We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel with the own style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Oaxaca Magico
Ranked #17 of 128 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Moon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The hotel with the own style”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed there for 3 days at October 2012.
The hotel has good location - between the Basilica la Soledad and Zocalo.
Very nice people at the reception - so helpful with everything you need. I'm not sure if they're good in english but if you know spanish - better for you. Maybe they speak english also, didn't check that :)
All the rooms have their names not numbers. Loved that! My room had no window but I didn't really need that for sleeping only. I had small room but with the big bed and bathroom had all I need. There were a TV but I think I didn't even turn it on:)
At the night time they closing outside hotels door so you can feel safe inside (but I never felt unsafe even at the night time walking alone through the street). The wifi is good enough at the reception area. In my room I couldn't connect.
If you are 'early bird' so you should go to the Zocalo to have tortas and champorado - all the locals have such a breakfast, don't be afraid to try the same. Its pretty cheap (20 pesos for all), hot and yummy. All the cafes and restaurants opening about 9:30-10:00 a.m. Oh yeah, not far from the hotel on the way to Zocalo there's a small cafe with the most delicious churros I've ever tried in all Mexico! Try churros rellenas con dulce leche y chocolate! Mmmmm...
You can buy any tour to see surroundings from the reception. The price will surprise you in a good way, Oaxaca is the real Mexico with the real prices, not touristic as at Playa del Carmen or Cancun. I've arrived early morning and bought a tour started at 10:30 a.m. to the Monte Alban. Hierve el Agua, Fabrica de Mezcal and smtg else - is a whole-day tour. But this is a must visit at Oaxaca surroundings.
At the city: Basilica la Soledad is very nice at the sunset and at the night-lights. Zocalo is full of live music and people having fun or just watching at that at the night time also.
Don't forget to buy Oaxaqueña souvenirs - alebrijes - it's fairytale animals hand-crafted and hand-painted with the beautiful colors.
Would love to back at Oaxaca, it's totally different from all the cities I've visited in Mexico. And I'd love to stay Oaxaca Magico hotel again. Mostly because of good location and nice people working there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koko_Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel a couple of nights with my wife during our trip in Mexico, on our way from Mexico City to San Cristóbal de las Casas.

The location is great, very close to the center (Zócalo and Alcalá) and to night life (check out the Café Central). Our room was clean and comfortable, small but cozy. Although it didn't have windows facing outside, it had air conditioning. Drinking water was available for free. The Internet connection was fast and reliable. All the staff was extremely nice and professional. They kept our heavy luggage for a day after we checked out in the morning, free of charge.

This hotel is a good choice for an affordable and comfortable holiday in the beautiful city of Oaxaca.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
344 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hotel was clean and easy to find way to Zocolo, but since they do not provide breakfast if they only would have had a coffee pot in the lobby. We stayed for 7 nights and rooms were clean. No one at the front desk spoke English but yet we communicated. They let me use the phone if I needed to and were always cleaning the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebenezer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
367 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The worst thing about this hotel is that the beds are smallish doubles, too small for me and most westerners.
It is spotless, run by nice people and not far from everything. Unfortunately Oaxaca is now full of ``gringas^^
and this fact has pushed prices skywards , so even average accommodation costs plenty.

Room Tip: If you are tall or a westerner, pay extra and get a room with 2 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed for a bit more than a week in this hotel. Rooms are very clean. The location is very central, just 3 blocks away from the Zoccalo, close to many restaurants, the mercado de artesanias and the busses to Monte Alban. Even though the hotel is on a main through street calle Crespo, street noise is hardly heard inside.
The hosts are very friendly and always supportive, arranging tours, cooking classes or any sort of pickup or any other advise needed. Although there is no breakfast, they serve a free coffee which is delicious and makes for a good start in the day in this wonderful city.
Overall really good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lavacaniere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#11 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#16 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#23 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oaxaca Magico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oaxaca Magico

Property: Hotel Oaxaca Magico
Address: Calle Manuel Sabino Crespo 110 | Av. Independencia y llegando, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oaxaca Magico 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Oaxaca Magico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing