We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in a fabulous city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Las Mariposas
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in a fabulous city”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed in Las Mariposas for six days (November 18 - 24, 2013) and were lucky to get one of the apartments within the hotel. That meant that we had a cooking/dining/living area as well as a bedroom and bathroom. The apartment was perfectly clean and comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked with cooking supplies and dishes. More importantly, the common areas of this hotel are beautiful and you could find a quiet corner to lounge in or meet people in the central courtyard where breakfast was served and birdsong greeted you. The two women who ran the hotel were very helpful and clear when we needed to find a collectivo taxi to a nearby market and their younger staff member helped us with printing our boarding passes and calling a taxi for an early morning flight; so much appreciated. I might add that the cleaning staff felt like part of the community - so cheerful and friendly. I highly recommend this distinctive place to stay in Oaxaca. Sincerely, Cathy and Nick

Room Tip: One of the apartments allows you to cook and have extra room to lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cluchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks for coming.
We are grateful with your comments, the studios has a kitchenette, refrigerator and stove to make your stay in Oaxaca feel even more like home and is a pleasure to know you enjoyed your staying with us. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    97
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
34
146
57
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Las Mariposas is located about one half block south of Llano Park. It is located north and east of the zócalo. I had an upstairs room with a sink in the bedroom, a separate bath and the wi-fi worked well. The room and the hotel were very clean. In the morning there was a communal breakfast of coffee, cereal and sweet breads served in their courtyard. If you don't mind walking to the major tourist spots this hotel would probably suit your needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soledad2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios del Hotel Las Mariposas. Nuestra ubicación a tres cuadras de Santo Domingo y a 8 cuadras del Centro, les permite a nuestros huéspedes conocer los principales atractivos turísticos caminando al tiempo que disfrutan la ciudad. Esperamos contar con su preferencia en su próxima visita a Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.F.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Last week, my friend and I chose this hotel because we saw the splendid references here in Tripadvisor.

Everything was fine until bedtime. At midnight my friend woke up with bites on her face, we looked on the bed and we found a BIG bedbug on her pillow. We did not want to stay there anymore. Can you imagine?

We called the person in charge and he called the owner who was ashamed and gave us refund, we can understand that sometimes this can happen, buuut she was aware since morning, I mean the lady who cleans the rooms told them about the bedbug problem, that maybe the people before us brought them from other place, but they didn´t tell us anything, they just gave us the room, even when they knew!! That´s is just unacceptable.

Everything was just fine, the place is beautiful and very well located (that´s the only we can say because we left immediately) but we can´t stand a problem like that when you are on vacation.

We left the hotel at 01:00 am for another one, and immediately we came back to our city, we washed everything to make sure we didn´t bring any disgusting bedbug.

Please make sure this won´t happen to you.

Best!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We are profoundly sorry for the inconvenience and the unfortunate experience you had during your recent stay at Hotel Las Mariposas. We always do everything possible to make sure our guests are comfortable and safe, unfortunately it´s widely known that bedbugs propagate very quickly and extremely easily. As soon as we were made aware of the problem we took all the necessary measures to ensure it will not occur again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I spent a week here while doing a Spanish class in Oaxaca city. The rooms are very clean, and the whole place has a very warm and caring atmosphere. The communal kitchen has everything you need. A simple but adequate continental breakfast (with excellent coffee) is included and served in a beautiful courtyard surrounded by flowers and shrubs. We got to know fellow guests as we ate breakfast together. Teresa and her staff really make this place. They are always available to answer any questions or to make recommendations. Teresa recommended a place to eat on our 1st night and she personally walked us to it. Lucina was so kind and sweet, and always had a smile on her face.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for speend your time to write a comment .
we really apreciate it, hope to see you again in the future.
Oaxaca is your second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Las Mariposas was my home for five nights in late October 2013, and I highly recommend it as a clean, comfortable, soothing, secure, and very friendly hotel. It is close and a pleasant walk to most everything you would want to see in Oaxaca City. I loved the terraced and labyrinth-like feel of the open air interior, where a guest would happen upon shelves full of books, multiple patios for sitting to read or visit, a bubbler with agua pura, and kitchen facilities-- all within easy reach of their clean, comfortable room. The common breakfast area was relaxing and offered a nice opportunity to meet and share notes with other guests. Oaxaca is a very safe city, but Las Mariposas in nonetheless a welcoming fortress—the iron gate at the front ensures that no one enters the citadel without the knowledge of hotel staff. I extend my special thanks to the gracious Teresa, who was so helpful when I lost my ATM card, and to Cristel, the young reina of the hotel, who was so sweet and friendly and tolerant of my weak Spanish in a number of conversations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
we aprreciate your comments!, thanks for let us know how you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.
hope to work with you in your next visit to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia WA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've been to Oaxaca maybe 40 times over the last ten years. I usually stay in an apartment, but I also stay in hotels from time to time on shorter visits. Las Mariposas has clean cozy rooms, nice garden areas with interesting accent pieces, a public refrigerator, a welcoming feel, and very reasonable prices. My favorite choice in Oaxaca.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nosoydeaquinidealla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks for your opinion, we really appreciate to take your time to make a comment .
hope to work with you in your next visit to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vieques
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at Las Mariposas for ten days. Loved the staff, their morning coffee and some pastry is great. Rooms are cozy and clean. Coming back to the hotel after 8pm you need to ring a bell and someone will come to open the door, but we never had any problems with that.
However, their recommended tour guide that we used was really bad. We took a trip with her to Monte Alban, she was probably knowledgeable, but did not care at all about what we were interested in and it was just two of us with her. You would be better off going on your own, or hiring someone else in town.
Anyway, hotel itself is beautiful, we highly recommend staying there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CoquiFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
we really appreaciate your comments, thanks for let us know what services you did not like during your stay in the hotel , we will check about this.

hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#20 of 109 in Oaxaca
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 109 in Oaxaca
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 109 in Oaxaca
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#30 of 109 in Oaxaca
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#10 of 109 in Oaxaca
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Oaxaca Centro
One Oaxaca Centro
#11 of 109 in Oaxaca
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Mariposas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Mariposas

Property: Hotel Las Mariposas
Address: Calle Pino Suarez 517 | Centro histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Green Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Mariposas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Mariposas is a small, family-run hotel with a friendly, relaxed guesthouse atmosphere, offering bed and breakfast to all kinds of international travelers. Choose a single or a double room and you'll find the comfortable beds, private bathroom and spotlessly clean accommodation exactly what you need. If you'd prefer the option of having your own cooking facilities, then consider a studio apartment with kitchenette, refrigerator and stove to make your stay in Oaxaca feel even more like home. Short and long-term stays are available both for rooms and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Las Mariposas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Mariposas Oaxaca
Las Mariposas Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing