We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City centre - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
Ranked #37 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is very close to the Zocalo and most things you would want to visit in the city. We loved the hotel - the location is great and our main reason for choosing it, the staff were very helpful and professional, and our room was brilliant. We had a room on the top floor with a window that looked out over the pool. Many of the other rooms have 'internal' windows into the courtyard. There is secure parking in the attended lot a block down the street. The breakfast buffet, including in our room rate, was nice and the dining area in the courtyard made a nice start to the day. If we get back to Oaxaca then we'll be staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peversFJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 222 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

I traveled with my friend. We booked two separate rooms, but we both stayed on the top floor which has it's private space on the rooftop of the hotel. Very pretty and ideal for a leisure space.The hotel also features a cute pool and bar area. This hotel is 2 blocks from the Zocalo and within walking distance too many attractions. The staff was courteous and friendly and were helpful in directing us around Oaxaca. The rooms are also not that expensive for its location and quality. The only mishap that happened was when it rained, the floors got wet with water. However, the staff were prompt in cleaning the water up and nothing was damaged.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor. There are three rooms situated on the rooftop with ample room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceharda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margonva, Director General at Hotel Boutique De La Parra, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for visiting Oaxaca and staying at De La Parra Boutique Hotel, you came in a beatiful season, when you see green everywhere, the Monte Alban green lawn contrast with the blue sky, colorful oaxacan handicraft, etc. I hope you also enjoy Oaxaca traditional food. Warm regards Marcos Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My family loved Hotel de la Parra! We stayed here for one week during our first trip to Oaxaca and couldn't have been more delighted. Even though we were less than one block from the busy Zocalo, the hotel was surprisingly quiet and peaceful. We stayed in the Junior Suite (Rm 114) situated on the top floor with the added benefit of a small shared patio with outdoor table and chairs and view of the city. I was especially impressed by how helpful and kind all of the staff were. From the front desk concierge staff (Rudolfo and Erica) to housekeeping staff (Margarita) they went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Rudolfo helped us find a wonderful driver and guide for our day trip out to Teotitlan de la Valle and went the extra mile to get us tickets on short notice to the Lila Downs performance at the Auditorio de la Guelagueza (one of the highlights of our trip!!). Breakfast in the courtyard was delicious and pleasant. The only small drawback being that they had a beautiful espresso coffee machine there but it wasn't working at the time. Other than that, everything was so great we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reyroberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcosGV, Director General at Hotel Boutique De La Parra, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hello, thank you for staying with us, you are right, I'm so happy to have Rodolfo, Erika, Yolanda, Margarita, Marcos, Victor, Jonathan, Flor, Marla, etc. They always go out of their way, we have a superb location in town, but we are nothing without them and also without you that come to Oaxaca and enjoy our festivities. Our coffee machine is now working, I hope to see you again in the near future, Oaxaca has more to offer and I will love to serve you a nice cup of coffee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I traveled alone with two young children and had a wonderful time. The location is right by the zocalo, the central plaza, so it was easy for me to get around on foot with the kids. The pool is small but it was enough to entertain my kids in the afternoon. The young waiter was wonderful. If my kids wanted a pizza or ice cream he would get one from downtown. The junior suite was a great size for a family, nice and spacious. I would stay here again. Because it is an older building there is little soundproofing. The hotel is really beautiful and old.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAREN p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel de la Parra is a lovely boutique hotel a couple of blocks from the Zocolo (the main square in Oaxaca). We loved the hotel for many reasons. It is a quiet sanctuary in a bustling, vibrant city. The hotel feels like a private villa with rooms off to the side, adjacent to a main central courtyard. Our room had high ceilings and was quite spacious (Rm.108). It was a restful place to return to after partaking of all the amazing things Oaxaca has to offer (parades, art, crafts, music, delicious food and more)! Rudolfo, the concierge was the most pleasant and helpful person I've ever experienced at a hotel. All the rest of the staff were very friendly and sweet. Hotel de la Parra is in a perfect location with the plus of a small secluded pool. I give it ten stars! I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcowan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A nice quiet hotel just 80 yards from the Zocalo. The staff were really nice, which did overcome one caveat. The rooms are arranged around a courtyard with windows facing in. When we arrived we found our room was small and dark and its window faced a corridor. It was nice otherwise but we would not have been happy to have spent a week there paying that price; but we complained and they were really nice and moved us to a much bigger, lighter room without charging extra. If, however, it had been peak season and they had been full and we could not move we might have ended up a bit disgruntled.

People have written about the beds and they are very big and very comfortable. I did find myself woken by a buzzing in the night - I never did find what caused it but then I did not complain so probably shouldn't now.

Breakfast in the courtyard was nice. There is no restaurant but then Oaxaca is full of restaurants so no problem really. There is a nice little pool in a courtyard but we didn't end up using it because we were out all the time. I'd happily go back, but only to the better room.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing in to the corridor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAF_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcosGV, Director General at Hotel Boutique De La Parra, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you appreciated our charming atmosphere and our superb location, close to any restaurant. We hope to welcome you again in next future,and of course you will get a nicer room. Kind regards Marcos Gonzalez V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel has a gorgeous, rustic feel to it. It has wireless internet and a delicious looking breakfast. Hands down the best part of this hotel was how incredibly nice and helpful the staff was. We needed advice and directions as Americans deep in the heart of Oaxaca and they helped us expecting nothing in return but our smiles. The only disappointment was the pool looked dirty, I didn't want to jump in it.

Room Tip: Don't get a room around the courtyard. About midnight a whole bunch of loud, rude inconsiderate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa de Sierra Azul
Casa de Sierra Azul
#19 of 109 in Oaxaca
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#13 of 109 in Oaxaca
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#25 of 109 in Oaxaca
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#7 of 109 in Oaxaca
565 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Los Cantaros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique De La Parra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique De La Parra

Address: Calle Vicente Guerrero No. 117 | Col. Centro Histórico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Oaxaca
#4 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range: $108 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique De La Parra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de la Parra is a hacienda-style boutique hotel located steps away from the Zócalo, or center square, of Oaxaca City. We offer rooms equipped with air conditioning, minibars, and all the amenities, as well as a lovely pool and restaurant. Well-situated in the heart of Oaxaca's majestic historic center, Hotel De La Parra is surrounded by gourmet restaurants, beautiful churches, fascinating museums and many other sites of interest.These are the ingredients which make Hotel De La Parra one of the best, most comfortable places to stay in Oaxaca.Welcome to Oaxaca, and to the Hotel De La Parra! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Boutique De La Parra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Parra Oaxaca
De La Parra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing