We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice economic hotel in downtown Oaxaca city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Las Mariposas
Ranked #13 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very basic hotel but good value for money ($500 MXP per night per room). The owner very attentive. Coffee and bread in the mornings. No parking but possible to park on the street, which is very busy during the day and therefore, hard to find a place before 8:30PM.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GourmetMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you so much for your coments. Hope to serve you in your next visit to Oaxaca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Las Mariposas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 338 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Oaxaca is an absolutely lovely city. I stayed at Las Mariposas for 2 nights. The hotel is very clean and is well-located, near the centre of the city and the bus station. The staff was kind. The breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your opinios. Hope to see you in your next trip to Oaxaca.
and Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012


I think my comment above covers really all I need say. Oaxaca is a wonderful town but to stay in this haven adds to the stay. It is situated not right in the centre , which is a bonus, but ten minutes walk from the Zocalo and 5 from st. Domingo. The owners are so helpful and kind and it makes a difference knowing that this house has been in the family for generations. Do book in advance being my only suggestion. No one should miss staying here even if they are just passing through Oaxaca

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WidgeParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your opinios. our guest are the reason to try to be the best in service , it was a pleasure to serve you.
Hope to see you again.
Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed 8 days at Las Mariposas. Coffee plus bread and peanut butter (or cake) served at 8 am in flagstone courtyard with fountain. There must have been 7 or 8 people working there, all very friendly and comfortable with tourists. For some reason, nearly all the other guests were non-Mexican -- German, Dutch, US, so the conversation around the breakfast tables was in English. The hostess, Teresa, an elegant and formidable lady, has all the connections (including Spanish teachers) at her fingertips. Great location; walk to bus station, Zocalo, Mercados, Santo Domingo. Women with samples of the carpets woven out in Teotitlan come several times a week to display and hopefully, sell.

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant. Rooms in inner courtyards quieter; there are a lot of churches in the nieghb...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments!. we are working hard everyday to provide best service.
Hope to see you again.
Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in mid Sept.
- Everything is VERY clean for a hotel in this price range... I even saw them cleaning behind some bookshelves in a common hallway the first day.
- Staff is very helpful and friendly.
- Our initial room faced a courtyard with quite a few mosquitos... and there was gap between the screen frame and the window frame. We asked to change rooms and they accommodated us immediately, no problem. We were able to move our stuff into the new room first thing in the morning when we asked.
- We booked the Monte Alban tour with them and the guides were very knowledgeable and friendly. Van that took us there was brand new.

Two small complaints:
- The common spaces get very dark at night, due to very dim eco-friendly lighting (once I went to get water at 6 am and literally all the lights were off). I don't think it would be too damaging to the environment to make things just a bit brighter.
- The breakfast ends at 9:30 and one day we were in time but there was not enough bread for both of us. Coffee is also not very hot, and quite weak.

Room Tip: Check the window screen before settling in. Mosquitoes in the courtyard.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments. About your opinions we will be working on that and hope not to have the same problem in the future.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I spent a week in Oaxaca before heading to the coast for a few days (where I am now). I spend the week at Las Mariposas. I found the location very convenient, especially close to the language school I was working with - Becari. Nice park at the end of the street where families played and spent time together.

There are a couple of wonderful courtyards at Las Mariposas. One disappointment I had was that they were doing some maintenance work while I was there so the courtyards weren't useable for much of the time, although I did sit out at night while checking emails. They were sealing the tile, painting railings, and trimming vines. This is definitely a slower season, so the perfect time to do the work.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ltushla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments. we were doing some maintenance work because you Know is slow season, and it is the best time to do it, and all this one is for to give the best service to our guest.Hope to see you again.
Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in September. Simple, little and clean rooms that cover your needs. Simple breakfast with nice organic coffee. Nice gardens and very well located just a few blocks from interest places like Zocalo, Santo Domingo's church and museum and restaurants.
I would certainly recommend or stay there again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Kletuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you so much for your coments. Hope to see you in your next trip to Oaxaca. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#19 of 108 in Oaxaca
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#18 of 108 in Oaxaca
351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#20 of 108 in Oaxaca
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#31 of 108 in Oaxaca
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#11 of 108 in Oaxaca
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Oaxaca Centro
One Oaxaca Centro
#10 of 108 in Oaxaca
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Mariposas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Mariposas

Address: Calle Pino Suarez 517 | Centro histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Green Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range: $38 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Mariposas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Mariposas is a small, family-run hotel with a friendly, relaxed guesthouse atmosphere, offering bed and breakfast to all kinds of international travelers. Choose a single or a double room and you'll find the comfortable beds, private bathroom and spotlessly clean accommodation exactly what you need. If you'd prefer the option of having your own cooking facilities, then consider a studio apartment with kitchenette, refrigerator and stove to make your stay in Oaxaca feel even more like home. Short and long-term stays are available both for rooms and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Las Mariposas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Mariposas Oaxaca
Las Mariposas Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing