We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bistrot Epicuro

Cafe Bistrot Epicuro
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Bistrot Epicuro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 409 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This restaurant was our fall-back choice when other, better-known restaurants were full on a Saturday evening, so we went with no expectations of what we would find. It was a very pleasant surprise -- the food was excellent, the service also, and the owner, a charming Italian, came to our table (and to others) to talk about the menu and help us make our decisions (I chose the rabbit -- delicious!) The desserts were equally delightful. Highly recommended! -EJL (Winston-Salem, North Carolina)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank quetzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    63
    15
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

What a welcome break from tortas, moles, and tacos. The service was wonderful and the food even better. I had a salad that was simply delicious. Don't miss this!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Abe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth going the extra few blocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful food, gracious attentive service, charming atmosphere. Well worth going a few extra blocks off the beaten path.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good but overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

When John Lennon was asked if Ringo Starr was the best drummer in England he replied that he wasn't sure that Ringo was the best drummer in the Beatles, let alone England. The Cafe Bistrot Epicuro is a beautiful restaurant and the service is excellent. The food, however, is good but not great and is very expensive. I don't think Cafe Bistrot Epicuro is the best Italian restaurant in Oaxaca and it is certainly does not deserve to be rated as the best over all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Macpock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

the restaurant is awesome, the food is delicious and the waiter is a divine person, the owner was always paying attention about every detail I'll visit them again soon

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marcecele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bistrot Epicuro also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Cafe Bistrot Epicuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing