynthia W - AND YOU WERE GREAT GUESTS - you got involved in everything, met lots of people and spread the fun!
The DAY OF THE DEAD is the most culturally interesting holiday in Oaxaca - beautiful, inspiring and exciting. And helping to shop for and decorate an altar is a wonderful way to experience it...
We're looking forward to seeing you again! Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We so enjoyed staying at the Hotel Azucenas in Oaxaca. The staff were so warm and welcoming and our room was very clean and comfortable. On one morning,we rose early and watched the sun rise over a panoramic view of Oaxaca while having a delicious breakfast on the rooftop terrace, beautiful! This hotel is within walking distance of nearly all the city sites & markets. I look forward to another stay in Oaxaca at the lovely Hotel Azucenas.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susansmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Hi Susan - thanks for mentioning our terrace... I originally picked this house to become a hotel because of the view it would have from the roof: the surrounding mountains, Soledad and San Jose churches (one block away), the dome tops of the ex-Convento Santo Domingo...and a friendly neighborhood just below our walls...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Azucenas for a visit to Oaxaca for Fiesta de Muertos, and couldn't imagine a better home-base! The hotel was lovely and full character, from the tortugas in the courtyard fountain to the roof-top terrace, an oasis of tranquility and esthetic pleasure. The staff were without exception professional and gracious, and helped make our stay feel personal. The hotel is walking-distance from almost anything one would want to do while in Oaxaca, and walking-distance to buses for further excursions, making it extremely convenient. My favourite part of the day was relaxing on the terrace in the late afternoon with friends, old and new. I am hesitant to say too much more about how wonderful Hotel Azucenas and its staff are, in case it becomes too popular for us to stay there again, but anyone planning to visit Oaxaca (when I'm not going to be there!) would find a comfortable, pleasurable home here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexFromSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Hi Kathy - thanks for writing! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time here...

We DO try to make it a "BETTER-than-home" base. We answer your questions, help make arrangements, help you figure out how to find ANYTHING you're looking for, and do the dishes...you have fun, and sit on our terrace and relax!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 108 in Oaxaca
302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Mariposas
Hotel Las Mariposas
#13 of 108 in Oaxaca
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aitana
Hotel Aitana
#38 of 108 in Oaxaca
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Los Cantaros
0.3 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#27 of 108 in Oaxaca
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#18 of 108 in Oaxaca
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azucenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azucenas

Address: Calle Prof M Aranda 203, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range: $45 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Azucenas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Azucenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azucenas Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing