We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food - Good Prices”
Review of El Quinque

El Quinque
Ranked #16 of 492 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, International
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food - Good Prices”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Ate here twice in 2 weeks in February. Food was excellent both times. Small restaurant and everything is cooked to order. We had burgers and fish and all was delicious. Very good value and service was good too. The owner is enthusiastic about his 'work' and came out to advise us about the fish. Would have given it a 5, but they close at 9pm which is early for Oaxaca and on the 2nd visit a woman turned up with an accordion and played and sung most of the evening. It was far too loud and intrusive for such a tiny place. This caused us to finish up quickly, pay the bill and leave!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bababeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    58
    17
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarker, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We Keep Coming Back”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The food here is well-cooked, plentiful, and reasonably priced. The Shrimp in Garlic Sauce was wonderful, and the stuffed chicken breast was delicious. If you're feeling homesick, their burger and home fries is also delicious. Lots of fresh vegetables, or a salad, accompany every dish.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a fantastic find. WE were staying at Los Arquitos around the corner so it is close. It also does not serve liquor so it is BYOB. The food and atmosphere are friendly. The food i good, small, maybe 6 tables downstairs. cash only but inexpensive and good. it seemed to be very popular with gringos, really didn't see native eating there. not sure why as the food is good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francescadue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Small restaurant”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I ate lunch at this cute little restaurant and had a lovely time. Very clean and really good food. I heard a gentleman at the next table raving about the coconut shrimp and am planning them for my next visit! Reasonable prices and, by the way, a great hamburger.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank washingtondcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, WA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I shared a steak dinner, which came with plenty of salad for each of us, and a bit of potato and broccoli. Splitting a dinner made it very economical, and there was plenty of good-tasting food (the salad was especially memorable) for the two of us. I recommend this place without reservation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celeste1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Quinque also viewed

 

Been to El Quinque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing