We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveler rating
110
152
92
41
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
110
152
92
41
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle service shuttle bus fantastic breakfast buffet beautiful view of the city priced accordingly el tule nice pool morning and evening grounds are beautiful hotel grounds located minutes great rate enjoy your stay hotel guests large room visiting oaxaca would highly recommend this hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 424 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

I have read many of the reviews and I agree with much of what they say. Room 805 is from the 1970s and the bath is from the 1940s. Not one dresser drawer works properly, the tile in the bath is a disgrace, the lights were all unplugged and the one to the left if the bed only worked now if you plugged it unplugged it which entailed moving the bed! A complete disaster considering this is 2019. Also, if you are older this is not the property for you as it is alll stairs.

Now for the good. The staff are lovely across the board and are very attentive. The front desk is very helpful. I note other guests did not like the restaurant, Tule, but we had a very good dinner there the first night. Breakfast buffet is beautiful and quite inexpensive and the breakfast staff were all professional. The grounds are beautiful. The room was quite large with a lovely terrace - with a light that did not work. (Does the management and staff not notice this?) The pool is fab but needs more loungers. It’s those little things that make this hotel quite annoying. (Again, has the manager not noticed this? Very sloppy. I know you read these reviews and you should do something about these obvious problems.)

It could be great, and the staff do their best, but it’s not the best. With all that said, when you get the final bill, you cannot complain as it is priced accordingly. Would I go back? Yes. Would I recommend it to friends? Yes, but I would warn them about it’s glaring shortcomings.

One other thing - they got us a great driver, Oscar we recommend you hire him to go to the archeological sites and to the airport. Don’t bother with the group tours as half the time is spent picking people up which is a waste of time. (If you’re the type of travelled who goes on holiday to Oaxaca that means for you time is money. The groups tours are a waste of time, which you can never replace..) With the exchange rate Oscar is well worth it! He speaks English and his VW has AC. Also, we had no problems with the hotel van and loved leaving the el Centro bustle for the bucolic grounds of the Hotel Victoria.

Final thoughts? A great Hollywood beauty desperately in need of a face lift. And dresser drawers one can open and close.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank LATedandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel F, Director General at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019


Dear David
We thank you infinitely for the time I dedicate to your comment which is very complete to mention that we are in the process of improving facilities in rooms but retaining its colonial Mexican style characteristic of this hotel, your comment of appreciation to our staff and to Oscar we received it with pleasure and we will let you know

Attentively
Miguel Fuster Romero
General Manger
Hotel Victoria Oaxaca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2019 via mobile

While it is a nice hotel, it has quite a lot of room for improvement. It is far from a 3.5 star hotel, at most, and it is a stretch, I would give it a 3 star rating. My stay was “good” but the system doesn’t give me they option, hence the “average” rating.

The staff are very nice and attentive. The El Tule restaurant, located within the hotel, is just ok, the only dish I would recommend is the tortilla soup. The food is not bad, just a bit bland and unexciting, unlike what one would expect in Oaxaca.

The rooms are rather plain, more like those in good hostel.

The fact that there is no lift makes it a bit of a nightmare especially when one has to carry heavy luggage to three flights.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank WFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel F, Director General at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2019

Dear WFR
We appreciate your comment which we value, unfortunately the option of having an elevator, although necessary, is also likely due to the location within the hill, but it will be valued for future projects.
attentively

Miguel Fuster Romero
General Manager
Hotel Victoria Oaxaca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2019

This hotel must have been great several years ago ! It is now in need of renovation and is very 'tired'. The rooms are spacious and clean with great views of Oaxaca but lots of little things needed fixing - slow trickle of water from the taps, chipped tiles in the bathroom, dodgy light switches. There are also LOTS of steps to get anywhere so no good for anyone with mobility problems. There is a long staircase down to the restaurant, even more steps down to the pool . The reception staff were welcoming and friendly and helpful at suggesting things to do but the courtesy bus down into town broke down while were there so we had to rely on taxis . Breakfast was good but the evening meal was not great - they brought the wrong thing for two of our group and no atmosphere at all in the evenings.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dilyshogarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel F, Director General at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2019

Dear Dily
We appreciate your comments and observations, our transportation is subject to a maintenance program for the safety of our guests, soon we will initiate a program of improvements in facilities, in terms of food we will supervise more closely the evening shift, again thanks

Sincerly
Miguel Fuster Romero
General Manager
Hotel Victoria Oaxaca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019

me and my partner enjoyed a lot, delicious food, great staff !! and you can see all the city from the room !!
they also have tours so you can see around the city and the most touristic places
we will come back for sure !!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MAYRA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019

It is a very large hotel complex with a large garden and big pool, which is the one advantage of that property.
The rooms with view are big but very outdated. The bathrooms are urgently in need of renovation.
They have a bus which drives guests hourly downtown, but quite often it is out of service.
If you get a good price choose this hotel, otherwise it is not worth it.

Room tip: Only choose rooms with a view
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel F, Director General at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019


Dear Christine
Thank you for your comments which we will take into account, we started a project of improvements in the areas of the hotel and our transportation service was in preventive maintenance pr security of our guests

Sincerly
Miguel Fuster Romero
General Manager
Hotel Victoria Oaxaca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews