We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This house inspires me as an architect by...”
Living Room looking into Interior Garden and Dining Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room looking into Interior Garden and Dining Area
Dining Area looking into Living Room, showing glass walls Living Room, looking into the Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Living Room looking into Interior Garden and Dining Area
Dining Area looking into Living Room, showing glass walls
Living Room, looking into the Kitchen
Kitchen and Glass wall to Interior Garden
Master Bedroom...the glass walled balcony is behind you!
View from the Rooftop Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oaxaca, Southern Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
822anthon...
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This house inspires me as an architect by reminding me why I became an architect.”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The design of this house enhanced our experience of Oaxaca by providing a gracious bracket to our days: a place to enjoy leisurely four-cups-of-coffee mornings at the start of our day and a place to look forward to returning to in the evenings at the end of our days exploring Oaxaca. In addition, it is conveniently located near a wonderful local outdoor market and is within easy walking distance of the historic district.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewed November 8, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beauty, Accommodations, Location, and warmth of Managerial Staff and Housekeeper
Liked least: that I couldn't stay in the house longer!
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mary R
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The cost of renting individual rooms in a hotel was the main reason to find a whole house to stay in Oaxaca. The Architect's House was great with three bedrooms and three bathrooms, rooftop terrace, full kitchen, dining and living rooms, and pretty patios. The neighbors were wonderful and we were lucky to enjoy beautiful piano concerts many evenings from our closest neighbor. Easy access to the walking street, Alcala, that runs down to the zocalo and the cathedral. Would definitely love to stay here again!

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2014
Hi Kay - thanks for writing!

Saludos, Donna and the owners of the Architect's House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey L
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing house...you'll be lucky to get it”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This house is an exceptional value. Very clean, well tended, even comes with twice/week maid. It is architecturally a jewel, too. Bonus: it has a 360 degree view, accessible rooftop with lounge chair, table, laundry, plants. It's a walk from everything you want to do in Oaxaca. It has a great Mercado very close by. Everything described is accurate.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Reviewed July 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael L
Tucson, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful house close to central Oaxaca”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Our family spent a month in the house and for the most part, it was great. However, at first, it's a bit of a shock to have to deal with all the noise of Oaxaca and we eventually became used to it. The only real problem was that there is a cabinet maker right next to the house and for about a week, there was pounding and sawing from about 8am until 8pm every day. Eventually, they must of finished whatever they were building as there was much less noise for the rest of the stay. Really, that was about the only bad thing about the house. Oh and maybe all the barking dogs. The little neighborhood seemed to be full of them and this would sometimes go on for hours. So, OK, two bad things. There are so many good things that I can't list them all. One of the best was how close we were to Mercado Sanchez Pascuas-only about a block and 1/2. A good size market with everything you need and more. We tried a bunch of the Fondas and they were always good. Salsa from the vendors was great as well as the various tamales. Most sites of historic Oaxaca were a short 10 minute walk so it's in a very convenient location. Actually, for it's location, it's probably pretty quiet compared to most other central locations as it's a block or more back from the busy streets where the taxis and buses can be quite loud. Also, it's probably not the best for people with very young children as the staircase is open on one side.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and condition of property
Liked least: Furnitue maker neighbor
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing