We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hostal. A few minor flaws...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paulina Youth Hostel

Paulina Youth Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paulina Youth Hostel
Ranked #22 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent hostal. A few minor flaws...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

+ A really great place. I arrived at 7am and although check-in wasn't until around noon they gave me sheets, towel and a bed in a dorm room so i could shower and rest.

+ Very, very clean. Enough showers/toilets, all spotless. Nice roof top terrace. No hippies!!!!!

+ Very friendly, courteous and helpful staff.

+ Great location. In a more 'real' part of town, but very close to the zocalo and the amazing food market!

+ I spent my final night in a dorm room. Each bed has a (working!) reading lamp and good sized lockers (that don't require a pad lock) and plenty of hooks.

+ Providing a towel is a nice touch. It's such a pain to travel with a damp towel if you've showered in the morning.

- Hot water is a bit of an issue. If Mexico has such a water crisis why should you have to run showers for a good 5-10 minutes to see if the water will get hot. Insulate the pipes, yo!

- I'd reserved a private room, which unfortunately was nothing more than a three bed dorm with showers and toilets across the hall.

- It gets cold in Oaxaca at night at this time of year, so it's a pity there's no enclosed place to hang out.

+ & - Wifi was available but it only reached with ten meters or so of reception, which is a pity.

- If you have a room close to reception in can get noisy with irritating Americans talking utter crap and volume.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runningaroundLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    30
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
5
21
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upata
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

This a very nice hostel, althought a litle bit too expensive ( 150 pesos per night ), but the rooms were clean, the beds very comfortable, the breakfast delicious, the staff way too helpful. I couldn´t ask for more. Oaxaca city is one of THE MOST beautiful cities in Mexico, you just have to go. I have an amazing time, thanks for everything

EL VENEZOLANO MOCHILERO

  • Liked — Very clean rooms, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast
  • Disliked — Room price and location (far from ADO)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TommyDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Casas Grandes, Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

I can't fathom why others didn't like it. This place is awesome, I've stayed twice so far, and though it may be on a street, this is Mexico, where noise is the norm.

Its immaculate, almost enough to eat off the floors, and only two blocks from the zocalo in Oaxaca.

If you want dumpy atmosphere, go around the corner and three blocks away you'll see the competition, where dogs run around with used TP in their mouths, no joke.

That's not to say all in Oaxaca aren't good, but Hostel Paulina is my first choice, period. I don't have any, any affifilation whatsoever with it, was just lucky enough to run across it in 2002 originally.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, professional staff
  • Disliked — lack of internet access
  • Stayed April 2004, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel8818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2007

We had the experience to stay in the Paulina Hostel a few weeks ago, and It was shocking for us to be in a place were you have to pay extra money to plug your mobile phone to be charge!!!! the waterfall that is in reception is very noisy and wont let u sleep at nights, so If you stay in the groundfloor rooms you wont be able to sleep at all and if you stay upstairs the toilets will be a hazel as they only have them downstairs. We checked out their website and the place look fantastic but once you experience staying there you will be dissapointed!!! very bad atmosphere, i mean is none!!! the location is avarage, some staff members as the morning receptionist are very unfriendly but some others are more helpful. In conclution the place is not worth for the value and we will never recomended to anyone to stay there or come back again.

p.s. You cant be back to the hostel after 3:30 in the morning as they wont open the door for you!!! shocking!, it is Mexico came on....

  • Liked — Nothing!!
  • Disliked — You can not sleep in there as it is next to a busy road and the waterfall in reception wont let you sleep same as the breakfast staff that starts setting up early in the morning making a lot of mnoisy!!! impossible to rest in there.... plus is not atmosphere in there!!!!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cevichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2007

Where do i start!!! Absoloutley no atmosphere whats so ever. The private room we stayed in was a dorm room anyway, with no bathroom! Backed on to a very noisy street and on the otherside a fountain that is guaranteed to keep you awake all night. The first hostel, hotel or campsite i have ever stayed in that does not have an electricty outlet to plug in. I could not believe my ears when they charged us to charge a mobile phone. If you like to go out at night forget about getting back after 3.30am as you will be locked out until 5:30. A hostel that doesnt cater for younger people, absurd! Im sorry for this horrible review but this stay really upset me!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zicatela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanillo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2006

I just got back from 4 nights at the Hostel Paulina. I agree with the previous review that it is a bit institutional and impersonal. But, it was clean and had a nice central garden off the dining room area. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was included and consisted of fruit/muesli/yoghurt, toast, eggs, coffee, juice. Pretty good, really.

The hostel is located about 2 block from the Zocalo, so you can't complain about the location.

I had a private room for $280 pesos ($25 USD) a night including breakfast, which I found to be good value.

One downside was that the rooms all have windows facing the street - very noisy all day and night. But, the centro is fairly congested, so I'm not sure if anywhere else would be better.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — Noisy, impersonal
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank glenwcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2005

The place is very clean. Reminds me of a hospital with its sterile environment. They charge twice as much as any other hostel in Oaxaca to sit in a quiet place with white walls, no music, no comfortable gathering areas, no bar, no fun, and a waterfall that keeps you awake at night. Again, very clean, very expensive, and very boaring.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#13 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#12 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Angel Youth Hostel
Casa Angel Youth Hostel
#1 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Azul Cielo Hostel
Azul Cielo Hostel
#2 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hierba de Conejo Hostel
Hierba de Conejo Hostel
#20 of 109 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paulina Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paulina Youth Hostel

Property: Paulina Youth Hostel
Address: Trujano 321 esquina Diaz Ordaz | Centro Historico, Oaxaca, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Paulina Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing