We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Oaxacan”
Traditional artwork, Talavera tiles and handmade fountain.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional artwork, Talavera tiles and handmade fountain.
Patio Front of house painted
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Traditional artwork, Talavera tiles and handmade fountain.
Patio
Front of house painted
External window with two Palomitas
Casa Palomita Internal Patio
From patio: door to outside
Palomita gargoyles
Patio
Patio furniture
Patio
View from living room to patio
Sliding glass doors with shades down
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Bougainvilla in utility patio off main bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oaxaca, Southern Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marivel M
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oaxacan”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

AMAZING does not even begin to describe casita palomita! Im a 19 year old Bay area student, and my family visited oaxaca as a part of a two stop trip this summer. Casita Palomita was in a very safe and secluded neighborhood, yet near to the action of oaxaca. My family of 5 spent the week very comfortable in its three bedroom two bath. My sisters and I are all college age, and we had a great time adventuring everyday to the many different shopping markets oaxaca de juarez has to offer. So much so, we came home in a cab most evenings to accommodate to all the bags of goodies we brought home with us. We also got the chance to go to hierve el agua with a great taxi driver who knew casita palomita well, enjoying the day mineral bath waters and our own private tour guide. Another highlight was the amazing night life oaxaca has to offer. Just walking around you hear the music coming out of the pueblo buildings. We went to a night club on our last night, and were pleasantly surprised with the dance classes that came before the crowd of people. It was a live band and a great authentic mexican scene. Again walking distance from Casita Palomita was a great plus. All in all, the bright home of Casita Palomita made our stay in México more comfortable and our adventures more at reach. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: walking distance to shopping center
Liked least: no pets aloud
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoniG
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable, convenient place to stay”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying in Casa Palomita; it's perfect for 2 couples. The living area and patio are open and spacious and the kitchen is easy to use. The bedrooms are far apart so there's lots of privacy. Everything provided is the best quality: sheets, towels, kitchen items. We love being surrounded by the beauty of the house and folk art.

The house is an easy walk to the Centro and is in a very nice neighborhood. Don Vidal, the recommended taxi driver/tour guide is a marvel. Very kind, knowledgeable and helpful. He really made our trip special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beauty and comfort of the home
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine981...
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very special place”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Maria,
My husband and I are sitting at LAX waiting for our flight home. In talking about the highlights of our trip to Oaxaca, Casa Palomita is clearly on top. What a lovely home you've created, both architecturally and arts-wise. You have an amazing eye for colors and textures; it was truly a feast for our eyes. It also reinforced our interest in finding several artisans my friend and I had researched, which resulted in some wonderful personal connections as well as beautiful art to bring home. Thanks so much for opening your Oaxacan home to us. It is a very special place. Elaine

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
proverbs1...
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is the place!”
Reviewed March 19, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Hola Maria;
Sorry, Gringo warp time of being in Oaxaca 
Your home is amazing! I loved seeing the photo book of the progress in construction or more like ‘resurrection’ that you did. We also loved the interior decorating that was done… the artwork really gave us the feeling of being someplace unique.
There is nothing that could have been done to make it any more comfortable or relaxing. The only thing I questioned Lu about was the length of time it took for the Kitchen sink to receive warm water to wash dishes…the far shower in the next room over seemed to have hot water faster! It’s not something I would think can be done any different as the water flow was good at the kitchen sink. Maybe it’s because our water heater at home is about 5 feet from our kitchen and I’m spoiled by the short time of delivery.
The only problem we had is the four pounds we gained while in Oaxaca!
Thank you for putting your home out there for vacationers. The price is a real bargain. I am glad you found everything well cared for by us and if we were the type of people who would have thought of taking something that didn’t belong to us…we probably would have made off with Lu, she was a great help and we will miss her smile and peaceful demeanor. You have a dedicated caretaker in her.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatjaBBB
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful house, wonderful neighborhood”
Reviewed February 13, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This pretty house has a lovely private courtyard, a spacious, comfortable, well-equipped living room/kitchen. The beds and bathrooms are fine. Everything works (light switches, faucets, doors, screens), which is saying a lot. The property manager and housekeeper were very good. The neighborhood, Xochimilco, with it's stone streets and weaving workshops, is an excellent place to stay, out of the city traffic and noise, but easy walking distance to the Centro.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, spaciousness, quiet
Liked least: Ultra-vibrant pink walls in courtyard
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer64...
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming House in Oaxaca”
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at your home and you have obviously devoted much thought and effort into ensuring a positive experience for visitors at Casa Palomita. The ten minute walk to the City center was very pleasant along Los Arcos.

Manager Lu was great and very helpful. I'm sure our travels will bring us back to Oaxaca in the next year or two and I hope that it works out to stay at your place when we return to Oaxaca.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie44F...
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect! Better than my high expectations.”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Casa Palomita was even better than my expectations, and my expectations were pretty high (based on the website and recommendations)! As Oaxaca is one of my favorite places on earth, I rented la casa for the month of October as a gift to myself for my 70th birthday. I invited various friends to come down to share at different times during the month. I have spoken with several of these friends and we cannot come up with even one complaint or suggestion for improvement. The location is excellent, in a quiet and historical neighborhood a 20 minute walk from the zocalo. The house is beautifully designed and furnished (that's an understatement), Lu, the on-site manager, is delightful - always helpful, never intrusive. We didn't cook much (only guacamole and margaritas most evenings, and the occasional breakfast), but the kitchen is fully equipped. Plenty of hot water. Pochote Market - just a couple of blocks away - on Fridays and Saturdays, a great place for breakfast, buying good breads, goat cheese/yogurt, flowers, and visiting (and buying from) the weavers who do their magic on the way up to Pochote. The information provided at la casa is excellent. For restaurants, Itanoni (a pleasant walk to the nearby neighborhood of Reforma) was a favorite, as was La Quinque just on the way towards the zocalo). We generally took public buses to nearby sites (Lu is a good resource for this) so did not use drivers, but Don Vidal provides an excellent and reliable taxi service for the airport, etc. In summary, my entire experience with renting and enjoying Casa Palomita, from beginning the process with Maria to saying adios to Lu, was nothing but pleasant. My only concern is whether or not it will be available for my next visit to Oaxaca!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing