We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location close to downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Hotel Victoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Internacional Km 545 | Col. Figueroa, Oaxaca 68070, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
anywhere
Level Contributor
277 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good location close to downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

the location is very good i would say: just 5 mins walk to downtown. The hotel is situated against a hill, overviewing the center. i had a junior suite which was very spacious with a balcony overviewing the city. Rooms were in apartment like small building. The standard rooms are in the actual hotel building I believe. Hotel is not the most modern but that didnt bother me at all. All is surrounded by gardens. Breakfast buffet was really good, again overviewing the city center. Didnt try the pool since it was quite cold (december) but it looked good. This is a very good option if you dont want to be in on of the downtown hotels which can be noisy and dark.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pelowelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A classic hotel from the 1950s with updated rooms and gorgeous view overlooking the city. Hotel Victoria has that feel of old Hollywood. The shuttle is very convenient and drops you off downtown every hour. The room we stayed in was standard-clean and basic. The patio, pool and restaurant were great. We loved relaxing in the pool and having a drink on the patio. The breakfast buffet was excellent-lots of choices-something for everyone. The hotel was full of groups and families. A good choice for families or groups who can rent the small casas overlooking the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ana4sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The rooms are comfortable and some of them have a very nice view. The location of the Hotel is just great, they're near downtown and also near the Guelaguetza auditorium. The hotel has a free shuttle service to the town center in a regular bias but if you preffer go there by walking you can do it (it takes less than 15 minutes to get there).
The food was good, tasty and you have a veriety of typical dishes to chose, try them!

What I didn't like about the Victoria Oaxaca Hotel: The rooms have just one key. As I was sharing a room with someone else during a congress it would be much better for me to have a spare key, still this won't be a problem if you can talk to your roomate and agree in leaving the key at the front desk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Extremely well positioned for views overlooking the town. Both restaurant and bar (floor above restaurant) were open along one side to enjoy the vistas, but a bit chilly for an early breakfast! The pool was lovely, clean and warm, and the room was absolutely fine. We were located in a block just across from the main part where the reception and restaurant were. Meal on the first of our 2 evenings there was rather a disaster so the following night we ate in the town. The driver of the hotel's shuttle bus was very helpful: a number of people were waiting, so he took them earlier than the appointed time and came straight back for the rest of us, meaning we left at the appointed hour. Overall a good stay but disappointment with the evening food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kandj93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great views from the restaurant and bar. 20 to 30 minutes walk to the town centre but there is a free shuttle bus every hour and taxis always available for only 40 peso (£2).
Room was fine and the hotel has some nice grounds and an open swimming pool which seemed popular.
Breakfast was good - plenty of choice.
We had a problem with the evening meal - on a table for 4 only one meal arrived hot - presumably the other 3 left to one side for too long, were all cold on cold plates. We asked for them to be reheated - but they again came back too cold to eat if a bit warmer and so again we asked for them to be fixed. The chef must have lost his temper at this point as they returned absolutely red hot from presumably being in the microwave too long. The food was also red hot, too hot to eat now, one meal being almost stuck to the plate - and I can't say that being red hot added much to the salad component of the meal. We should have told them to throw them away.
The meal being cold wasn't really a problem - these things happen - it was the attitude of the staff and chef to fixing it that gives rise to complaint.
I wouldn't recommend eating here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank typicalcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked a 4/5 star hotels trip around Mexico and this one was supposed to be the only 4 stars in the whole tour. Nonsense. The signal in the entrance is 5 stars all right but the hotel is not. We booked a standard room so we knew we wouldn´t get a nice view or anything fancy. But the room lacked some basic stuff like a small table for putting glasses or any other food, proper cleaning and proper maintainence. There was an old and stained armchair. The toilet reservoir was broken and the closet lacked serious maintainance as well. I took pictures of all this and showed them to the repection desk. They moved us to another room. This room was better than the first one but far away from the level a standard room in a 5 star hotel is supposed to have. There wasn´t anything to step on in the shower so the risk of falling down was huge. Besides that, the cover, separating the shower from the rest of the bathroom blocked all the light so showers were taken in the dark. The sweage smell in the bathroom was unberable and the towels were old, thin and had that grey colour that white towels get after years of use and not good cleaning. The curtains had stains and were ripped off. In one of the corners of the room there was a strong urine smell. The window faced the place where the vans come and go, and also the touristic buses, and as it was a stepy hill, the noise was unbelievable.
I wouldn´t be doing this review if the hotel was a 2 stars one or even a hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabiola Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oaxaca hotels

El
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

It’s my third time staying at the Victoria Hotel, by far the best option if your visiting Oaxaca, the hotel has a very inviting pool, nice gardens and a fabulous view of the city, not to mention they have a shuttle service, which is very convenient if you need to go downtown, the restaurant had a great selection of Mexican dishes and drinks, it’s a great place to relax and also its very secure, ill definitely stay there again on my next visit. Kudos to all the staff

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, the view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.7 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#21 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fortin Plaza
Hotel Fortin Plaza
#56 of 110 in Oaxaca
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#38 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fiesta Inn Oaxaca
Fiesta Inn Oaxaca
#18 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villas del Sol
Hotel Villas del Sol
#44 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Carretera Internacional Km 545 | Col. Figueroa, Oaxaca 68070, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing