We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worth the extra mile....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Biche Pobre

El Biche Pobre
Calzado de la Republica 600 | At Calle Hidalgo, Jalatlaco, Oaxaca, Mexico
9515134636
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 399 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth the extra mile....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

By far the best meal we had in Oaxaca city. Very attentive service, good food in a pleasant bistro type restaurant. Best of all, was that it was full of locals (and families) who all seemed to be enjoying their meals. Located a few blocks off the park surrounding the Iglesia de Guadalupe it is easy walking distance from the center.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hdigabtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg,Manitoba
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My favorit pepper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Beef strips in a chipotle sauce. The beef was like candy, it just disolves in your mouth. The sauce was not hot but a nice spice with a gentle sweetness.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Beach, MI
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food at moderate prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stumbled onto Biche Pobre after leaving another, fancier restaurant in Jalatlaco because we couldn't stand the noise there. Biche Pobre was probably a better choice than our original destination. The atmosphere and service are informal, but the food is wonderful and the drinks are generous. We'll definitely go back. One warning: the kitchen closes at 7:00, so go early.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic flavor and value in a family-run restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We bought take-out food twice and then enjoyed a fantastic late lunch (4pm) in this bustling, authentic restaurant full of locals from the neighborhood. The Pollo Consome (chicken broth soup) and the Caldo Camerones (shrimp soup) were amazingly flavorful and fresh, the prawns/shrimps plump, and the Ensalada Mixta (mixed salad) was huge and full of a fresh variety of vegetables. Yum. The atmosphere is simple and authentic and seems like a lovely, popular neighborhood hangout. While we were dining at 4 pm and the restaurant soon became full, a couple of guitar-playing singers wandered in and sang lovely songs, topping off our perfect Jalatlaco neighborhood casual dining experience. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SmilingSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Typical Oaxaquena Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Excellent Oaxaquena food at a ridiculously reasonable price. The only problem is that El Biche Pobre is only open until 6:30 or 7:00.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Macpock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Biche Pobre also viewed

 

Been to El Biche Pobre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing