We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, pleasant, cosy base in Oaxaca”
Review of Posada de Chencho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Posada de Chencho
Ranked #67 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Posada de Chencho isn't just a guesthouse/posada. It's a place where excellent, helpful service and kind gestures are happily dispensed, where help is quickly forthcoming in assisting with your logistics to/from the hotel, where the wonderful breakfast (included in the price) is incredibly generous and made with tender loving care. Chencho himself, in his early 90s, has a razor sharp mind and gives advice in his fantastic English on what to see and do with cheer. The rooms are very simple, but extremely clean and thoughtfully decorated. The courtyard garden has lovely flowers, including many birds of paradise currently in full bloom. The price is fair and affordable, not exceeding USD 60/double for the average room (though some may cost a bit more). We would not hesitate to stay at Posada de Chencho when we are next in Oaxaca.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duchetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 22 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

How can you not love Chencho and his family who answer questions readily, give advice about both free and important places not to miss, and cook the most delicious authentic Oaxacan breakfasts you could want. It is a safe, quiet area that is walking distance to the zocalo. Comfortable and spacious rooms where even 4 people can spread out. Full size beds, clean bathrooms and ample closet and drawer space. We loved the other friendly travelers and the hospitality Chencho and his family showed us on Christmas eve by inviting our family to join his (about 60 in the Velasco family) for their afternoon comida and hitting of 2 pinatas. If you want to stay north of the zocalo, you might try Chencho's other small hotel, Casa Lidia.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook a spacious and beautiful courtyard filled with plants, flowers and hammocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you like comfy rooms looking out onto a courtyard paradise of guava trees and birds then you'll adore this place. Fabulous Oaxacan breakfasts (all 5 days a different dish), caring staff (insisted on us taking their sombreros with us on hot days) and tremendously good value. Oh, and for me the perfect walking distance to the Zocalo (just far enough to get up an appetite / walk off the excesses)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curryken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

After many years' absence, we returned to Oaxaca in November 2011, staying nearly 3 weeks at Posada de Chencho. We still love it! Located in a safe, quiet, working-middle class neighborhood, an interesting 12-15 minute walk to the zocalo, the posada has comfortable rooms, great beds/pillows, full sized, fluffy bath towels, good room fans, a lovely garden (dinner plate sized poinsiettas, geraniums, bird of paradise, impatiens, lime trees, etc), good password protected WIFI, a nicely decorated reading/TV room. The place is very secure; staff who are not family have been there forever. We like being away from the zocalo a bit; performances there are being amplified to levels that can be heard blocks away. Besides walking, you can take a taxi to the zocalo or catch a bus that will get you within a few blocks. Breakfasts (included) are superb! In 17 days, the kitchen duplicated the main breakfast dish only twice! Breakfast includes fresh squeezed orange juice, freshly cut fruit, a basket of assorted Mexican breads, tortillas if appropriate to the main dish (enchiladas, entomatados, chilaquiles, etc), coffee or tea, and hot chocolate. Try the chocolate with water, instead of milk. Chencho is as affable as ever, assisted by two of his children, Flora and Tonio. Chencho's remains our home away from home whenever we are in Oaxaca!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paokano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2006

I was at the Posada del Chencho for 13 nights in August. My room, # 23, was very pretty and kept spotlessly clean. The staff - all members of the family - were always friendly. I was able to negotiate a reduced rate. The owner is a true gentleman who happens to speak perfect English.

Breakfast, included in the room rate, was different and delicious each day. Other meals were available with advance notice but, as Oaxaca is know for its great food, I wanted to try as many resturants as possible. On one night it was raining too hard to go out for dinner. The owner offerred me sandwiches and hot chocolate - very delicious.

The hotel is a several block walk to the center of town. This was good for burning off the calories. And the area seemed very safe to me. There is a neighborhood dog that tended to bark but where in Mexico is that not the case.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank love2tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2006

My Mom and I stayed at Chencho's in July 2006, and we were both delighted with its charm. The owner and his staff were happy to answer any questions, arrange side trips, and generally make sure our stay was an enjoyable one. About half of the staff knew English.

The rooms are painted with interesting colors and have en suite bathrooms. They had fans rather than AC, but the climate was lovely and we never needed the fans. Beds and pillows were on the firm side. Everything was very clean.

Rooms are on the perimeter of a pretty courtyard garden, with nice tables outside for reading or chatting. There is also a comfy lounge with books, stereo and video/tv.

Breakfast was always excellent, featuring a different fresh fruit each day, fresh OJ, sweet rolls or toast, and a local dish like tortillas in mole (I don't know how to do the accent on mole, but it's the sauce, not the animal). They will make eggs and bacon on request and my Mom was a particular fan of the crispy bacon. Hot drinks were also good (chocolate, tea, or coffee with a hint of cinnamon).

Chencho's is about a 15 minute walk from either the Zocalo or Santa Domingo Church (both good destinations for restaurants and culture). We generally walked out and took a taxi back after dinner. (Tip: try La Olla or Los Danzantes - yum!).

The neighborhood is mixed business and residential. There is a garage across the street which made some noise during the day, but the street was quiet in the evenings except for occasional strollers or children playing. It is a side street with very little traffic flow. There is no sign indicating that it is a hotel and the street door is kept locked, so the place is very secure.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dr_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2006

I traveled alone to Mexico; first time there, first time traveling alone. I don't speak Spanish. Chencho's place was recommended to me by an American woman. I'd recommend Posada de Chencho to anyone. The breakfasts were always a delicious suprise, with nice Mexican music and friendly service in a very comfortable dining area. Chencho is a wonderful host; he speaks English, has lived in Oaxaca his entire life, and ha his been in the business for over 40 years. The place is secure; I felt so safe while there. Chencho's grown kids work there too, and were always eager to help me. The rooms are very nice, and room 20, where I spent one week, enjoys the morning sun. Other than an occassional barking dog, no noise problems. If you stay there, make some time to sit and chat with Chenco, he's a very nice and ineteresting gentleman. And be sure to visit the local Policia Turistika base. I made friends with a few of them, and they are eager to assist and to practice their English. One of them served me as a tour guide ... much, much cheaper than the local tour agency. Chencho will tell you all about it. Tell him Katie sent you.

8  Thank Lokum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Camba
Hotel Camba
#44 of 110 in Oaxaca
62 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Cascada
Hotel La Cascada
#66 of 110 in Oaxaca
4 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#20 of 110 in Oaxaca
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oaxaca Dorado
Oaxaca Dorado
#93 of 110 in Oaxaca
33 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oaxacalli
Hotel Oaxacalli
#99 of 110 in Oaxaca
26 reviews
1.1 mi away
Un sueno Valle de Huajes
Un sueno Valle de Huajes
#72 of 110 in Oaxaca
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de Chencho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de Chencho

Address: 115 4a Privada de la Noria, Oaxaca, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range: $34 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada de Chencho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Posada de Chencho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Chencho Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing