We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De la Parra was very lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“De la Parra was very lovely”
Reviewed August 13, 2005

We just returned last week from a week in Oaxaca, half at the Holiday Inn Express and half at the Hotel de la Parra. This was a good balance: the HI was clean, lively, and about a 15 minute walk to the zocalo, and the Hotel de la Parra was small, quiet, and a block from the zocalo. It was amazing to us that it was so quiet. We had a large room on the roof of the building, with a a table and chairs, where we had breakfast and just rested after a day of walking. We were two adults and 13 year old girl, and the room had two beds and a divider with a pull-out couch, two televisions, closets, and a small refrigerator. It was very clean (although it took a while to have some broken glass removed from the floor...could have been my Spanish). The breakfast wasn't particularly great but it was pleasant to eat both outside our room and downstairs in the courtyard. The pool area was very pretty, as were the decorations in the hotel....statues, chandeliers, etc. Desk folks and other employees were very friendly and pleasant. It was just wonderful to be so close to the zocalo, the markets, museums, and cathedral. Don't miss the new Oaxacan artists museum right across the street from the Cathedral.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senoritagringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    50
    16
    5
    11
See reviews for
48
82
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 11, 2005

Before going to Oaxaca I read mixed reviews for the hotel on this website, but on the advice of a friend of mine stayed there anyway. I'm glad I listened to my friend. I highly recommend de la Parra to anyone who values tranquility, hospitality, tasteful rooms and good food. Could not have asked for better.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 20, 2005

My husband and I spent nearly two weeks at the Hotel de la Parra, and although it wasn't perfect it was a wonderful experience. Osbelia , the person in charge of the front desk, was always helpful and knew enough english to be able to have pleasant conversations about most anything. The tours and our tour guide, Ivan, which Osbelia arranged were fantastic. The whole staff at the hotel made our stay in Oaxaca memorable. Of course, last but not least was Chef Sergio with whom I took a cooking class and learned to make Peanut Mole (Mo-lay) and other delightful local dishes. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2005

This hotel has a lot going for it, and the staff were gracious and well meaning. There is not, however, a full understanding of the needs of foreigners; evident in both a significant language barrier (surpringly little english spoken) and a general cultural disconnect. Rooms are simple and elegant, but tend to be dark, and there is a wonderful tranquility throughout; why they would choose to pipe rather nasty dance music into the coutryards at siesta time is beyond my understanding. Bed and bathroom were very clean.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AntKlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2005

My wife and I spent a week at Hotel de la Parra in February 2005. The hotel went out of their way to make us comfortable, including enhancing the bathroom to aid my mobility impared wife. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Best of all the hotel is one block from the Zocalo, though very quiet and peaceful within! Beautiful pool area too.
We would highly recommend the hotel to those looking for a high quality, fair priced and centrally located hotel in Oaxaca.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 12, 2005

This nice and quiet hotel is lovely with little courtyard and pool, our room was nicely decorated and immacultely clean. Excellent breakfast is served every morning with tamales and chilaquiles. Osbelia assist us in finding our way around the city, arranging transportation to Monte Alban, Mitla, the airport or directing us to special places we wanted to visit, we were truly friendly welcome at our charming Oaxaca hacienda hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2004

One can say all the nice things they want about this hotel, but when you have ALL your cash stolen from the safe in your room, well I think everyone should avoid these BANDITOS! I informed the hotel manager and NOTHING was done for me. Oaxaca is beautiful, but please do not put yourself or loved ones at risk by staying in this hotel.

Helpful?
8 Thank SweetonLafitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.6 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 109 in Oaxaca
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 109 in Oaxaca
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 109 in Oaxaca
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 109 in Oaxaca
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa de Sierra Azul
Casa de Sierra Azul
#25 of 109 in Oaxaca
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique De La Parra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique De La Parra

Property: Hotel Boutique De La Parra
Address: Calle Vicente Guerrero No. 117 | Col. Centro Histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#4 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique De La Parra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de la Parra is a hacienda-style boutique hotel located steps away from the Zócalo, or center square, of Oaxaca City. We offer rooms equipped with air conditioning, minibars, and all the amenities, as well as a lovely pool and restaurant. Well-situated in the heart of Oaxaca's majestic historic center, Hotel De La Parra is surrounded by gourmet restaurants, beautiful churches, fascinating museums and many other sites of interest.These are the ingredients which make Hotel De La Parra one of the best, most comfortable places to stay in Oaxaca.Welcome to Oaxaca, and to the Hotel De La Parra! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Boutique De La Parra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Parra Oaxaca
De La Parra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing