We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous day out in the mountains”

Tierraventura Ecoturismo Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: DISCOVER, EXPLORE AND MAKE A DIFFERENCE ! Get to know Mexico in an intense and personal way with a small group of friends..
South Wales
Level Contributor
277 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Marvellous day out in the mountains”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We took a one day hike in the Pueblos Mancomunados into the cloud forest. The price was excellent and there was only myself and my wife on the trip. It was well organised and Gordon our guide from the firm was very personable and knowledgeable about the region. The walk was about 90 minutes outside of Oaxaca and the drive itself was very interesting. When we reached the villages we had Don Rufino, a village elder as our walking guide. Gordon spoke good Spanish and was able to translate between us and Don Rufino. Don Rufino has spent his entire life in the mountains and was able to explain the history of the area. He was a font of knowledge about the flora and fauna of the area, particularly about the medicinal and cultural significance of the plants. The walk was somewhat surreal seeing large cacti amongst pine and oak. The only disappointment was that the weather was wet and misty and we could not see the views from over 11,000 feet. This did not spoil the day at all though.

On return to the village we had a delicious vegetarian lunch with Gordon and Don Rufino where we were able to find out more about each other's lives.

There is decent accommodation available in the villages and if I am l even lucky enough to go again I would definitely stay there. Thank you Gordon and Don Rufino for a wonderful day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    17
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Well-organised 2-day trek in the Sierra Norte”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I was impressed with the organisation and guiding of the two-day hiking trip that I went on in the Sierra Norte. Yves and Claudia were friendly and professional, and the guides knowledgeable. The overnight accommodation and the food were also very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shimbles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weingarten, Germany
1 review
“Best time in Mexico!!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Thank you Tierraventura!!! Thank you for one of the best moments on our 2 month trip through Mexico.
Gordon was our guide on a two day hike in the mountains and we had an amazing time with him. The hike was wonderful and very interesting. We've learned a lot about the nature and had enough time to enjoy the silence out there.
On our next trip to Mexico we do a hike with Tierraventura again for sure.

Go and do a hike with them. It's definitely worth it.

Jelena and Stephan

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rodriguez D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Me and a couple of friends took two trips with Tierraventura: firstly, a 5-hour hike around Cuajimoloyas (coupled with a fantastic zip-wire ride). Was extremely well organised and Yves was a great help throughout the day providing a fascinating insight into the flora and fauna. It was really good to get out of the city and see some of the incredible countryside. Lunch was one of the best food experiences I had in Mexico. We also attended one of the mini workshops on Traditional Indigenous Medicine where we bought plants and flowers from the local market and made traditional medicines and shampoo. In the evening, we went back to take one of the temazcal steam baths - quite honestly, an experience I'll never forget. If you're going to Oaxaca and you want to really experience Mexican culture, take a tour with these guys. They're fantastic!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day trip”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I took a day trip to the Pueblos Mancomunados. The tour was fantastic. The guide spoke English and Spanish (as well as French) which was great since my Spanish is hopeless! Very informative regarding the surrounding plants and how they are used for medicines. We also visited a local healer in one of the villages and got a healing. The cost was $900 pesos all inclusive (food etc.) and at first on my budget i didn't think i wanted to spend so much, but it was definitely worth every peso! There were only 3 of us on the tour which made it a lot more intimate and friendly. I highly recommend this company.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JJJ_Around_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tierraventura Ecoturismo Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Tierraventura Ecoturismo Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing