We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Ideal base in Oaxaca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Mariposas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Las Mariposas
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ideal base in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Las Mariposas is located easy walking distance south to the Zocola or north to the 1st class bus station. Minutes away from Juarez Park (El Llano) where the festival of the Virgin de Guadelupe is held, combining religious reverence and circus midway madness and noise. Inside the Mariposas it remains serene.
Everything is spotless and the gardens are very relaxing.
The studios are the best buy option (600 pesos) and are very spacious, but not easy to reserve.
The regular rooms (500) are better than most similar options in the neighborhood.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Numerous restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Rent a studio if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rkunelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. we are working to provide you the best service.
Enjoy Oaxaca.
You are welcome anytime you will come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    96
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
32
135
52
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

we spent a week at Las Mariposas and our stay exceeded our expectations. There are 20 rooms, some with a small kitchen in the corner of the room including refrigerator, pots, dishes and utensils. There is also a shared refrigerator and microwave in the courtyard. The room was spotless and the two courtyards were kept tidy. The location is perfect for walking to the many sights in old town Oaxaca. We made reservations on-line with Lucia who was very helpful to us and made us feel quite at home during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. it was a pleasure to serve you, Hope to see you in your next visit to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The place is in a good position, clean and spacious. The price is all right for what it is but rooms are dark due to few and small windows. I had no problem with all of that but the staff is unfriendly and not really motivated.

When we were checking out staff members came by twice to remind us that we have to check out by midday even though it was not even eleven yet and we told them that we were packing already.

In the end I forgot my charished and expensive downy feather pillow in the room by mistake. When I realized and came back for it the next morning to ask for it the told me that they had already thrown it in the garbage and there was no way to give it back. Worst thing was that they did not even say sorry or seem to care at all. I did not feel very welcome overall and I felt like they wanted us to come pay and then get lost again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: There are many other options at this price range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Propietario at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Google Translation
Lamentamos que la atención recibida no haya sido conforme a sus expectativas, ya que la atención personalizada es una característica que nos distingue.

Esperamos contar con su preferencia en un futuro.

Atentamente.
Hotel las mariposas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very basic hotel but good value for money ($500 MXP per night per room). The owner very attentive. Coffee and bread in the mornings. No parking but possible to park on the street, which is very busy during the day and therefore, hard to find a place before 8:30PM.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GourmetMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your coments. Hope to serve you in your next visit to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Oaxaca is an absolutely lovely city. I stayed at Las Mariposas for 2 nights. The hotel is very clean and is well-located, near the centre of the city and the bus station. The staff was kind. The breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your opinios. Hope to see you in your next trip to Oaxaca.
and Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012


I think my comment above covers really all I need say. Oaxaca is a wonderful town but to stay in this haven adds to the stay. It is situated not right in the centre , which is a bonus, but ten minutes walk from the Zocalo and 5 from st. Domingo. The owners are so helpful and kind and it makes a difference knowing that this house has been in the family for generations. Do book in advance being my only suggestion. No one should miss staying here even if they are just passing through Oaxaca

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WidgeParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your opinios. our guest are the reason to try to be the best in service , it was a pleasure to serve you.
Hope to see you again.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed 8 days at Las Mariposas. Coffee plus bread and peanut butter (or cake) served at 8 am in flagstone courtyard with fountain. There must have been 7 or 8 people working there, all very friendly and comfortable with tourists. For some reason, nearly all the other guests were non-Mexican -- German, Dutch, US, so the conversation around the breakfast tables was in English. The hostess, Teresa, an elegant and formidable lady, has all the connections (including Spanish teachers) at her fingertips. Great location; walk to bus station, Zocalo, Mercados, Santo Domingo. Women with samples of the carpets woven out in Teotitlan come several times a week to display and hopefully, sell.

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant. Rooms in inner courtyards quieter; there are a lot of churches in the nieghb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments!. we are working hard everyday to provide best service.
Hope to see you again.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Azucenas
Hotel Azucenas
#23 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#21 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#20 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#25 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#10 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Mariposas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Mariposas

Property: Hotel Las Mariposas
Address: Calle Pino Suarez 517 | Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#5 Green Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Mariposas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Mariposas is a small, family-run hotel with a friendly, relaxed guesthouse atmosphere, offering bed and breakfast to all kinds of international travelers. Choose a single or a double room and you'll find the comfortable beds, private bathroom and spotlessly clean accommodation exactly what you need. If you'd prefer the option of having your own cooking facilities, then consider a studio apartment with kitchenette, refrigerator and stove to make your stay in Oaxaca feel even more like home. Short and long-term stays are available both for rooms and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Las Mariposas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Mariposas Oaxaca
Las Mariposas Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing