We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream accommodation in Oaxaca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Azul de Oaxaca
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in the heart of Oaxaca which makes it an ideal place to stay whilst visiting the town centre. The hotel doesn't have any parking but there is a garage 100 mts away on the same road that charges 140 mx pesos per day. The hotel is modern minimalist, very large and comfortable rooms, great breakfast and amazing service. Just make sure you type "Manuel Abasolo" as the road in your GPS otherwise if you put only "Abasolo" you'll end up in the bloody outskirts of Oaxaca! overall it's an amazing spot, a 4 stars hotel at the cost of a cheap b&b in london!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dragnet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Azul d, Gerente at Hotel Azul de Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comment and for having chosen the Hotel Azul for your stay in Oaxaca. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
The team of the Hotel Azul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 154 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights in this sophisticated hotel. At the moment I arrived at the hotel, their outstanding architecture interested me a lot. After I checked in, however, I found that point was just one of their beauties. Their room had well thought-out illumination and beautiful decor with nice pieces of furniture. In addition, they served me with delicious and typical breakfast of Oaxaca, garnishing with a bit of modernity. And as other guests mentioned it, the staffs helped me stay much comfortably.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HumptyDumpty1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Azul d, Gerente at Hotel Azul de Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Hotel Azul de Oaxaca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights with 3 kids ( 11, 8 & 3 ) in 2 standard rooms that were a perfect size.
The staff is great , they go out of their way to make you feel welcome...
Good food at the restaurant, they have a beautifull terrace for relaxing.
Amazing architecture and design, gourgeous patio and a fountain desined by Oaxacan artist Francisco Toledo.
Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adisegre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Azul d, Gerente at Hotel Azul de Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your kind comments, we are glad that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon again.
All the best from the entire team of the Hotel Azul!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel has a great design and attention to details. We would highly recommend it and here are some of the highlights and comments on the different aspects:

The rooms:
Beautiful decor, the tiles on the bathroom seem hand painted and its design is very cool. Super comfy bed and nice linen. Pillows were great! The rooms are smallish and they could benefit from a better illumination e.g maybe another lamp on the corner. But there are very nice.
The hotel facilities:
Beautiful courtyard on both sides. The space with tables is great for breakfast although having dinner and Breakfast in the same place maybe boring. The library is beautiful and had nice art books and up to date magazines. I think they should encourage its use at the front desk. The chapel is super nice and peaceful.
The terrace needs TLC. We went there for a drink but started to rain, we noticed that the bar and seats were worn out a bit. The cinema looks nice, but it was empty and again it can be better exploited.

The food
Our package included breakfast. It was good but not great (except for the beverages: hot chocolate, coffee, green juice); I was surprised and a bit annoyed that it didn't include the homemade quesadillas being prepared in lieu. They should be part of the package and not only for external customers. The service was excellent. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was great (we order
the Oaxaca sampler). The service was superb and the chef sent a complementary starter. The only think I did not like was that they kept offering wines that weren't on the wine list therefore I couldnt know their price. My dessert, a cinnamon sorbet was fantastic! My husband asked a brownie which was a bit old.
One criticism (minor) is that when
I got a call they lost it when transferring to my room, then they transferred again and included it in the bill when I did the check-out. I explained that I got the call and reception re-dialled when messing up the transfer but since the system marked a call I was charged at the end.

Overall, the hotel is super nice and its
personnel was very professional. I think that its price could be a bit improved to make it more competitive. The staff was very helpful.
We had a great time and would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janilopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Azul d, Gerente at Hotel Azul de Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your complete comments, we are glad that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. However you have detected oportunities of improvement, which is very important to us and we really appreciate that you share your experience with us. In order to detect what went wrong, especially with the telephone bill, it would be very helpfull if you could send us the name the reservation was under to gerencia@hotelazuloaxaca.com
Thank you very much and we hope that you will visit us again soon.
Best regards,
The Hotel Azul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Last week we visited oaxaca and had lunch at hotel Azul. The hotel has great architecture, decoration, good food, european style,and most of all the staff is extremely kind , helpful and English speaking. In Oaxaca and generally in Mexico it was hard to find people speaking English and therefore it was hard to communicate. In Azul hotel we didn't have that problem. And not only they serve us at the hotel but they also make useful suggestions about things to do in Oaxaca and where willing to respond to all our questions and make our visit unique. If we had not book another hotel we would prefered azul hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Thank ThessalonikiNassia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Azul d, Gerente at Hotel Azul de Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Nassia,
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay in Oaxaca !!
Best regards from the entire team of Hotel Azul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Loved, Hotel Azul, the rooms have space, the modern architecture is amazing.
The rooms are dark, the fridge is not very cold. The staff are amazing. Great location. Don't eat there! Except breakfast.

Room Tip: We had room 5 quiet, big & amazing. You don't need to get the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear guest,
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments. We are working on the ilumination and hoping to have that solved soon. In terms of the restaurant we would love to know you specific comments and would appeciate if you could send us an email to gerencia@hotelazuloaxaca.com
Thank you very much!!!
Best regards from Oaxaca and the entire team of the Hotel Azul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, beautiful rooms (though only a curtain separates the shower/toilet from the room), good food, and overall charming.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HSC699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Azul d, Gerente at Hotel Azul de Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind comment, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Our standard rooms have 2 different bathroom designs: Some rooms have a designer curtain, others have a door between the bedroom and the bathroom. On your next visit please request the typ of bathroom you prefer, your comfort is our utmost priority. Thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely, the team of the Hotel Azul de Oaxaca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 109 in Oaxaca
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#7 of 109 in Oaxaca
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#20 of 109 in Oaxaca
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Casa de Sierra Azul
Casa de Sierra Azul
#21 of 109 in Oaxaca
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azul de Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azul de Oaxaca

Address: Calle Mariano Abasolo Centro 313, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range: $149 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Azul de Oaxaca 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Azul is a unique boutique hotel in the city of Oaxaca. Modern in its structure and design, it preserves the warmth of Oaxaca by providing an atmosphere created in detail by local artisans. What that makes Hotel Azul unique is the close connection it has with art, culture, design and gastronomy of the city, allowing guests an unmatched experience within the property. The suites have been intervened entirely by 4 of the most renowned artists of Oaxaca: Francisco Toledo, Ruben Leyva, Jose Villalobos, Luis Zárate and the collective Fríjol Parado. The interior design is by Héctor Esrawe, one of the nation's leading designers. The graphic design by the young creative company Sociedad Anónima. The building was conditioned by Tres Manos Arquitectura firm, led by Architect Farid Cruz López. Also captivating, is its cuisine which entails unique recipes with pre-Hispanic elements and personalized service that will make you feel at home. Art, comfort, cuisine: the Azul Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Azul de Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing