We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big bed, small room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Abu
Ranked #71 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big bed, small room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel last minute.
When we arrived our first impression was this is great.
We booked using Expedia / Tripadvisor and had booked for 4 nights. ABU had our booking as 3 nights. After some back and forth they amended our booking.
Our room was tiny. Hardly enough room for a suitcase and backpack.
However the king size bed makes up for that.
The bed was so comfy with great pillows.
It's a very very noisy hotel. There were lots of children staying as it was school holidays and due to the layout of hotel we could hear every noise they made!
The location is great, right in the middle of town and right near a pedestrian only street.
Very safe to walk around at night.
In room safe, small towels, but extremely clean and tidy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlenells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    17
    12
    15
See reviews for
16
27
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here with a small group for the Day of the Dead festival this year, and really enjoyed the property. Pleasant desk staff, the wi fi was good, rooms well appointed. Easy walk to restaurants and everything Oaxaca has to offer. One interesting thing: your lights turn on/off by placing your room key into a slot on the wall. At first I thought we were without power until I figured it out. Only thing I would suggest is add more plugs in the rooms for laptops, small appliances etc. and the meeting rooms with tend to get very crowded with people and their laptops etc.

Room Tip: There is an elevator although it is small. I think any room at this hotel would be just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sthomas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Cabos Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is located in downtown Oaxaca, steps away from Santo Domingo. From there you can have the best walking tour of the city.

The architecture of the hotel is very good. They have an interior Patio with fountain, very cozy and relaxing.

The front desk team is very kind, professional and efficient. In general, the hotel has a very good service.

The rooms are very small. I traveled with my father and we had a twin bedroom. There was no space left for us to move. If you chose a King bed I am sure you will have a much better experience. The room decor is simple and has all the basic services you might expect from a 4 star hotel. Internet is free and works well.

The only thing that the hotel needs to work in is the acoustics. The interior corridor is covered to protect from the rain but it causes an echo at night. From your room you will hear everything that happens at the lobby area. Very noisy.

Room Tip: King bedded rooms offer more space and you will have a better experience. Ask for a room which is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbaurez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have visited Oaxaca a number of times, but this year for Dia De Los Muertos, most properties in town were sold out. I booked a room at Hotel Abu via hotels.com. I ended up making two back-to-back reservations : 1 for the first 3 days, and the 2nd for another week.
When I arrived, my first reservation was fine, but for the 2nd one they were overbooked, and told me there was a hotels.com error. The hotel had absolutely no sympathy for my very distressing situation - the entire city was sold out, and I thought I had a confirmed reservation. The error probably was the fault of hotels.com, but as I stood in the lobby, confused and frustrated, they did absolutely nothing to help me. They watched and sort of snickered and eventually showed me to my tiny little box of a room. I mean, ridiculously small. Albeit the bed was comfortable and the room was clean.
But there was barely room for my suitcase in this room. And it was stupidly loud - there is a covered courtyard in the center of the hotel, and as people come and go, their voices echo through the whole place.
This hotel left me with a very bad taste in my mouth. I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Request an exterior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newshoesproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oaxaca hotels

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

It is an ok hotel with breakfast included, which is complete and of good quality. It has a very good location since its walking distance from almost everything that needs to be visited in town. The rooms are modern and renovated but the bathrooms are still very small and old.

Room Tip: Ask for the exterior rooms, they have more light and space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sofia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Casa Abu is a good location for touring the city centre . Clean and modern design in a colonial building. Good service, clean, and a great cooked breakfast makes for good value for money .
Negatives are noisy interior , you can here everything from the central public area and voices of noisy guests , everyday woken at around six by guests moving . No parking which is common in this zone , but the lack of good parking nearby means , either parking in the street -- not easy to find space or paying almost 10 dollars the night ( 9 to 9 ) extra hours by the hour and access to carparks is surprisingly limited , in the closest one they open at 7.30 on sunday morning to close at 9.30 and do not open again till 9 in the evening . If you have a car its cheaper to stay outside the centre with parking and take taxis to the centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabondMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Casa Abu has an excellent location, but the rooms are a little small and they don't have any sensation of luxury. It is a 2 to 3 star hotel. The breakfast buffet, which is included in the rate is very good. The hotel Camino Real is just a few steps away and it is so beautiful, but the prices are much more expensive. If you want to save money this is a good option, but don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anam01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.7 mi away
La Catrina de Alcala
La Catrina de Alcala
#37 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Los Cantaros
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#42 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Conzatti
Hotel Casa Conzatti
#32 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oaxaca Real
Hotel Oaxaca Real
#38 of 111 in Oaxaca
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#11 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abu

Property: Hotel Abu
Address: Murguia #104 Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Abu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abu combines the simplicity of the stone quarry with a unique design for guests to sit in a nice place, just half a block from the tourist walkway of the city of Oaxaca offers hosting service where each of our rooms have the comfort that people need to make your stay a unique and unforgettable moment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Abu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing