We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Oaxaca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Oaxaca
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have chosen Casa Oaxaca hotel based on our dinner experience in this hotel which we have had when we were in Oaxaca in 2005. On our arrival we were greeted and welcomed by Antonio and Anna who offered us a drink @ the beautiful courtyard. From there on, our week stay was superb in every respect. The room we had was spacious and tastefully decorated with beautiful fresh flowers. All our needs and requests were met efficiently. An added bonus is enjoying the swimming pool in a beautiful setting of flowers. The management including the manger Augustine and Antonio were very helpful. These experiences were enhanced by the personal service of the staff. It is a pleasurable experience to enjoy having breakfast, lunch or dinner in this unique and serene courtyard at the hotel. Florencio at breakfast and lunch was professional and efficient. One of the many greatest assets in the hotel is Sous Chef Rafael. We were lucky to experience personalized superb lunch and a four course dinner that Rafael had prepared outside the menu. The dinner was a unique experience of great flavours. Definitely we would stay again in Casa Oaxaca.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    29
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
116
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
245 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you are coming to beautiful Oaxaca I cannot think of another place to stay than Casa Oaxaca. Under chef Alejandro´s competent hands this special hideway is what makes Oaxaca even more incredible. From the welcoming and friendly staff, to the spacious and comfortable rooms this small hotel delivers its guests a serene and joyful experience. The breakfast served in the central courtyard is amazing, with choices from local cuisine to traditional continental fare. This is truly the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guilherme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Casa Oaxaca restaurant is perched atop a building right in the heart of el centro de Oaxaca. The food (much of it organic) was delicious! Even the appetizer, a blue corn tortilla with queso and salsa (prepared at your table ) was truly wonderful. I had the fish of the day and the salad of the day. Everything was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I chose Casa Oaxaca based on the excellent tripadvisor reviews, and the reviews were right on. The hotel is in the middle of the Centro Historico, easy walking distance to all the great Mexican restaurants, entertainment, and landmarks. The rooms are simply, but nicely, appointed. The interior structure is very attractive. The breakfasts are excellent. But most of all, the staff is outstanding. They are quick and careful to meet your every request, whether it is emails about your reservation, extra water, a glass of wine or mezcal, departure from the menu, finding a good tour guide, or a good recommendation for dinner. From hour one, everyone seemed to know my name. I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mepw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice little hotel in the center of Oaxaca. Great location, with cafés down the street, restaurants and touristic spots within walking distance. The rooms are alright, nothing too special. You get the value for what you're paying. They have everything you need, without any luxury.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtymx86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This this is our fifth visit and we are always treated like family. The staff is truly amazing- very, very friendly and extremly helpful. The food is superb. The new chef, Rafael, who is from Oaxaca, is an expert at combining traditional Oaxacan cooking with a modern focus. He did a custom menu for us that was truly amazing! We did a cooking class with Alejandro- we learned a whole lot, had a great time and another amazing meal. Of coure, the rooms and grounds were as wonderful as always. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgusdorff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Oh to be in the heart of this wonderful and exciting city, but have this oasis to retreat to after a busy day of sightseeing and shopping! You must be rung in to get inside this "one of a kind" architecturally beautiful hotel. After checking in with extremely helpful staff, you are then lead into this open air courtyard that is rimmed with all the 7 rooms and 1 large two story suite. Rooms #1 and #2 are probably the least desirable because they are darker and don't have great lighting, but after staying 7 nights there, the service, food and cleanliness make even that seem less bothersome. It is exciting to go to breakfast here (which is included in the cost along with all taxes) because the choices are so varied, all cooked to order and delicious. We did not eat dinner here, but if you do, it will be a treat like no other. The restaurant is closed to outside people so you just may be the only ones having a special dinner prepared just for you. I did attend their Cooking Class with Chef Alehandro (sp) and I highly recommend this treat. He is a delightful, friendly person, who along with his assistant, will take you grocery shopping into one of the many huge Mexican markets that will have you picture taking at every opportunity. YOU choose what you want to cook and eat and then shop accordingly. There is nothing too exotic or difficult for them to prepare (along with your help). We had a seafood cerviche, exotic salad, beef mole AND three desserts. One dish more exotic and delicious then the next! Fresh flowers in the bath and bedroom changed during our stay, beds completely changed daily and clean towels twice a day. Nothing is skimped on here especially the wonderful service.

Room Tip: Choose Rooms 3 thru 7 or spring for the two story suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#2 of 111 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#11 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 111 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oaxaca

Property: Casa Oaxaca
Address: Garcia Vigil 407 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#1 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Oaxaca 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Casa Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Casa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing