We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay at least once in your life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
Ranked #37 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, Tx.
12
Reviewed September 24, 2004

Worth a stay at least once in your life . Service was the best when you need a tour or a place to eat. I've rarely seen anything like it. Truly unique. Oaxaca itself was pretty noise due to all the culture and traditions (amazing calendas with fireworks) but the city and De La Parra was a perfect sanctuary. Incredible hotel

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 222 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2004

I requested three single rooms with en-suite baths on line for three of us traveling from Chicago in March . We were all offered very nice quiet rooms on the first floor. The concierge also recommended side trips and found a terific a driver/guide for us.

A location near the Zocolo and several fine restaurants and craft markets added to the success of this stay.

2  Thank NellyB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
15
Reviewed September 4, 2004

I am very disappointed to find out that the manager of Hotel de la Parra practices the controversial overbooking policy. Upon checking in, My family found out that their reservation overlapped with onother and my family was thrown out of the hotel to a more expensive hotel and told to come back the next day!
On top of that. Marcos de manager never apologized for the situation and still went ahead and charged them full price. I guess the manager of Hotel de la Parra knows about running a hotel what I know of being a doctor.
My family and I were very disappointed with the staff of this nasty hotel.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2004

After I had reserved at the De La Parra, I read the review described it as dirty, dark and noisy. I was worried until I got there, and we experienced no such dirt, darkness or noise. Maybe it was that my companion and I were given interior upstairs room. The place was impeccably clean-the housekeepers fastiously scrubbed and polished the ceramic tile floors daily.

The staff was incredible. The bed was turned down at night, we had comfy robes and scuffys. The place was actually MORE than I normally need when travelling- television, air conditioning and -refrigerator-bar. The remodel is lovely if not " rustic" . The restaurant was o.k. and we only breakfasted there once, preferring the Zocalo cafes, but I rarely eat in the hotel restaurant anyway.

I suppose someone else could have had a completely different experience, but we had a lovely time. I would not want to be closer to the Zocalo, that would be noisy, and during a fiesta at a nearby church we did have some nighttime firework noise, but that is Oaxaca in the tourist center.

My only real criticism was that I think the place is a bit overpriced. Off-season incl. taxes was $103 for a double and there are perfectly lovely hotels in the tourist core available for much less. However, I cannot complain about the facility and service at all. Not being much of a nightlife sort, I was perfectly happy to relax in the room and hotel in the early evenings.

Like everything else in Oaxaca, regardless of the promise of English speaking staff, it helps to speak some Spanish. My Spanish is fairly decent, so I got along fine. But, the service was impeccable. Other than being a bit expensive by comparision to nearby hotels, I had no complaints, the de la Parra was lovely.

4  Thank bjwlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2004

this place is dark, noisy, dirty and smelly, definetely not worth the price of a room. Dont stay here unless you have to

4  Thank vallaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2004

My husband and I visited Oaxaca in May 2004 to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We had a wonderful time and were thrilled with our hotel accomodations at De La Parra. We had reservations to stay in the master suite for a week, but upon arrival we were told that the room would not be available for 2 days and we were moved to the junior suite. I was extremely disappointed in this as I had confirmed my reservations, but we arrived on a Thursday and by Sunday we were in the master suite. The junior suite was very, very nice as well, so all was quickly forgiven. (I assume we messed up their weekly schedules by arriving mid-week) In both rooms the beds were extremely comfortable, everything very clean, TV's worked well and had satellite reception, air conditioning was great, no noisy problems (streetwise or group gatherings)to keep us awake. We were extremely happy with the accomodations and didn't encounter any of the problems I had read about at regarding other hotels. The pool area is very enchanting, though the pool itself was not real clean (Could have been the time of year we were there). We enjoyed it the nevertheless and the staff was quick to bring us pads for the lounge chairs, beach towels and anything else we might need even without our asking. In fact, the staff was always extremely helpful, happy and available. We weren't concerned about safety while in Oaxaca at all, but the set up of the hotel added to the secure feeling as it was necessary to pass directly by the registration desk each time anyone came onto or left the premises. It would be very difficult to top these accommodations, especially for the price and location. (Less than one block from the zocola). I would be happy to answer any questions anyone may have and would highly recommend De La Parra as a place to stay while visiting Oaxaca.

5  Thank DonnaTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chihuahua, Chih
13
Reviewed June 8, 2004

Since the first time, that I went to Oaxaca, Mexico. I Felt disappointed about the rates and bad service of many hotels. But the beauty of the city and his people make me fall enloved with oaxaca. So after several times in that city, I Knew a very elegant hotel with great service an the best of all was that "the fare rates" So, I am writing this review, because is very important for all the people who wants to go to the beautiful city of Oaxaca, to have the opportunity to stay in this hotel, not only for the rates and elegancy but also its superve location. All that make me think.

Hotel de la Parra, is the best of all.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa de Sierra Azul
Casa de Sierra Azul
#19 of 109 in Oaxaca
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#14 of 109 in Oaxaca
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#24 of 109 in Oaxaca
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#7 of 109 in Oaxaca
566 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Los Cantaros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique De La Parra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique De La Parra

Address: Calle Vicente Guerrero No. 117 | Col. Centro Histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#3 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range: $110 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique De La Parra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de la Parra is a hacienda-style boutique hotel located steps away from the Zócalo, or center square, of Oaxaca City. We offer rooms equipped with air conditioning, minibars, and all the amenities, as well as a lovely pool and restaurant. Well-situated in the heart of Oaxaca's majestic historic center, Hotel De La Parra is surrounded by gourmet restaurants, beautiful churches, fascinating museums and many other sites of interest.These are the ingredients which make Hotel De La Parra one of the best, most comfortable places to stay in Oaxaca.Welcome to Oaxaca, and to the Hotel De La Parra! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Boutique De La Parra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Parra Oaxaca
De La Parra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing