We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Victoria
Nearby Hotels
$143
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 05/30
$72
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $49/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$101
$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 06/02
Book now, pay at stay
$402
$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$148
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$82
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 06/01
$107
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
93
126
74
33
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
126
74
33
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle servicepool area is lovelyshuttle busfantastic breakfast buffetcity viewthe open air restauranthotel groundsno elevatorsecurity boxgreat ratemexican dishesstayed here for a weekvery nice hotela lot of noisethird floormonte albanoaxaca city
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 348 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Im so pleased to writte a review on hotel victoria. the staff one of a kind! since our arrive they welcome us and made us feel as family the service on the restaurant was five stars and above, house keeper staff keep everything clean and comfortable to us. great job,great team,great hotel. my next trip to oaxaca for sure hotel victoria is my destination.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelvenecia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Went to Oaxaca after much anticipation; I had seen much of Mexico but not here. We got a great rate on Travelocity (from research on Tripadvisor) at about half the book rate; and the hotels here in this city not as plentiful or economical as you would find elsewhere in Mexico. The location is actually stunning, on a hill overlooking the whole city! The hotel also has small private villas around the 18 acres for rent. The pool is huge and heated and there are extensive grounds for walking, holding outdoor affairs or even birdwatching. We saw many species right on the grounds!
This hotel is a typical hacienda style; has a restaurant with that fantastic view, both day and night; as does the coffee cafe/bar/internet lounge. And with the near perfect climate in Oaxaca it is a pleasure to enjoy a drink or meal open air, just take a jacket at night since it tends to be cooler. The food was really good and very fresh. Service here especially room service was quick but this is typical low season. This is not low season for tour groups, and there were busloads full every night stopping over just for the night; we chose to be in for the evenings before 8pm, as they usually arrive around then.
The Victoria is not within walking distance of the centro. But they will take you and pick you up from there at certain times if you ask. We chose to take taxis as they only cost about $3.00 a trip.
The rooms are usual Mexico style; basic, clean and roomy. The beds do tend to be on the hard side, but there is the ubiquitous minibar, cable, a security box and plenty of hot water! No in- room internet, or movie rental, but there is a roomy bath, free bottled water daily, laundry service, 24 hour room service, good a/c and if you like fresh air at night it makes for nice sleeping if you just leave the windows open. There are no elevators in this hotel, so in the main hotel you must take a wide winding staircase up; not bad but
this hotel I would NOT recommend for the disabled or very elderly. There are ground floor rooms in one part of the grounds and the villas are one story but the whole hotel is set on a hillside, so for the not -so- sure footed it could be very dodgy.
The hotel staff were just super; very helpful and genuine. They will exchange money at the best rate for you, which in Mexico changes almost by the hour these days.
By the way; have the hotel call a cab for you to go back to the airport, don't buy round trip tickets from the airport as they are a rip-off.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank munizera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

I've traveled all over Latin America and Europe and usually do it on a budget, so this is one of the more expensive hotels I've stayed in. I wanted to treat myself.

Not much of a treat. The staff is friendly and exceedingly helpfu--for example checking on a leak from my window in the room immediately, moving me from one room to another-- but the rooms are truly dingy, more on par with a 2- star than a 5- star. Not enough lighting in bathroom, super dirty carpets, chipping paint, not so nice decor in the first place. As of right now, they are doing construction on the road and gardens leading up to the hotel, making the walk down to the city too muddy to venture.

Seriously, there must be better value in Oaxaca and closer to the action?!

I will say that the bar has a lovely view and nice atmosphere, and again, the service is good. They just need a true makeover to justify the prices.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JorgeyWeezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2007

I stayd at the Victoria for 2 nights. This hotel can boast a beautiful setting, on the slopes of a hill dominating the town of Oaxaca. It's not close to the city centre, but the hotel provides a free shuttle bus service to reach it. The hotel is nice, but it is definitely not a 5 stars hotels as advertised. Rooms are large and some of them with a stunning view of the city, but the quality of materials and furniture used is not the one of a 5 stars hotel. The hotel has got a very nice swimming pool, business centre (I only tried their internet service: good and not expensive) and a restaurant. I have only tried it for breakfast and food and service were both good. Some of my travel companions also tried it for dinner and they all said it was very good, too. All in all, I feel like recommending this hotel for a stay in Oaxaca, but look somewhere else if you are in serch of something more similar to a 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dolphin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2007

After a horrendous flying experience with Delta, we were extremely happy to arrive at the Hotel Victoria on Feb. 17 2007. Staff were warm and welcoming, the restaurant's Oaxacan sampler appetizer and cold cervezas were just what we needed, and the room (a junior suite) was cool and spacious enough for two adults and two children.

This is a great place for those looking for a combination of resort-style and sight-seing vacation; take the 5-minute shuttle ride to the zocalo in the morning, return via cheap cab (35 pesos) for a late afternoon swim and cocktail, head back downtown on the 6 pm shuttle for dinner. (If you're the walking type, you could even do the trip on foot.) It's also a convenient staging location for day trips to Monte Alban (about 20 minutes by car) and the valleys.

True, the main menu is just adequate, but the breakfast buffet (served on a wide terrace overlooking the hills and city) more than makes up for it--and, as many have noted, there are great restaurants a short ride away. The bar is outstanding; American ex-pats and locals like it for the views at sunset and the better-than-average drinks. Several nights during our stay, the tennis courts were used by local football (soccer) clubs -- whose games were fun, competitive, and well attended by families and friends; it was an unexpected way to enjoy some friendly interaction with Oaxacan citizens.

If you're traveling with kids, give special consideration to the Victoria: The pool is spectacular and a nice diversion for children; the staff is super-friendly and helpful; the grounds make for space to roam. Overall, it was the perfect retreat for a harried family in need of a vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank brewster65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews