We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicioso!”

La Cocina Oaxaquena
Ranked #6 of 20 Food & Drink in Oaxaca
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: La Cocina Oaxaquena is a cooking school devoted exclusively to Oaxacan cuisine and specializing in local dishes. The Chef Instructor Gerardo offers comprehensive hands-on cooking classes in a sunny traditionally decorated Mexican kitchen. Two 5 hours cooking classes are available everyday at 9am or 3pm. Pick up and return from your hotel. Price of the class MX$800.00 (USD$60.00) per person.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Our first but not certainly not last visit to this delightful and welcoming Mexican restaurant. Thankfully missing typical kitschy Mexican decor and focusing more on savory, authentic Oaxacan cuisine, we lunched on two traditional dishes: a delicious, complex chicken mole full of that extraordinary earthy sweet spicy chile chocolate that's attempted and never quite done right; and a pork tomale that was good - perhaps not best in spicy favor but above average. The small serve yourself salsa bar was full of unique, well made choices in the Oaxacan tradition. Even the simple tortilla chips were amazingly authentic, verses what seems poured from the bag in the kitschy eateries. Looking for something unique and mouth-filling memorable, give this a try....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelsMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    10
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic Oaxacan cooking class!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Chef Gerardo and his mum Socroco showed us an incredible time learning various local cuisine such as mole colorado (so yummy), chilli relleno, sopa de elote, taco al pastor, salsa verde. The kitchen is so beautiful with warm sunny colours and traditional Mexican designs. Gerardo was very patient and tireless in his explanations and brought us around the market to learn more about the food. Very memorable culinary journey! Definitely recommend this to anyone who has a love for cooking

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndrewNg1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
1 review
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had a great time with Socoro and enjoyed all dishes we made. Traditional Tlayudar, Mole Negro, and Tamale.....just thinking about them makes me drooling. The host family is super nice. Great place to spend your day and experience Mexican cuisine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank winni328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An authentic cooking experience!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had the pleasure of participating in over a dozen classes with chef Socorro and her family during my 6 month stay in Oaxaca. I am a chef and went there to learn spanish language and to broaden my knowledge of Méxican cuisine, and I certainly learnt a huge amount with them. Their classes are delivered brilliantly...you start off with a tour to one of the Oaxacan markets in the city centre, which one depends on the group size and which day the class is being held on because the markets differ on what is available on different days. The tours are very informative and are guided by Chef Gerardo (Socorro's son) and/or his twin sister Lituania. They really make you feel at ease especially when the markets are a hive of activity, and take their time to show you and explain the different aspects of the market and whats available and how it is used.
Afterwards you are taken back to their beautiful Oaxacan home near the city centre to meet Socorro and begin the cooking part of the lesson with the ingredients you just bought. The family pride themselves on the authenticity of their recipes, especially those of the 7 famous moles which were handed down from their Grandmothers in Etla, a small town in the countryside about half an hours drive from the city...and each one is distinct in appearance, taste and smell, but all absolutely delicious.
The menu that you prepare depends on the availability of produce in the market that week, but you'll be preparing various things in the class including soups, rice dishes, guacamole, various salsas, tortillas, empanadas, tamales, salads and of course one of the moles. The instruction is given clearly and precisely, Chef Gerardo and Lituania both speak excellent english for those non Spanish speakers, and will explain each stage of the cooking process and why it is done a certain way (for the curious ones like me) you really get a sense of being welcomed into a real Oaxacan home by real Oaxacan cooks, and not some half arsed "get em' in, get em' out" kind of phoney tour like are on offer from some of the other so-called "cooking classes" on offer in the city where hour really just observing a cooking demonstration. As the various dishes are coming together, you will be sipping one of Lituania's fabulous Margarita cocktails while some great Oaxacan music is played in the background and you are mingling with the other guests, and the family are happy to answer any questions you might have regarding the food or their beloved state of Oaxaca.
Once everyone has tried their hand at making fresh tortillas to be served with the meal you sit down in the beautiful family kitchen and enjoy the food that you've lovingly prepared all afternoon. I met so many lovely people from all corners of the planet while participating in the classes, and learnt so much about Oaxaca, it's traditions and of course it's amazing cuisine I don't think it gets better than this.... Thank you so much to THE COCINA OAXAQUEÑA !!  and   ARRIBA OAXACA !!
Chef Matteo.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank b00kerhitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VT
1 review
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have nothinq but praise for the folks who offer this fine Oxacan cookinq class. We were picked up at our hotel and treated to a fun market experience. We were especially qreatful to have this on the first day of our trip as it helped orient us to the city and it's ways. Gerardo was friendly, fun and skilled at keepinq everybody involved and informed. The settinq is beautiful. The "al fresco" kitchen is a special experience in itself. Thankyou, "Jerry", "Lee" and your Mom for a fine afternoon, a delicious meal, and for keepoinq the mezcal and beer flowinq freely!

Liz and Heron Russell
Vermont, USA

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LizRichmond_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina Oaxaquena also viewed

 

Been to La Cocina Oaxaquena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing