We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place at a good price - just great people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Posada del Centro
Ranked #30 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Reviewed March 13, 2005

Visit: March 4, 2005 to March 12 2005.

Reservations: Via e-mail. Not knowing Spanish can make it a challenge. They do try very hard to understand your request though. Deposit in cash/check needed for the first night, for US visitors this is easy enough to do by sending a check to a bank in the US, they will send you the details.

Payment by: Cash only.

How I found the place: Sight unseen, via the web. Trip Advisor review was by and large accurate. The very negative report, is an anomaly as best as I can tell.


Description of Posada Del Centro:

Rooms: Single, double and triples. Some with private bathrooms. The shared bathrooms are nice enough so if you want to save some bucks, that is a good way to go. The hotel is in an old building, colonial style, that is very typical in Oaxaca. Two courtyards, front and back. In the front the rooms are all at the ground level and around the courtyard, except for two rooms in the front. In the back there is a second story.

Furnishings: Tastefully decorated, comfortable beds with good linen and plenty of clean towels. Some rooms have TV. A nice wooden closet comes with the room. No air conditioning, but we were fine.

Conditon of the rooms/building: Being an old building, as is most of central Oaxaca, parts of the buildings are in various needs of repair etc.. nothing major though, just some peeling paint here and there. They seem to be at work fixing stuff as fast as they can. The courtyard is clean and quite pretty, with various flowers etc.. Very nice to lounge around, read a book etc..

Location: Well, this is the Zen moment for Posada Del Centro. The location is the best part and depending on one's appetite for smog, can also be its weakest aspect. If being close to the Zocalo is important, you have hit a home run. PDC is only 2.5 blocks from the Zocalo. It is also easily within walking distance of most Spanish schools in the city center and places of interest such as Santo Domingo, Basilica etc. etc.. All good things. BUT...
PDC is located on Independencia, a very busy one way street that comes into the Zocalo. What this means is that every time you head out of the hotel, you step into massive traffic in what is a narrow old street. The exhaust fumes from the traffic got quite old for me in a hurry. I think this aspect is the problem with PDC's location. That said, note that MOST hotels in the central district are likely to face this same situation. And any amount of walking in the central district commits you to the awful traffic situation and breathing of vast quantitites of noxious gases as you walk around the beautiful town. If you are from LA you are set :)


Noise: The street noise is not a problem. After being out in Oaxacan traffic and fumes, you will think that the tranquil court yard of the PDC is Shangri-la. Any traffic noise from Independencia, will not bother you, since now you can actually breathe. Yes, there will be traffic noise in the day. But, it dies down by sleepy time, so I think the traffic noise aspect is not a big deal. Being a courtyard, any unruly guests can bother the rest, we had no such problem. During the day, in late afternoons there is some noise in the front courtyard, which to me was pleasant actually. Since it was mostly Spanish music the maids had and a couple of children playing and laughing, hardly a bothersome affair.

People: The people running PDC are the strongest part of their hotel. They are friendly and work hard to keep the guests happy. The ladies that run the front office are just simply wonderful. They loved our infant daughter, and did everything to make our stay comforable, including getting a crib for us. And, when our daughter came down with an ear infectin the concern they showed was genuine. It also helped that the PDC is owned by a pedatrician and his wife! The good doctor is a kind man, who clearly takes pride in his hotel. His attitude is readily reflected on the folks that run the place. They are all A+. I cannot stress the quality of the ladies that we had the good fortune of interacting with.

Other stuff: Free coffee in the mornings, except the weekend. They have a cafe at the restaurant, which is ok for a quick breakfast. It isn't an exceptional place, BUT, the lady that runs it, runs a clean operation and my guess is that she would accommodate special requests etc.. There is an ice box out front, where you can buy cold drinks sodas etc.. They will help you with tours etc.. They will also call you a taxi to take to the airport, especially if your departure is very early in the morning. Hot water seemed to be intermittent, it was available, but seemed to run out every now and then. Supposedly they filter their water, so it is safe. I would never drink it, but we did brush our teeth with it, had no issues.

In General: I give this place a solid A-, if it weren't for the traffic and fumes that greets you upon stepping into Independencia, it would have been a solid A. If you are looking for a fancy place, this isn't it. If you are looking for a perfectly decent place with great people and in town, then you won't be disappointed.

hope this was helpful.

Bhushan

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank mudbhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 198 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2004

Comfortable, friendly, secure, with a charm that welcomed us (3 of us shared a nice room with private bath shower). Breakfast was served in the courtyard where colorful flowers made it even more pleasant. The staff were like family, and so helpful in making us feel at home. Beds were clean, comfortable; we slept soundly, even when a tour of excited young people arrived. Only a few blocks from the zocolo, we visited it often, enjoyed dinners and lunches around its perimeter; bought from vendors in the park and enjoyed the musicians. I highly recommend this inexpensive, lovely place.

7  Thank tinykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2004

Great staff, nice courtyard for breakfast and relaxing.
We almost felt like family after our six night stay.
Rooms are basic, but very clean and as large as you would expect for the price. Also, hotel is a very child friendly place.

Negatives? It is just about three blocks from the center, but the immediate area is a little bland. Also, it is on the noisy side of town with lots of buses and cars on the surrounding streets. Be prepared for a little noise from the streets and from fellow guests in the courtyard.

Overall, probably the best value in town.

8  Thank leebids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Memphis, TN
13
Reviewed August 17, 2004

If a simple accomodation is your preference Posada del Centro is for you! The courtyard area is charming with inviting seating , lovely light and flourishing flowers. The staff is most helpful; one evening staff member speaks english well, the others are more limited . Selecting a room upstairs is best to avoid the noise of the patio. It's an easy walk to the zocalo , however the narrow sidewalks and constant foot traffic pose a challenge.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brooklyn, NY
210
Reviewed January 4, 2004

The lousy review of Oaxaca's Posada del Centro is way off the mark. We spent four nights and returned again with relief to this pretty, comfortable little hotel. Not only is it exceptionally clean (we used the common bath, too), but we found plenty of hot water and even plush towels! Any Mexico veteran will tell you that these three alone are dicey even at luxury hotels. Add in the helpful staff, charming courtyard, and inexpensive breakfast, and you have a highly recommended place to stay in Oaxaca. The only caveat is that courtyard rooms can be noisy, as can those facing the street. Bring earplugs, but do enjoy this quality establishment. As for the "misrepresentation" on the posada's website, if anything the hotel has been improved with wrought-iron tables and thriving plants. It's a great place.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, Washington
15
Reviewed September 15, 2003

My husband and I just returned from Oaxaca where we stayed nine nights at the Posada del Centro. We had a marvelous time -- the English-speaking staff was VERY helpful and our upstairs room (#21), a medium-sized space with private bath, tv, and fan was in the back away from traffic. We had access to a simple roof terrace plus enjoyed the lovely interior patios and adjacent restaurant. Oaxaca can be very noisy and Posada del Centro is on a busy, main street. However, bus and car noise abated after 10 p.m. We particularly appreciated that so many of our fellow travelers at the hotel were from Mexico. Posada del Centro is a very well-run, centrally located hotel. We recommend it.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2002

I booked via the internet and did so after viewing the webpage for Posada del Centro and asking various questions of the manager via email. I printed out the image of the hotel with relevant information and sent it to the four women who were accompanying me. It passed and I booked, but we were more than disappointed on our arrival and convinced that trick photography was involved. The courtyard, pictured with flowing bougainvilla and a fountain in the center was little more than a square where the cleaning people threw the dirty water from the pails, the dilapitated fountain collected rags and mops, the inner courtyard which could have been lovely held a huge mound of bags of garbage which stayed the entire four days we were there before we were able to find other accommodations. The rooms were touted as large which was true in only one of the three rooms, none had windows. The staff was less than courteous, the hot water unpredictable, the food in the attached restraurant terrible. In its favor was the location two blocks from the zocalo. So beware of website pictures folk.

19  Thank Majcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#18 of 110 in Oaxaca
225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Arnel
Hotel Casa Arnel
#55 of 110 in Oaxaca
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oaxacalli
Hotel Oaxacalli
#99 of 110 in Oaxaca
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Antigua Curtiduria
Hotel Antigua Curtiduria
#61 of 110 in Oaxaca
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gala Oaxaca
Hotel Gala Oaxaca
#75 of 110 in Oaxaca
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aitana
Hotel Aitana
#46 of 110 in Oaxaca
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada del Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada del Centro

Address: Avenida de La Independencia # 403, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#17 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range: $19 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada del Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Posada del Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Centro Oaxaca
Posada Del Centro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing