We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, well run budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Las Mariposas
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very clean, well run budget hotel”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in mid Sept.
- Everything is VERY clean for a hotel in this price range... I even saw them cleaning behind some bookshelves in a common hallway the first day.
- Staff is very helpful and friendly.
- Our initial room faced a courtyard with quite a few mosquitos... and there was gap between the screen frame and the window frame. We asked to change rooms and they accommodated us immediately, no problem. We were able to move our stuff into the new room first thing in the morning when we asked.
- We booked the Monte Alban tour with them and the guides were very knowledgeable and friendly. Van that took us there was brand new.

Two small complaints:
- The common spaces get very dark at night, due to very dim eco-friendly lighting (once I went to get water at 6 am and literally all the lights were off). I don't think it would be too damaging to the environment to make things just a bit brighter.
- The breakfast ends at 9:30 and one day we were in time but there was not enough bread for both of us. Coffee is also not very hot, and quite weak.

Room Tip: Check the window screen before settling in. Mosquitoes in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. About your opinions we will be working on that and hope not to have the same problem in the future.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    97
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
34
146
57
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I spent a week in Oaxaca before heading to the coast for a few days (where I am now). I spend the week at Las Mariposas. I found the location very convenient, especially close to the language school I was working with - Becari. Nice park at the end of the street where families played and spent time together.

There are a couple of wonderful courtyards at Las Mariposas. One disappointment I had was that they were doing some maintenance work while I was there so the courtyards weren't useable for much of the time, although I did sit out at night while checking emails. They were sealing the tile, painting railings, and trimming vines. This is definitely a slower season, so the perfect time to do the work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltushla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. we were doing some maintenance work because you Know is slow season, and it is the best time to do it, and all this one is for to give the best service to our guest.Hope to see you again.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in September. Simple, little and clean rooms that cover your needs. Simple breakfast with nice organic coffee. Nice gardens and very well located just a few blocks from interest places like Zocalo, Santo Domingo's church and museum and restaurants.
I would certainly recommend or stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kletuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your coments. Hope to see you in your next trip to Oaxaca. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Las Mariposas for several days in August and loved it. The location is perfect, near enough to everything but not in the midst of all the noise, the area itself is lovely. The hotel is really pretty, our room was spacious and clean with a huge bed. The staff were friendly, particularly the cleaning ladies who offered help and advice when I had an upset stomach. The hotel also has lovely courtyards for relaxing in. I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return here and to wonderful Oaxaca in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. we are always working to provide the best service to our guest and make them feel like home. Hope to see you in your next trip to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Sizeable, clean room set in sprawling colonial house-style compound with pretty courtyards and authentic touches. Best value for money we could find in Oaxaca City, within walking distance to all main sites. Would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your opinions about Las Mariposas Hotel. We are always trying to keep the best rates for our guest.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Hotel las Mariposas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

A very lovely hotel with nice accomodation for a very reasonable price !
Our room was equipped by a cuisine so we could cook which was a fine way for us to avoid tacos after 2 weeks of mexican regime !!!!
Perfectly located only few blocs away from Zocalo and restaurants streets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchie_22agosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you very much for writing. our studios with kitchenette are a good option for people who prefer to eat something made by them.
we know for tourist the rates is important and one of our strength is our rates..
Hope to see you on your next visit to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

my family arrived at las mariposas during the guelaguetza festival,and what a great choice we made. the place was spotless,and in an ideal location,close to every thing and in a nice and safe neighb orhood.the thing that puts this place over other hotels is the staff,from the men to the cleaning ladies,they were wonderful..Beth in the office was superb.I now feel as if I have a family in Oaxaca.Thanks

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank gpaalex01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposas1, Gerente at Hotel Las Mariposas, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment and for taking the time to write about the hotel we are glad that you like it and felt like home we hope to see you in your next visit to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#20 of 109 in Oaxaca
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 109 in Oaxaca
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#18 of 109 in Oaxaca
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#32 of 109 in Oaxaca
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#10 of 109 in Oaxaca
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Oaxaca Centro
One Oaxaca Centro
#11 of 109 in Oaxaca
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Mariposas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Mariposas

Property: Hotel Las Mariposas
Address: Calle Pino Suarez 517 | Centro histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Green Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Mariposas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Mariposas is a small, family-run hotel with a friendly, relaxed guesthouse atmosphere, offering bed and breakfast to all kinds of international travelers. Choose a single or a double room and you'll find the comfortable beds, private bathroom and spotlessly clean accommodation exactly what you need. If you'd prefer the option of having your own cooking facilities, then consider a studio apartment with kitchenette, refrigerator and stove to make your stay in Oaxaca feel even more like home. Short and long-term stays are available both for rooms and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Las Mariposas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Mariposas Oaxaca
Las Mariposas Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing