We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must when in Oaxaca!”

Tierraventura Ecoturismo Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: DISCOVER, EXPLORE AND MAKE A DIFFERENCE ! Get to know Mexico in an intense and personal way with a small group of friends..
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must when in Oaxaca!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I went on a lovely hike from Latuvi to Lachatao - Tierraventura put this together in just a few days after customers requested it. They had an English-speaking guide and a local guide who told us about the old ways and pointed out medicinal plants and landmarks used by the pre-hispanic travelers. The hike took us along a river and through Spanish-moss-clad trees. I loved it! Magic.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SK11968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    17
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Professional, friendly and knowledgeable. Because it is a small company, the service is flexible and personable. I highly recommend it. Eric in particular went above and beyond, but all the guides were great.

Helpful?
Thank Bobette71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A walking tour in Sierra Norte with Tierraventura”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

As a couple, we have hiked and walked in many locations around the US, Canada and Europe.
On our third trip to Oaxaca, we were eager to hike through some of the different terrains in the
Sierra Norte. Due to time constraints we were limited this time to a day trip. Claudia and Yves, owners of Tierraventura, emailed us back and were able to accommodate our day request by incorporating us for one day into their four-day tour.
The entire experience was top-notch, from the punctual van pick-up to the expert guiding to the
delicious local group meal at the end of our hike. We hiked from one pueblo to another at about 10,000 feet through
beautiful forest (with Douglas fir and palm trees) and around a stunning rock formation called "cueva de la iglesia". The air was very clear and fresh. We were very happy to have participated in the Ecotourism initiative, as well.
We highly recommend Tierraventura as the go-to company for walking in the mountains outside of Oaxaca.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ndjcrossroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
“2-Day Hike in Pueblos Mancomunados”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We did a two day hike from Cuajimoloyas to Latuvi on the first day, and Latuvi to Amatlan on the second day. The logistics of the trip were easy - Gordon and Claudia picked us up at our hostel the first day, and we had both local guides from the villages and Gordon was our English translator who also stayed with us the whole time. They seemed to have a very good relationship with the towns, and knew the local guides and restaurant owners personally which made for a very enjoyable experience. Everything was provided for us - we had snacks during the day, meals in the villages, and our luggage was transported to the cabins for the night. The views were great, we had great food provided by very hospitable members of the communities, and the local guides provided a lot of information on local customs, flora and fauna (especially medicinal plants), and the history of the region. The cabin that we stayed in in Latuvi was gorgeous, clean and well maintained. We would definitely recommend this company for the ease of the scheduling and logistics, as well as the good relationships that they have built in the Pueblos over the years.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mlynch431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
1 review
“Four-day walking tour in Sierra Norte with Tierraventura”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We did a cloud-forest trip which included two days at ten thousand feet, one day descending four thousand feet, and then a final day along a river, among oak trees with large sheets of hanging Spanish moss swaying in the breeze. At times the going was a bit hard, especially since we were not completely acclimatised to the height, but both of us, over 65, who do some walking in the UK, were able to manage it without problem, wearing hiking boots. Walking poles were available free, as were ponchos which were not in fact necessary because it did not rain. The walks generally were through stunning forests with a wide variety of vegetation, including many interesting plants, though with few wild animals or birds. We had wonderful views from rocky outcrops.
The trip was highly organised and we were looked after very well. The accommodation, in purpose-built chalets, was clean and comfortable, with a small double bed and two bunk beds. When the log fires were lit in the evenings we were very cosy, because it got cold at night and in the early mornings. We were pleased that this was part of an Ecotourism initiative, which included eating simple local food at the local village eating places. To our delight this included lots of lovely hot chocolate. One further eating highlight was a meal at a trout farm.
Altogether, we would recommend Tierraventura and this trip very highly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tierraventura Ecoturismo Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Tierraventura Ecoturismo Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing