We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous meal in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pitiona

Pitiona
Ranked #6 of 461 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tremendous meal in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

It's our last night in this most beautiful city and our goodbye Oaxaca meal at Pitiona was perfect. Oaxacan food meets fusion. The lamb and the fish were fabulous and the service was friendly and efficient. Right near the Cathedral of Santo Domingo. Don't miss this splurge!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    110
    41
    18
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Everything we tried was excellent, I consider myself a foodie and it's way better than Casa Oaxaca and Los Danzantes. Try the the pork tacos, wow!

Helpful?
Thank shotpadilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

The place is worth the hype we had a tasting lunch menu and there were no disappointments
Highly recommended

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apchelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Pretentious. Over priced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Perhaps this is gourmet. But I really did not find the food to be good. This is the second review I wrote. Did it last week but never made it on to trip advisor. I hope this gets to you. We had salads and steak and fish. Just not great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BusinessPr0fessi0nal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“IMHO best fancy place in Oaxaca ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

This has the reputation as the best restaurant in Oaxaca and I'm sure it's either 100% true or so close it doesn't matter. It's "expensive" for Oaxaca and diet cheap compared to Europe or America. Sucking pig tacos amazing. Mole Colorado shrimp ceviche a miss. Noodle soup is worth the "molecular gastronomy" style thin walled dollops of cream that explode in your mouth when u eat them

Helpful?
Thank screenamesuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitiona also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Pitiona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing