We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Giron, Calle Matamoras, Oaxaca, Mexico”
Review of Casa Giron

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Giron
Ranked #25 of 132 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Casa Giron is a delightful and economical place to stay in the central historic district of Oaxaca City. A different Oaxacan breakfast dish is served every morning. The hosts Conception and Carlos are friendly and very accommodating in regards to food preferences. They are also patient for those of us trying to speak Spanish.
Although not fancy, rooms are large with tall ceilings and windows opening onto the central patio and good sized bathrooms. Rooms on ground or second floor (via a narrow circular staircase) Sheets and towels are not changed every day unless requested, but the floors are washed daily. Covered outside area with a table for breakfast and any other time along with cages of birds and fruit trees serves as a sitting area.
Another family member in the Casa gives cooking lessons (for a fee) of traditional Oaxacan dishes (Mole de Almendras was great) if one asks.
This B&B is on the edge of El Centro but only a 5-10 min walk from the action (the Zocolo and cathedral and the pedestrian streets) and is one block from the Soledad cathedral with its Plaza de Dances where free performances are often given.

Room Tip: In December, rooms upstairs have a better sun exposure, especially in late afternoon. None of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWinOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located, excellent value for money with individual rooms per person. The rooms itself are basic but there is a cleanliness to the place and the hostess is wonderful and helpful in every way. Her breakfast is also very good and it is like staying with a family in a home.
It isn't a luxury stay but if you are looking for budget accommodation I highly recommend this.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radsque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My friends and I stayed at this lovely home in Oaxaca! Simply charming and a great deal!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParametersSyracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a comfortable and easy-going place five or six blocks from the Zoc on one of the quieter streets in the neighborhood. It’s pretty informal (there is a ridiculously little dog running around, a couple tropical birds, and a pair of turtles) so if you need a new towel every day, move on. But the place is clean, there is plenty of hot water, and the hosts are really friendly (they don’t speak English, but we were able to communicate just fine). Breakfast is inarguably Mexican, that is, tortillas and black beans. The extended family lives in the compound, so it is a bustling place sometimes. We were there with our two kids (1.5 and 3) who could run around safely, gawk at the animals and play with the other kids.

One night the family was having a birthday party which went on after we had gone to bed. Granted, we go to bed early (two kids, what can you do), but it was a little tough falling asleep that night.

One of the neighbors in the compound gives a cooking class which I took. At 200 pesos it was fantastic and I highly recommend it. Ask for Magdalena.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Poprishchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Giron family is so sweet here. The host mother, Magdalena, is amazing. She cooks a great breakfast, and she has been very helpful in getting taxis and giving me advice on local trips. If she has time, she will even pick you up and drop you off at the airport. This is a busy household that consists of turtles, dogs, birds, family, and "adopted" children. Magdalena is an amazing person, and she has 3 Chatino boys who help out with the family laundry business in exchange for housing and education. She also does cooking classes at the home if you are interested.

The location is not super central but it is within easy walking distance to everything. Far enough away from the crazy business but very walkable.

Room Tip: The rooms vary. If you are planning to cook a lot, a few of the rooms have a kitchen to prepare you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ntle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
La Betulia Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Parador San Fernando
Parador San Fernando
#12 of 132 in Oaxaca
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casa Carlota
La Casa Carlota
#10 of 132 in Oaxaca
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Dos Lunas
Hostal Dos Lunas
#24 of 118 in Oaxaca
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oaxaca Magico
Hotel Oaxaca Magico
#26 of 132 in Oaxaca
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada Don Mario
Posada Don Mario
#16 of 118 in Oaxaca
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Giron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Giron

Address: Calle Mariano Matamoros # 502, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing