We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Las Bugambilias B&B
Ranked #1 of 126 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful B&B”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at Las Bugambilias for 2 nights before flying home and it was such a wonderful last stop. The location was fantastic - within walking distance to everything. The casa itself was un-faultable, such beautiful surroundings, so tastefully decorated and wonderfully helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The complimentary breakfast served in the beautifully set dining room was delicious and plentiful. If you stay in Oaxaca, you must stay at Las Bugambilias, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    87
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
93
327
51
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at Las Bugambilias this past July, and really enjoyed ourselves! This is a very comfy hotel, beautifully decorated, and with friendly, helpful staff. The breakfast was very delicious and the best part was that it was organic and also included fresh juices, homemade breads and jams, and hot chocolate (which my kids loved!). Another awesome thing about this hotel is that it has a fantastic organic restaurant, La Olla, which serves authentic Oaxacan food. The food is amazing! It's also very convenient to have a great restaurant attached to the hotel. The owners of the B&B, René and Adriana were very helpful. René is actually a certified tour guide, and he took us on a couple private tours. They were incredible! We met some of the best artisans from the area, and visited incredible sites such as Monte Alban and the mercado in Tlacolula. I would definitely recommend one of his tours. His sister, Pilar, owner of La Olla restaurant gives cooking lessons, and although I wasn't able to take one of her classes, the other guests staying here said it was a great experience. I will have to take a class next time! We had an unforgettable time in Oaxaca, and Las Bugambilias was the perfect place for us.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chivanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

beautifully decorated and very comfortable. everything has been thought of from the big table for meeting people at breakfast to the patio in the sun and the home made natural soaps.
the restaurant downstairs is reasonable et delicious.
Staff is super helpful and available

Room Tip: for couples violetas or margaritas are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audrey and efra... n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My family and I cannot say enough nice things about Casa de Las Bugambilias and the wonderful family of staff who work there.

My husband, I and our 14 year old son stayed there in mid to late August of 2013. This was my 6th trip to Oaxaca and I have stayed and visually checked out a lot of hotels there. NOTHING beats Bugambilias! The breakfasts were creative and delicious, the dinner we had upstairs at La Olla was amazing, the service and attention to our comfort (one day, especially, after a really long fieldtrip and needing emergency laundry done!) was outstanding.

My husband and I both are over 50 and we like to be comfortable at night and we were supremely comfortable at Casa De Las Bugambilias. I also suffer from allergies to mildew, which is prevalent in many hotels in the rainy season in Oaxaca – no problems with this at all at Casa de Las Bugambilias.

The aesthetics cannot be topped – gorgeous sculptures, beautiful flowering vines, peaceful patios and common areas, the internet was always available, the beds were comfortable, they make their own jams and granola…ah, I am missing it now as I write this!

My family and I will never stay anyplace else from now on when we come to Oaxaca.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids, the Girasole suite is great - 2 bedrooms! Air conditioning worked w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrundyLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Love the size and decor of the house. It's like staying at a friend's house.

You eat together with other guests in a table for about 12. Breakfast is elegantly presented for what is, using simple ingredients like eggs and asparagus. Menu is slightly different every day and you can request for something different.

The Margarita room is pretty and cozy. I love the antique looking wooden headboard and the art above. The best part of the room is the balcony overlooking the courtyard with greens overhang. There's also a large jug filled to the brim with drinking water in the room every day, very comforting for the dry and hot weather! The bathroom is clean and nothing fancy. A bath soap and shampoo are provided.

Not sound proof, the sound of children playing downstairs early in the morning woke me up.

The air con is not working very well, could be due to the weather temperature outside.

There's a small library on the 2nd floor with a good range of book selection on travel, food, culture, children's book and fiction.

Room Tip: Margarita room offers more privacy than the Veritas room because the bed does not face the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sixiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Oaxaca if a vibrant, festive, wonderful city, and staying at Casa de las Bugambilias adds to a fabulous experience. Everything at this B&B adds to the charm and ambiance of a Oaxacan stay. The staff provides a delicious breakfast every morning. The rooms are decorated beautifully. Staff members are informative about Oaxaca and its environs and helpful in directing you to places in town and getting transportation to sites out of the city. That this B&B is within walking distance to the Zocalo and to the many markets and shops in the center made this a great location. The Olla Restaurant in the building offered a good array of fresh, delicious, and typical foods for dinner. All in all, Casa de Bugambilias rates a perfect 10!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santafefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bugambilias for 4 nights and our stay here is what made our trip to Oaxaca a memorable, relaxing, and refreshing trip. Waking up to a delicious and healthy breakfast was one of my favorite parts of the stay. The menu of the day ranged from scrumptious mango omelets to pumpkin flower quesadillas. The location is extremely close to the center of town, the zocalo, and the Santo Domingo Cathedral, all bustling with locals and great places to dine. I can't say enough about the attentiveness of the staff at Bugamibilias! The family makes you feel like one of their own through their genuine interactions and eagerness to make you feel like one of their own. I will return to Oaxaca soon, but will make my reservation at Bugamibilias ahead of time since this place fills up rather quickly!

Room Tip: Camelia is a good size room for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuzDSerrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#7 of 109 in Oaxaca
531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#18 of 109 in Oaxaca
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#5 of 109 in Oaxaca
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#2 of 109 in Oaxaca
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Las Bugambilias B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Las Bugambilias B&B

Property: Casa de Las Bugambilias B&B
Address: Calle Reforma 402 | Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de las Bugambilias is a striking modern house decorated with contemporary art, local folk art and antiques in a minimalist aesthetic way. Located just one block from Santo Domingo Cathedral and Cultural Museum. Your host and staff will provide personal attention to your needs. We offer eight rooms with private baths and a two-bedroom suite. Las Bugambilias is also home to the popular "La Olla" Restaurant and Art Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Las Bugambilias B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Las Bugambilias Bed And Breakfast
Casa Del Las Bugambilias Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing