We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An Oasis in the Beautiful, but busy, city of Oaxaca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Oaxaca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Oaxaca
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Stow
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Beautiful, but busy, city of Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Oh to be in the heart of this wonderful and exciting city, but have this oasis to retreat to after a busy day of sightseeing and shopping! You must be rung in to get inside this "one of a kind" architecturally beautiful hotel. After checking in with extremely helpful staff, you are then lead into this open air courtyard that is rimmed with all the 7 rooms and 1 large two story suite. Rooms #1 and #2 are probably the least desirable because they are darker and don't have great lighting, but after staying 7 nights there, the service, food and cleanliness make even that seem less bothersome. It is exciting to go to breakfast here (which is included in the cost along with all taxes) because the choices are so varied, all cooked to order and delicious. We did not eat dinner here, but if you do, it will be a treat like no other. The restaurant is closed to outside people so you just may be the only ones having a special dinner prepared just for you. I did attend their Cooking Class with Chef Alehandro (sp) and I highly recommend this treat. He is a delightful, friendly person, who along with his assistant, will take you grocery shopping into one of the many huge Mexican markets that will have you picture taking at every opportunity. YOU choose what you want to cook and eat and then shop accordingly. There is nothing too exotic or difficult for them to prepare (along with your help). We had a seafood cerviche, exotic salad, beef mole AND three desserts. One dish more exotic and delicious then the next! Fresh flowers in the bath and bedroom changed during our stay, beds completely changed daily and clean towels twice a day. Nothing is skimped on here especially the wonderful service.

Room Tip: Choose Rooms 3 thru 7 or spring for the two story suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    29
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
112
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tunbridge wells uk
Level Contributor
106 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

From the street Casa Oaxaca looks just like another terraced house but once you have found the bell you find a hidden gem inside. All the main rooms look out onto the main patio and we thought our room might be noisy but folk seem to go to bed early after a hard day's sightseeing so we had no problems on this score. The room was a little dark but very well appointed with plenty of lights for reading in the evenings. The breakfast in the patio was excellent and there is a large room with a computer if you do not wish to use the wi-fi. The situation of the hotel could not be better and you are only 5 minutes from the Zocalo and the same from the excellent Casa Oaxaca restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mungoandmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Maine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a 7 room hotel with rooms that open onto a lovely interior atrium. While it is centrally located in downtown Oaxaca, it is quiet, friendly, and has a very helpful staff. On our first night in the hotel we made a reservation in the restaurant. It turned out that we were the only guests that evening so we dined in the atrium with our own waiter and chef who explained the preparation of every dish on the limited menu. The food was wonderful, the service was outstanding, and the ambiance was out of this world. It was an outstanding experience.
Our room was ample with a large lounge chair, and while the bathroom was somewhat small it was adequate. There were fresh flowers and bottled water in the room. The swimming pool was beautiful.
Breakfast was included and was delicious. There was fresh fruit, juice, various egg dishes, warm bread, oatmeal, cereal and great coffee. It is served in the atrium, on a table covered with a pristine white cloth by very nice and efficient staff.
Our most outstanding experience was the cooking lesson that is offered once a week by Alexandro the chef at the large Casa Oaxaca restaurant. He is an enthusiastic food lover and conveyed his love of his craft and his pride in his country's food in an energetic and fum manner. We began (there were 5 of us) by meeting at the hotel and planning the menu then it was off to the cab to go to the Mercado Abastos where folks from the countryside gather to sell their produce. The market trip was a cultural immersion- there were people of varying ethnicity, unknown (to me) fruits and vegetables, and dried beans and chilies galore. It was an incredible experience to walk the market with a chef, experience his exuberance, and learn a bit about another culture. We then returned to the hotel, cooked for 3 hours and ate la wonderful unch at 3 pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool or in the rear of the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aconitum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

When it comes to colonial architecture, this hotel is as good as it gets. But the delights do not end there ...

Room - in keeping with the rest of the hotel, our room was as charming and generously appointed. It was cosy and very comfortable.

Location - the hotel is conveniently located in Oaxaca's centro historico, which means it is a short walk from sights, restaurants, cafes and shops.

Food - their impressive breakfast menu includes a number of delicious Mexican dishes. The chef is clearly very talented. Make sure you book for dinner as the kitchen will close if there are no bookings.

Staff and concierge - I seldom mention names in my reviews, but Antonio is simply a standout. He assisted us with complex transport requirements across Mexico and booked local trips for us, like mountain biking. He is also very knowledgeable, extremely helpful and in our case, also very patient.

Room Tip: If you will be using wi-fi a lot, choose a room that is closest to reception. The wi-fi was a bit p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iskoolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My daughter and I spent 6 nights in Oaxaca, five at the Casa Oaxaca. Before departing on the trip I had numerous emails back and forth with Mr. A.Aquino, he was extremely helpful and kind.
He made my various dinner reservations and answered all the questions I had about his lovely town.
I mention him in particular, but, the entire staff at the hotel were fantastic.
Our room was comfortable and quiet, the linens were nice and every night a small treat was left for us.
Breakfast was served either in your room or outside in the lovely patio..in the morning it can be a bit cool so there were soft blankets to use as a wrap along with the heaters.
All the little touches were thoughtful.
.
The location was perfect, the area around the hotel was interesting and you could walk to all the sites in town.
This is not a fancy hotel but a lovely place that fits right in to setting of the town..you could not ask for more.

Room Tip: I should think all the rooms would be adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
141 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Oaxaca is a colonial city and Casa Oaxaca captures it's flavor but offers a fresh well designed hotel. This is a white adobe with a beautiful courtyard dominated by a flowering tree. Most rooms open onto the courtyard where a delicious breakfast is served. The service is excellent; the staff is helpful and welcoming and the location is quiet but walking distance to town. Cas Oaxaca also has two nearby restaurants that offer the best food in Oaxaca. The chef is local but trained in Europe. Fresh seafood from the coast; Moles the tradition of the region; squash blossoms tempured... you can not go wrong. The ambience of all Casa Oaxaca enterprises is of great design sense and quality down to their own Mescal!! Fabulous on all counts

Room Tip: The duplex by the pool is more $$ but the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ECAMERONSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

2 nights in this beautiful hotel in the colonial center of Oaxaca. The city is amazing and the hotel ideally located.
The staff is very nice, concierge service as well.

There are not many rooms, indeed the hotel is calm and quiet. There is a small garden with a nice swimming pool, very intimate.

Rooms are big and clean. Not very modern but confortable.

The restaurant is delicious and the chef very nice and very very talented. We did not do it but they offer Mezcal tasting.
breakfast is also excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zumex36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#9 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#11 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#2 of 111 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.5 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oaxaca

Property: Casa Oaxaca
Address: Garcia Vigil 407 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oaxaca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Oaxaca 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Casa Hotel Oaxaca
Oaxaca Casa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing