We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada del Centro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Posada del Centro
Ranked #29 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go for the service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very simple.. but spotless and I must say the best beds I slept on during my vacation to the State of Oaxaca and this was the cheapest room I paid for. They are extremely accomodating .. and the location CANNOT be beat !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdq121765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    73
    22
    3
    7
See reviews for
16
60
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went to this hotel because of the reviews on trip advisor. We liked it. It's quite a simple place and the room we initially had (12) was small with a lot of light at night and noisy, with no hot water. We asked about the water and were moved to a much more beautiful room (15) when they couldn't fix it for us. The staff were very friendly and the morning coffee was very good. Close by the center, but far enough out to feel like a local (only 3 blocks, but it made a nice difference). Would return.

Room Tip: Look at your room first :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sohappyincuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

The helpful staff was attentive from check in, stored our bags on the last day while we traveled on the last day, and was great throughout. The rooms and shared bathroom was clean. There are private bathrooms as well.

The free coffee and wi-fi are nice touches as well. Located blocks from the Zocalo, this is an excellent place to stay.

The only downside is that the walls are minimally thin, which could be hard for very light sleepers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arpan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

we stayed 2 nights in a room with shared bathroom-the room was ok especially for its price!it was clean the same as the shared bathroom-a bit old especially the showers but ok-very nice and friendly staff!wonferful patio and have free lockers for yr belongins!we had a night bus to catch and they let us have a shower & gave us a clean towel!very secure place!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geopapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Posada del Centro had an incredibley friendly and helpful staff; beautiful and clean courtyards, perfectly clean rooms with comfortable beds. Very comfortable. No bugs, clean fresh water, coffee in the morning. This hotel is perfect for anyone on a budget or even without a budget. The rooms have either private baths or shared (we shared a bath and walked across the courtyard for the bathroom) and it was still very nice. Very clean, kept up, not filled with people, good showers, no bugs. The rooms had ample space, closets. The staff helped us to understand everything we needed to know and even let us talk to them in Spanish (as they saw we really wanted to practice) and talked to us in perfect english only when we really needed. They were great and gave us an unbeatable deal. The place was perfect for a beer in the courtyard at sundown, quiet peace and a 3 minute walk to zocala, all transit, the bus stations for Mitla and Monte Alban...amazing. I would absolutely return and be delighted to stay with them.

Room Tip: ask about deals, no tips needed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisamarie113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Friendly and super helpful owner. Delightful courtyard, clean, basic, pleasant rooms. Central location. We loved this place.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ageddes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

very friendly staff. simple and pleasant rooms. pretty courtyard. great kitchen. you may have to wait for hot water. theres a noisy bar nearby so if you sleep light bring earplugs.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puffycoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Azucenas
Hotel Azucenas
#22 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#20 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Mariposas
Hotel Las Mariposas
#14 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Arnel
Hotel Casa Arnel
#65 of 111 in Oaxaca
3.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#17 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parador San Agustin
Hotel Parador San Agustin
#23 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada del Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada del Centro

Property: Hotel Posada del Centro
Address: Avenida de La Independencia # 403, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#17 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Posada del Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Centro Oaxaca
Posada Del Centro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing