We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - if you don't have mobility problems!”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #40 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Beautiful setting in gardens; pool looked inviting tho' we didn't have time to use it. BUT there are so many flights of steps everywhere (to reach the restaurant, the gardens & each of the hotel buildings) that it wouldn't suit anyone with walking difficulties.We were allocated a standard room up/down steps, along outdoor walkways, more steps, around corners - couldn't have been further from Reception! As my husband is (temporarily) on crutches we were upgraded to a junior suite - not so far to walk, very spacious & fantastic views over the city. Good breakfasts with a different selection of delicious Mexican dishes each day; dinner & bar snacks nothing memorable. The bar, being open on one side, was rather chilly in the evenings though.We weren't troubled by noise, either from the road or from the disco (which is down in the city, not, as we had feared from postings here, at the hotel) even though we were there at the weekend.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible - the view of the city from some of the standard rooms is spoiled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobblenoseWarwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 320 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

We spent 5 nigts, originally in a standard room on the main building, terrible! The bathroom smelled bad, the room was super warm, noisy, the pillows next to nasty. After the first sleepless night changed to a suite, wich is on a separate building, with spectacular view, much much nicer, but still, terrible pillows, extra strong chemical cleanning product smell, and very noisy, The restaurant is ok if you have no other choice, service slow inconsistent, someday ordering the same thing you can get a great dish and the next day it will be terrible!!! Great terrace. The 3rd hotel as I see it, are villas wich are nice but still not clean stained with carpet, and super noisy (there's a busy highway). So no, We'll never go back an we do not recomend it. Fortunatelly there are lots of hotels to choose from in Oaxaca!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenn4335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotelrooms are nice, you could argue the 5 start reating, the bathroom was dated as are the hotelrooms interiors. But the bed was good, breakfast was excellent, dinner exellent and drinks at the bar have without any doubt the best view in town.
Location is just 5 carminutes away from the centre of town. They have there own shuttle service. Taxi will cost just 40 pesos. It's great that you can combine the morning tour to Monte Alban or Mitla and in the afternoon can relax at the pool.
Oaxaca city is a very friendly Mexican town, the sell beautiful craft products, the markets are very exotic (bowls of dead grasshoppers for consumption). We visited Mexico for 3 weeks and this was without any doubt the best city!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

This hotel overlooks the city with great views, a great restaurant and nice pool. The rooms are standard but we had 30 family members at the hotel and it was perfect for us. The shuttle takes you right to the center of town or a cab is just 40 pesos. It is a nice quiet retreat after being in the hustle and bustle of downtown. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Do not stay if you can avoid. We could not eat the food as the smell was terrible, we asked for wine glass and they brought us one which still had wine at the bottom from previous customer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buciIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

After seeing our initial standard room, we had to pay to upgrade as we couldn't have stayed in the first one. This hotel is in need of an upgrade and not worth the money. The views from the room over the city were cool, but right next to a main road so lots of traffic noise. The pool was absolutely freezing and not very clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the free shuttle bus useful.

Room Tip: don't pick a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Fab views over Oaxaca - beautiful at night. Had an enormous suite in seperate block of the Hotel, 2 very large double beds, a day bed, table and chairs, large TV, shower and bath. Took hotels (free) bus service into town for dinner and then returned by their bus - which was exactly on time both ways. 2 computers available for guests to use free of charge. Breakfast was ok, plenty of Mexican dishes if you wanted them. Drinks (and snack type meals) available overlooking Oaxaca - fairly peaceful but there is a main road close by.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoshtravellerJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fortin Plaza
Hotel Fortin Plaza
#49 of 109 in Oaxaca
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mision de Los Angeles
Mision de Los Angeles
#44 of 109 in Oaxaca
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oaxaca Real
Hotel Oaxaca Real
#58 of 109 in Oaxaca
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#21 of 109 in Oaxaca
306 reviews
1 mi away
Los Olivos Spa
Los Olivos Spa
#39 of 109 in Oaxaca
84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#24 of 109 in Oaxaca
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Carretera Internacional Km 545 | Col. Figueroa, Oaxaca 68070, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range: $44 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing