We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel with the own style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Oaxaca Magico
Ranked #22 of 133 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed there for 3 days at October 2012.
The hotel has good location - between the Basilica la Soledad and Zocalo.
Very nice people at the reception - so helpful with everything you need. I'm not sure if they're good in english but if you know spanish - better for you. Maybe they speak english also, didn't check that :)
All the rooms have their names not numbers. Loved that! My room had no window but I didn't really need that for sleeping only. I had small room but with the big bed and bathroom had all I need. There were a TV but I think I didn't even turn it on:)
At the night time they closing outside hotels door so you can feel safe inside (but I never felt unsafe even at the night time walking alone through the street). The wifi is good enough at the reception area. In my room I couldn't connect.
If you are 'early bird' so you should go to the Zocalo to have tortas and champorado - all the locals have such a breakfast, don't be afraid to try the same. Its pretty cheap (20 pesos for all), hot and yummy. All the cafes and restaurants opening about 9:30-10:00 a.m. Oh yeah, not far from the hotel on the way to Zocalo there's a small cafe with the most delicious churros I've ever tried in all Mexico! Try churros rellenas con dulce leche y chocolate! Mmmmm...
You can buy any tour to see surroundings from the reception. The price will surprise you in a good way, Oaxaca is the real Mexico with the real prices, not touristic as at Playa del Carmen or Cancun. I've arrived early morning and bought a tour started at 10:30 a.m. to the Monte Alban. Hierve el Agua, Fabrica de Mezcal and smtg else - is a whole-day tour. But this is a must visit at Oaxaca surroundings.
At the city: Basilica la Soledad is very nice at the sunset and at the night-lights. Zocalo is full of live music and people having fun or just watching at that at the night time also.
Don't forget to buy Oaxaqueña souvenirs - alebrijes - it's fairytale animals hand-crafted and hand-painted with the beautiful colors.
Would love to back at Oaxaca, it's totally different from all the cities I've visited in Mexico. And I'd love to stay Oaxaca Magico hotel again. Mostly because of good location and nice people working there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koko_Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 45 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel a couple of nights with my wife during our trip in Mexico, on our way from Mexico City to San Cristóbal de las Casas.

The location is great, very close to the center (Zócalo and Alcalá) and to night life (check out the Café Central). Our room was clean and comfortable, small but cozy. Although it didn't have windows facing outside, it had air conditioning. Drinking water was available for free. The Internet connection was fast and reliable. All the staff was extremely nice and professional. They kept our heavy luggage for a day after we checked out in the morning, free of charge.

This hotel is a good choice for an affordable and comfortable holiday in the beautiful city of Oaxaca.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hotel was clean and easy to find way to Zocolo, but since they do not provide breakfast if they only would have had a coffee pot in the lobby. We stayed for 7 nights and rooms were clean. No one at the front desk spoke English but yet we communicated. They let me use the phone if I needed to and were always cleaning the place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebenezer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The worst thing about this hotel is that the beds are smallish doubles, too small for me and most westerners.
It is spotless, run by nice people and not far from everything. Unfortunately Oaxaca is now full of ``gringas^^
and this fact has pushed prices skywards , so even average accommodation costs plenty.

Room Tip: If you are tall or a westerner, pay extra and get a room with 2 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed for a bit more than a week in this hotel. Rooms are very clean. The location is very central, just 3 blocks away from the Zoccalo, close to many restaurants, the mercado de artesanias and the busses to Monte Alban. Even though the hotel is on a main through street calle Crespo, street noise is hardly heard inside.
The hosts are very friendly and always supportive, arranging tours, cooking classes or any sort of pickup or any other advise needed. Although there is no breakfast, they serve a free coffee which is delicious and makes for a good start in the day in this wonderful city.
Overall really good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lavacaniere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Los cuartos de la planta baja son mejores porque no tienes que subir escaleras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aracely V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Thank Tavo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Azucenas
Hotel Azucenas
#25 of 108 in Oaxaca
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 108 in Oaxaca
303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Antigua Curtiduria
Hotel Antigua Curtiduria
#60 of 108 in Oaxaca
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Parador San Agustin
Hotel Parador San Agustin
#17 of 108 in Oaxaca
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#27 of 108 in Oaxaca
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador San Fernando
Parador San Fernando
#12 of 133 in Oaxaca
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oaxaca Magico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oaxaca Magico

Address: Calle Manuel Sabino Crespo 110 | Av. Independencia y llegando, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range: $36 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oaxaca Magico 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Oaxaca Magico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing