We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice for a Boutique Hotel in Centro Historico” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Antigua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Antigua
Ranked #39 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
316 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Good Choice for a Boutique Hotel in Centro Historico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This review is submitted on behalf of our friend who visited with us during our stay in Oaxaca (we rented an apartment). Though I didn't personally stay here, I feel qualified to submit this review since I reserved the Hotel for him, and he communicated all feedback. First, the location can't be beat. Only a few blocks from the Zacolo (central square and Cathedral), and likewise from all the best restaurants, bars, museums, galleries and shopping. Second, the room was clean and comfortable. Third, the included breakfast was very good. Fourth, the value is better than comparable Hotels located nearby. The only minor complaints: They could use some english speaking staff (for a high-class tourist Hotel), and rooms should be equipped with LCD/Plasma TV's with some english-language News channels (e.g. CNN, BBC; FOX). And, our friend had reserved an upper floor room, but only got a ground floor one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    38
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
46
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Wonderful hotel, great service, helpful and friendly staff, beautiful clean rooms, excellent location, price couldn't be beat! definitely recommend this hotel. If you stay there Don't forget to visit the Tienda de Mujeres Artesanales next to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try ti avoid the rooms to that face the street, because of street noise!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Palz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

After staying in many hotels in Oaxaca I consider that Casa Antigua is by far the best.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarMurAgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Lovely hotel with the tast of small details, beautiful courtyard, nice location, walking distance to all the places down town. Could be some noise from the pool area with kids playing and screaming, but you are not in Oaxaca to be inside your hotelroom. Otherwise everything was really quiet, no noise from the street. Breakfast was nice, and you could choose from a menu. So relaxing to sit outside in the courtyard enjoying the breakfast and fresh orangejuice. We had a superior room with AC which worked perfectly and free internet access. The room was quite small, but it it was nice, clean and cosy. We did not need a bigger room since we most of the time was out exploring the city. All beds are hard in Mexico, but these were not too bad.

I would absolutely recomend this hotel !

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Norway76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

It was such a great experience. Although the rooms are small and not stylish in the least, the beautiful courtyard and delicious breakfasts made up for it. The rooms can be a little noisy because there is echoing in the courtyard, but in general it was very quiet and restful. The little dipping pool was a nice touch. The location couldn't be better for seeing the city. It is a GREAT deal.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lpo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

i just got back from oaxaca, and couldn't be happier with our stay at casa antigua. for less than half the cost camino real, we had a beautifull room, less than a block away. the service was excellent and so receptive to our family. the front desk team spoke english beautifully, Anna was especially lovely. The location is central but our room was as quiet as can be. they have a terrace from which you can see the entire city. we went with our 1.5 year old baby, and they had cribs and breakfasts she enjoyed. i would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wandervivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUEBLA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

BEAUTIFUL LITTLE HOTEL. My wife and I spent 3 unforgettable days in Oaxaca last week. The first night we went to a Hotel Called Los olivos, but we just couldn’t sleep all night. The rooms didn’t have A/C and it was hot as an oven. So when we were walking to Templo de santo domingo we saw the nice entrance to this hotel. Avery amiable lady called Alma went out of their way to get as a room. It was a junior Suit with 2 queen size beds. The bathroom was nice and altogether the room was spotless. The design and the furniture was simple yet displayed a certain elegance. The rooms do not have numbers but names of the nearby towns. The restaurant and the bar were nice, but I wouldn´t recommend them, since the hotel is so close to the zocalo and there are just too many places to savor the traditional cocina oaxaqueña nearby at better prices and greater flavor. Nevertheless it was quite a nice stay. Only in the morning there´s a bit of noise since the restaurant is in the middle of the patio just across the aisle. But it´s no big deal.
Needles to say it’s near to every interesting place in downtown Oaxaca. You just walk to any templo or plaza or to the buses that take you to Montealban o the towns nearby. And we intend to get back to this little gem of a place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGWALKERPuebla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#12 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Sierra Azul
Casa de Sierra Azul
#17 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#21 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#18 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parador San Agustin
Hotel Parador San Agustin
#22 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Antigua

Property: Hotel Casa Antigua
Address: Calle 5 de Mayo 206, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Antigua Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing