We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Oaxaca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa de la Tia Tere
Ranked #9 of 132 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I just arrived from La Casa de la Tía Tere. It was a great trip to Oaxaca, blocks away from the Andador Turístico. The place is nice, a little noisy if you get a room in the main window and the light comes into the room as soon as the sun comes out. The staff is friendly though sometimes it is hard to find them on their working spot. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and cozy. I did not have an AC in the room but during winter it was not necessary.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauricio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Casa de la Tia Tere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 120 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

This little hotel has a really good location, its clean and has all the services. My only issues eith this place is that the rooms are really small, the price is a little high for what you get and you get a lot of noise in the morning. But you get the most important services in a good way.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed a few nights here. We chose it as we wanted a hotel with a pool. The pool is really nice - nicer than the photos suggested. Unfortunately the weather was a little cool and we were just too busy with tours etc to use it other than for a quick bit of relaxation for about half an hour or so on one day. The rooms were spacious - relatively simple but all you needed.

The staff were really friendly and helpful.

The hotel is a very short easy walk from the centre.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 65SusanB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

La Casa de la Tia Tere is a small, relatively central hotel in Oaxaca, Mexico, situated a few blocks from streets leading directly to the Zocalo. It has some 20 rooms and four bungalows. My Wife and I, plus son and daughter-in-law and granddaughter stayed in one of the two-bedroom bungalows by the pool side for six nights and this turned out to be excellent value. The staff are really helpful (both Rozio and Rosa are first class) and serve a decent (if limited) breakfast - coffee and tea available at all hours! Rozio is also very helpful with arranging for taxis etc and for tours.

The immediate area is quiet (with some useful local shops), and central Oaxaca is both fascinating and a delight.

Excellent all round

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking out over the back of the hotel, South-facing, onto the garden and small po...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewes1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

best place in oaxaca. Good value well appointed room off a lovely garden courtyard. nice pool and friendly breakfast bar. Free coffee and tea all day. Very quiet and peaceful, off the main centre a bit of a walk to the main attractions but very friendly efficient staff. Really good experience

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atirenaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here for almost 3 weeks at the end of Jan and first of Feb and found it to be the nicest, friendliest place I have ever stayed. The staff were personable and very helpful when I was ill with a chest infection and since I was on my own, that meant alot. I just felt right at home and would stay here again if I ever wanted to go back to Oaxaca.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, but the ground floor rooms are by the driveway and people eating in the...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Casa de la Tia Tere does not look like its name, and is a typical local house which at first you do not notice in the street.
A little surprising at first, the reception has 2 large doors opening on the street, behind bars as is customary in old houses in many South American towns. The entrance to the hotel is actually on the side, through the garage door which opens on an enclosed driveway, which leads to an inside patio. Most rooms (3 floors of them) open on this patio, which is pleasant apart from the cars parked on the driveway, which sometimes leave early in the morning.
There is a nice swimming pool, which we did not use as we focused on the visits of Oaxaca. But we enjoyed the back door of our room opening on the pool and giving some light in the room.
The room is spacious, simple but clean and reasonably equipped. Staff was very kind and welcoming. Breakfast is simple but good, as you would expect from this category of guest house. It is around 10 mn walk from the Zocalo and main center areas, but it is an easy walk and we felt safe even at night. And it makes for a quieter environment (less traffic).
Overall, a good choice in Oaxaca if low season, not sure how it works in high season.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Skuatakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 108 in Oaxaca
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#18 of 108 in Oaxaca
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 108 in Oaxaca
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de la Tia Tere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Tia Tere

Address: Murguia # 612 Col. Centro | between Libres and Mártires de Tacubaya, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range: $68 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de la Tia Tere 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa de la Tia Tere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De La Tia Tere Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing