We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Surprised it is #1” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bistrot Epicuro

Cafe Bistrot Epicuro
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Bistrot Epicuro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 399 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oaxaca, Mexico
2 reviews
“Surprised it is #1”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I agree with the other reviews that the restaurant's service was outstanding. Our waiter was attentive and helpful.I would rate service with 5 stars . The location was quiet, comfortable and romantic. However, the food was below average. The meat was overcooked and dry. The pasta plain which isn't always bad but when mixed with little taste leads to disappointment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travel_ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    61
    15
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YVR
Level Contributor
260 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Terrific Cafe, will return again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

After reading about Epicuro on TA, we felt we had to try it. We have been coming to Oaxaca for years, so we are always looking for somewhere new. We weren't disappointed. Great looking spot and very comfortable & bright, and nicely decorated. The owner soon introduced himself and was very gracious and between the waiter and owner, we had a very nice lunch. A fruit and lettuce salad was preceded with a little appetizer - a veggie tart, and both were delicious. We followed with a penne with prawn, zucchini and red onion. Also delicious, but there could have been a couple more prawns. The only hiccup was the coffee machine wasn't turned on and we were in early so we had to wait for coffees. In the meantime, we ordered a panna cotta that was out of this world - the best I have had anywhere, and then they comped the coffees because of the long wait . A very nice luch and judging from the focaccia we tasted in the bread basket, we will be back for very delicious pizza at a later date.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eat Italian as in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I had 2 meals, spectacular pasta, right level of cooking time and amazing taste driven from excellent ingredients quality. 5 star service and excentric owners! Highly recomended...

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GianlucaPettiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOERNE
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing place for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visited the Bistro Cafe Epicuro today for lunch based on TripAdvisor recommendations. We were not disappointed. Only a few blocks from the Zocolo, we would have missed seeing it as it is not on the most traveled tourist street. The ambiance was so relaxing. Gloria our waitress was so patient, attentive, and kind to us. The food was unique and yet Italian. We loved every bit of this place, even the restrooms. Thank you TripAdvisor writers.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sqpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This Restaurant is one of the best in Oaxaca food service and the fine selection of wines make´s it superior to the other ones.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MARIO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bistrot Epicuro also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Bistrot Epicuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing