We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Las Mariposas
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Value”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've stayed are the hotel before (rented a studio 2 times) and can give the property a wholehearted thumbs up! The studios are roomy, clean, well stocked and really have everything a guest would need to be comfortable. Its close to everything, surprisingly quiet (ask for a room off the street) and the staff are very pleasant. In fact they remembered me from my first stay, even called me by name (Sr.B), made me feel right at home!

Room Tip: If your preference is for quiet, request a room away from the front entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your opinions, hope to see you in your next visit to oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    97
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
34
145
57
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My sons and I stayed at Las Mariposas hotel on our latest trip to Oaxaca.This is our second stay at this hotel and we are already planning our next stay at this hotel in a few more months.The hotel is very charming and and very close to all the activities in town.We love this hotel most of all because of the friendliness of the staff and the ways they try ti insure that your stay is a pleasant one. They made us feel as part of the family.See you there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gpaalex01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
thank you so much for your comments, hope to see you in your next trip to oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, Beijing, China
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This lovely little hotel is in a great location, 5-10 mins walk from the main bus station and another 5 mins walk to the Santo Domingo church in the centre of town, as well as close to a small park and lots of small cafes and restaurants. The rooms are laid out around a peaceful winding courtyard filled with trees and flowers, and there are lots of little nooks and crannies with chairs and tables that are perfect for coffee in the morning or a beer in the evening. There's free coffee and sweet breads in the morning (not a full breakfast, but a good way to start the day), and the staff are extremely friendly. The rooms were clean, a good size, but otherwise nothing special, and a bit too dark. Small beds. Free drinking water in the rooms was a plus. At night the main gate in is locked, which is probably great for safety, but it took us a few moments to find the bell to get the night staff to let us back in. Overall a great budget choice.

Room Tip: Our room in the back courtyard was very dark - have a look around to see if it's possible to fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
we really appreciate your opinions, remember that oaxaca is waiting for you with open arms.
hope to see you in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Besides the beautiful garden, hammock, breakfast and location, I love Las Mariposas because of it's attention to the environment and community. It serves fair trade coffee, uses recycled water for the garden, has a worm bin and recycles everything. But you would never know it from the elegant setting and gracious hospitality of the owner, Lucia Davila.
It's easy to have conversations with other guests at the lovely breakfast in the garden and I was able to make friends and get good ideas about what to see.

Thank you Lucia for making your community a better place! The filtered water is purchased from a local company rather than a huge corporation. She sometimes features local indigenous artisans so your money goes directly to them. Las Mariposas should be receiving eco-certification soon but in the meantime it's already the real thing.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
we really appreciate your comments, hope to see you in your next visit to oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel Mariposas in Oaxaca for 1 full month. My private studio room was well equipped with plenty of closet storage and small kitchenette. It’s king sized bed was firmly comfortable and only lacked pillows to my personal comfort. My room looked out to the well gardened back terrace with a large tree as its center piece. It’s rear position in the hotel provided tranquility and peaceful nights. What I liked most about this family run hotel was it location to Parque de Llano and it’s vicinity the ADO 1st class bus station. The hotel’s staff from top to bottom were friendly courteous and always helpful. I learned not to expect much for breakfast but preferred to prepared my own in the room's well appointed kitchenette. I would return in the future for the right monthly fee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gbstampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
we really appreciate your opinions, hope to see you in your next visit to oaxaca.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have just come back from my 5th trip to Oaxaca in less than 2 years. Oaxaca has become my 2nd home and Las Mariposas is where I always stay. The location is very central and an easy walk to the Zocalo where there is always something to see and do.
Teresa and her daughter Lucia always make everyone feel right at home. The rest of the staff
are also very welcoming and try to help in anyway they can.
Las Mariposas is definitly A plus on my scale.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie3849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your opinions, remenber that oaxaca is wayting for your next visit.
see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Rooms are exactly what you need. Hotel itself offes you calm atmosphere when you need it after lond day in Oaxaca. Hotel staff is very friendly and very helpfull. They even help us with airplane tickets that was a bug problem for us to buy from Europe, without kniwing us, or have any security... Great place!!!

Room Tip: Have room at the back, if possible.. No noise you will feel from busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, hope to see you again here in hotel las mariposas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#21 of 109 in Oaxaca
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#20 of 109 in Oaxaca
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#29 of 109 in Oaxaca
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#10 of 109 in Oaxaca
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.5 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 109 in Oaxaca
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Mariposas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Mariposas

Property: Hotel Las Mariposas
Address: Calle Pino Suarez 517 | Centro histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Green Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Mariposas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Mariposas is a small, family-run hotel with a friendly, relaxed guesthouse atmosphere, offering bed and breakfast to all kinds of international travelers. Choose a single or a double room and you'll find the comfortable beds, private bathroom and spotlessly clean accommodation exactly what you need. If you'd prefer the option of having your own cooking facilities, then consider a studio apartment with kitchenette, refrigerator and stove to make your stay in Oaxaca feel even more like home. Short and long-term stays are available both for rooms and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Las Mariposas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Mariposas Oaxaca
Las Mariposas Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing