We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Hotel Abu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abu
Ranked #63 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is located in downtown Oaxaca, steps away from Santo Domingo. From there you can have the best walking tour of the city.

The architecture of the hotel is very good. They have an interior Patio with fountain, very cozy and relaxing.

The front desk team is very kind, professional and efficient. In general, the hotel has a very good service.

The rooms are very small. I traveled with my father and we had a twin bedroom. There was no space left for us to move. If you chose a King bed I am sure you will have a much better experience. The room decor is simple and has all the basic services you might expect from a 4 star hotel. Internet is free and works well.

The only thing that the hotel needs to work in is the acoustics. The interior corridor is covered to protect from the rain but it causes an echo at night. From your room you will hear everything that happens at the lobby area. Very noisy.

Room Tip: King bedded rooms offer more space and you will have a better experience. Ask for a room which is no...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbaurez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Abu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 117 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have visited Oaxaca a number of times, but this year for Dia De Los Muertos, most properties in town were sold out. I booked a room at Hotel Abu via hotels.com. I ended up making two back-to-back reservations : 1 for the first 3 days, and the 2nd for another week.
When I arrived, my first reservation was fine, but for the 2nd one they were overbooked, and told me there was a hotels.com error. The hotel had absolutely no sympathy for my very distressing situation - the entire city was sold out, and I thought I had a confirmed reservation. The error probably was the fault of hotels.com, but as I stood in the lobby, confused and frustrated, they did absolutely nothing to help me. They watched and sort of snickered and eventually showed me to my tiny little box of a room. I mean, ridiculously small. Albeit the bed was comfortable and the room was clean.
But there was barely room for my suitcase in this room. And it was stupidly loud - there is a covered courtyard in the center of the hotel, and as people come and go, their voices echo through the whole place.
This hotel left me with a very bad taste in my mouth. I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Request an exterior room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newshoesproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

It is an ok hotel with breakfast included, which is complete and of good quality. It has a very good location since its walking distance from almost everything that needs to be visited in town. The rooms are modern and renovated but the bathrooms are still very small and old.

Room Tip: Ask for the exterior rooms, they have more light and space
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Casa Abu is a good location for touring the city centre . Clean and modern design in a colonial building. Good service, clean, and a great cooked breakfast makes for good value for money .
Negatives are noisy interior , you can here everything from the central public area and voices of noisy guests , everyday woken at around six by guests moving . No parking which is common in this zone , but the lack of good parking nearby means , either parking in the street -- not easy to find space or paying almost 10 dollars the night ( 9 to 9 ) extra hours by the hour and access to carparks is surprisingly limited , in the closest one they open at 7.30 on sunday morning to close at 9.30 and do not open again till 9 in the evening . If you have a car its cheaper to stay outside the centre with parking and take taxis to the centre.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vagabondMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Casa Abu has an excellent location, but the rooms are a little small and they don't have any sensation of luxury. It is a 2 to 3 star hotel. The breakfast buffet, which is included in the rate is very good. The hotel Camino Real is just a few steps away and it is so beautiful, but the prices are much more expensive. If you want to save money this is a good option, but don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anam01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Its location makes this hotel de best (just 2 blocks away from Santo Domingo church and 3 blocks away from the Zocalo).I stayed here the whole weekend and it couldn't have been better. its a very different hotel with a whole different concept and if you're done with all those big old constructions they turned into hotels this is what you're looking for. The beds and pillows are soft, the room was very clean and if you stay in the balcony section you get a lot of natural light. The lobby section is lovely! They only serve breakfast but its ok because there are A LOT of excellent restaurants nearby. The guys at the front desk are all very nice and they help you as much as they can.
Can't wait to go back!
PS: Be prepared!! 'cause they don't accept American Express...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JW99_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2006

Staying in Oaxaca over the holidays, hotels were hard to come by and we stayed in the Parador Plaza. While the service was good and the staff very friendly, I can't recommend the place. The room we had was spartan and the bed soft, but the worst was the cold. There wasn't any heating and the window in the room opened to an exposed interior courtyard. The window could not be totally closed, so at night the room was quite cold. We did get several extra blankets (which were readily supplied), but that didn't really take off all the chill. It was unfortunate that it wasn't more comfortable, because the staff was very nice and helpful.

8  Thank emma1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#18 of 108 in Oaxaca
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Vertiz
Hotel Casa Vertiz
#36 of 108 in Oaxaca
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nana Vida
Hotel Nana Vida
#40 of 108 in Oaxaca
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oaxaca Real
Hotel Oaxaca Real
#54 of 108 in Oaxaca
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#46 of 108 in Oaxaca
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abu

Address: Murguia #104 Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range: $63 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Abu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abu combines the simplicity of the stone quarry with a unique design for guests to sit in a nice place, just half a block from the tourist walkway of the city of Oaxaca offers hosting service where each of our rooms have the comfort that people need to make your stay a unique and unforgettable moment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing