We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally enjoyed our meal at Origen”
Review of Origen

Origen
Ranked #10 of 469 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Totally enjoyed our meal at Origen”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had just the best meal from start to finish at Origen in March. Very diverse and interesting menu. My husband had the grilled romaine salad with fava beans and garlic chips and for his entrée he had what he said was the best prepared roasted rib eye steak in his life...no kidding. I had the octopus salad for an appetizer and a roasted free range chicken with vegetables and local grits....Even though I enjoyed how the chicken was prepared and would order it again..... it was hard to beat the rib eye.... The staff was very helpful and the setting was peaceful and made for a great evening.

Origen has a very reasonable tasting menu....I am returning in January to the area and will go back again for what I can only assume will be another great meal...will try the tasting menu this time..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KRISANDBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    89
    35
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fine food, fresh ingredients”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

The ambient was quiet and nice, although it was very hot and we had to ask for the fan to be turned on.
The house Mezcal was very good and not pricey. The ceviche was fresh as were the plates we all ordered.
At the end of the meal ask for a POLEO tea, it is a great alternative to coffee and a digestive too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tzatzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Tx Usa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very disappointing cooking class”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Four of us attended a so-called "Zapotec" cooking class at about $50 USD each. The mercado visit consisted of following the teacher over to mercado to buy one chicken and an assortment of veggies, with no explanation of the ingredients or even the menu. Needless to say we had one chicken in all four dishes: the soup, the mole entree, the tamales, and the empanadas. No printed recipes or overview of the dish was presented. Very limited teaching occurred and no introductions to the staff or restaurant were offered. Unless you were aggressive and inserted yourself between the teacher and the stove, forget it. Avoid this class unless the head chef/owner personally conducts the class. Totally impersonal and forgettable experience, and $200 for a chicken comida is a rip. We have eaten here as restaurant guests twice before, and never expected this.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WestTexasFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cooking class”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We were with a private group of 12 visiting from San Miguel de Allende with chef Michael Coon. He and his wife Valerie organized an afternoon class and lunch with Chef Rodolfo and Pastry chef Gabriele at Origen Oaxaca. It was the best class I've attended and everyone else agreed as well. Chef Rodolfo's passion for Oaxacan cuisine is infectious. He is a very calm, interesting, organized and talented instructor chef. The class kitchen allows everyone to be "hands on" and work all the stations. The meal was fabulous - moles, salsas, a soup, quail, rib eye steak, chile rellenos, and much more made from everything fresh we shopped for earlier at the market. This would be a highlight of a Oaxaca visit for anyone who loves adventures in dining!!! I highly recommend!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank maggie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Inventive cooking”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Wonderful, wonderful ceviche. Maybe the best I have ever had. All choices are interesting. This is truly a place for a sophisticated diner. Not to be missed if you care about great food. Also, lovely atmosphere and good service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank strombergDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Origen also viewed

 

Been to Origen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing