We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B&B perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Las Bugambilias B&B
Ranked #2 of 127 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“B&B perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I spent a month at Casa del Las Bugambillias June-July 2012. As I travel a lot in India and Italy I know what relaxes or stresses me out. I was made to feel at home from the moment I walked in. Bugambilias was what I needed for a month. It runs like a tight ship, totally professional staff, friendly but not intrusive, clean but not sterile, pretty but not fussy, in the center but not noisy, breakfast always beautifully served and maybe a little light on the fresh fruit, guests all interesting. I could go on and on. I fear if I do that --when I want to return-- it will always be booked :-)).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agorrissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    84
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
90
323
51
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was my first stay at Casa del Las Bugambilias (July of 2012) and I could not give a higher recommendation. The B&B is conveniently located to everything. The rooms are comfortable and charming. The staff is helpful and friendly. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeannaC94040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in the Margaritas suite at the back of the property. The room was outstanding, beautifully and uniquely furnished and very clean. It had air-con and a fan above the bed. The ensuite was larger than expected with a huge shower. The balcony was delightful with a small sofa and 2 rocking chairs. It was lovely to sit out in the evening. It had a beautiful view over the internal courtyard. The property felt more like a home than a business, with art work, religious mementos and family photos in the common areas. The dining room was beautifully set and the breakfast was enjoyable with fresh and organic ingredients with modern interpretations of Mexican dishes. Unlike previous reviewers, we did not have any English speaking guests at breakfast, they were all Mexican visitors. They were all very gracious in chatting with us, even though we spoke little Spanish. The service was very friendly, particularly from the daughters who run the bed and breakfast. They organised for us to have the Temazcal, which is an Indigenous 2 hour treatment - sauna and massage, highly recommended!! Other services provided included a highly efficient laundry service, done on the same day for only 75 pesos. We also loved the convenience of Wifi in our room. We had no issues with it's availability or speed. There was a large lounge area right outside our room with a tv, videos, games and books that was lovely. The location is fantastic, no taxis required! We walked everywhere day and night and the area was very lively and safe for tourists. There was some street noise we were unaccustomed to, being city dwellers. There were quite a lot of fireworks/crackers let off on the street nearby on our first night which was a Sunday night and likely some holiday/event. The only other noise was church bells around 6am each morning, but it wasn't too loud and added to the charm of the area. We would definitely recommend as a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This B&B is well located to everything of interest in the city of Oaxaca. It is very comfortable and each room is uniquely designed in very good taste. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent restaurant, as well. Family member gives great tours to surrounding villages and front desk will arrange for taxis as well. We highly recommend that you consider Casa de las Bugambilias when travelling to Oaxaca. We plan to return whenever we are in Oaxaca.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim and Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was my first stay at Casa de las Bugambilias, although I've visited Oaxaca several times. I booked it based on the reviews in this forum. All I can say is that the excellent reviews are merited. Our stay was very comfortable; the place is charming; the food was delicious; the owners and staff were friendly and helpful; the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texmexicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Once again Casa del Las Bugambilias exceeded our expectations. This time we were traveling with friends. This being their first time to Oaxaca,we knew Las Bugambilias would make our trip complete. The property itself is wonderful,quiet,rooms are beautiful, and the staff was very helpful in every possible way. Breakfast served every morning is extremely delicious! The central location is perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chase51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
198 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

My wife and i just spent a wonderful 2 weeks in Oaxaca at Las Bugambilias B and B. Since this was the 4th time my wife stayed there we pretty much knew what to expect and to our delight it far exceeded our expectations. The staff is wonderful, always helpful, kind and generous with their attention. The central location could not be more perfect since we love to walk everywhere- neighborhood parks, The Zocalo, markets, restaurants, roof-top bars, etc.

Each morning we were treated to a special Oaxacan breakfast with other travelers. In the 14 days we were there, we had a different breakfast each day. The adjoining restaurant, Olla, is one of the best in Oaxaca and we had many meals there as well as enjoying their rooftop bar and restaurant. My wife and I travel often and we feel the "Buug" is the finest in terms of service we have ever enjoyed. We plan to return to Oaxaca often and this will be our home when we do.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#9 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.2 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#5 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#1 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#2 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Las Bugambilias B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Las Bugambilias B&B

Property: Casa de Las Bugambilias B&B
Address: Calle Reforma 402 | Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de las Bugambilias is a striking modern house decorated with contemporary art, local folk art and antiques in a minimalist aesthetic way. Located just one block from Santo Domingo Cathedral and Cultural Museum. Your host and staff will provide personal attention to your needs. We offer eight rooms with private baths and a two-bedroom suite. Las Bugambilias is also home to the popular "La Olla" Restaurant and Art Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa de Las Bugambilias B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Las Bugambilias Bed And Breakfast
Casa Del Las Bugambilias Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing