We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lived up to the recommendation we got” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Quince Letras

Las Quince Letras
Ranked #28 of 399 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Lived up to the recommendation we got”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The chef/owner of Origen Oaxaca (one of the top restaurants in the city) recommended this place as a local place to go. We had asked for his recommendation for a simple local place with real Oaxaca food, and he immediately pointed us to this place. We were not disappointed.

I had the soup of the day - zucchini soup - and my husband the Ensalada Verde (green salad). The soup was good, but the salad was incredible. Green beans, lettuce, spinach, avocado and cucumber made up an incredibly simple but delicious salad. My husband isn't usually the salad type, but he cleaned his plate (with some help from yours truly).

Then the main was the Oaxaca plate for my husband and the mole sample (three types), and both were amazing. My husband loved every part of his plate, and for me, my favourite was the yellow mole. I especially loved that each mole (red, black and yellow) was served with the different part of the chicken (leg, breast, and then thigh). The rice was also very good.

We were discussing tonight after a disappointing meal at another local place, and decided we would be happy to go back to Las Quinces Letras again... even though when we travel we try to hit as many places as possible. This would be a first! It was around 33 USD for two people, two courses each, and drinks, BTW.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    33
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Mediocre-better places to eat in Oaxaca”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

On a recommendation from a Oaxacan guidebook, we stopped for an afternoon meal - comida corrida. The soup was zucchini in a chicken broth, acceptable but not that flavorful. Salad was fresh baby spinach with sliced apples that overwhelmed the greens but was good. My main entree was one paltry chicken leg in a red sauce with tortillas. My husband fared better with the amount of food for his entree but again, nothing stood out. Dessert was rice pudding with a slice of sweet potato; odd but ok. We were offered no drinks with our meal which is standard practice so we ordered 2 agua frescas which cost 30 pesos each. When we paid our bill, we were shorted 100 pesos in change-did the waiter think we wouldn't notice that??! The garden atmosphere is lovely but I think there are restaurants that serve a tastier comida corrida and don't short change you.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikinglibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg,Manitoba
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Oaxacan ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nothing to dislike about this place.Nice courtyard with true Oaxacan ambiance. The menu was a nice blend of flavors. The salad I ordered was art in itself. A sculptued avacado sat on top of this gigantic pile of greens.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YVR
Level Contributor
260 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent tradition Oaxacan cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Have been to Quince Letras many times over the last 6 years of visiting Oaxaca. Always consistent traditional and reliable. Good service and a pleasant courtyard just beyond the bland dining room. Prices are reasonable. Try the large botana assortment if you haven't tried much Oaxacan food and you will find out what to order for your next meal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Oaxacan cuising!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It was an amazing experience. The food was delicious and the the waiter, Beto, was so helpful and kind!
This is a place that everybody should visit in Oaxaca.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Quince Letras also viewed

 
 

Been to Las Quince Letras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing