We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one complaint”
Review of Che Gaucho

Che Gaucho
Ranked #52 of 511 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Che gaucho is now located in colonia reforma just 8 minute taxi ride from downtown. You can taste beef grilled on an open fire, homemade pasta, bread and desserts baked daily with an extensive wine list. If you want to avoid traffic and crowds downtown be sure to make us one of your stops. We have smoking area, terrace with garden, separate bar area, valet parkin and 30 years experience.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The food here is fabulous, the waitstaff outstanding, the ambiance wonderful. Our only complaint is that they have this stunning outdoor area BUT it is their smoking area and it the smoke just seems to sit in it so, we can not enjoy it beyond gazing at it from inside!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Casitaazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chegaucho, Gerente at Che Gaucho, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thanks for writing your comments at tripadvisor.
Happy that you enjoy the visit at Che Gaucho, and we are sorry that were people who smoke in the gardens but that’s the only open area we have for customers who smoke, hope next time you can have a table there without the smoke.
Thanks once again for writing and visit us.
Che Gaucho Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 68 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

Expensive but elegant restaurant....beef is to die for....excellent wine list....superb service.....a place to go for that special evening....a little out of the way from the main part of Oaxaca....worth the trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BigJoeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chegaucho, Gerente at Che Gaucho, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thanks for writting your comments at tripadvisor.
Happy to hear that you like our wines and our beef. Recently we increase our variety of liquor and wine in order to offer the customers more options. We know that we are a little bit far from the zocalo so thanks once again for taking your time to visit us.

Che Gaucho Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My daughter, son-in-law, another couple and I had dinner here for the second time. Last year we were here also in February. We enjoyed great meals both times and excellent service. We likde the ambience of the restaurant very much.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank william_logan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chegaucho, Gerente at Che Gaucho, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Thanks for all your comments.
We are happy to hear that you, your family and friends visit us when your are in oaxaca, and a pleasure for us to hear you saying that our steaks are the best in Mexico. Let me tell you that we import them from Texas and they are angus quality. We´ll be here at your service once again in your next trip, thank you very much for writting about us in tripadvisor.
Che Gaucho Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I recently travel to Oxaca and visit this restaurant. It was great! The design of the building is inviting, the service is great they have a great variety of wines and the food is delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sgt-Iron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chegaucho, Gerente at Che Gaucho, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Thanks for writting your comments at tripadvisor.
The design that you liked was long planned from materials, ilumination and location of the dinning room, it was created to simulate a theater where diners are spectators and the vision is never interrupted, hence that if you look up you would see the wooden ceiling ana at the end of it the sky of Oaxaca and if you gaze down a little bit then you would see the terrace, where you can have a meal al fresco. Also it has a couzy atmosphere by the warmth of the materials and colors, we were looking for not having a sensation of confinement or pretentious.
As you also mentioned the wines. The variety of wines that we have is of four different nationalities basically, argentinean, mexican, spanish and chile. We handle approximately 100 different labels to have a wide range of strains and prices so that customers can enjoy their food with the wine of their choice.
Thanks for writting and we´ll wellcome you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Really this is a nice place with great ambiance, even though we nearly dined by ourselves as we arrived about an hour before they closed. The staff was very helpful, even finding someone with passable English to help explain the various cuts of meat. Definately a place to go for meat! Someone disappointing, but perhaps we should not have been surprised, that the meats were all from the U.S. Generally a good value for your money. Food was served pronto! Indeed we were in and out in less than an hour, and we might have enjoyed lingering somewhat longer. We took a taxi there because otherwise it might be difficult to find.

Thank BarryandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chegaucho, Gerente at Che Gaucho, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Thanks for your comments and a apology for the delay in answering but there was a problem with the restaurant´s page and it has been solved.
Like you said we have a place to go for meat, that´s why always try our best to get the best quality in our steaks, and as you well said they are imported from the States (Mcallen Texas) and its angus beef quality.
Unfurnatelly this location is new, we open in february fifth of 2010 that´s why is a little bit difficult to get here more if you are not from Oaxaca, the easiest way is to take a taxi like you said, is ten minutes from the zocalo and five minutes from ADO (first class bus terminal) or the other way is walking if you like exercising is 1.4 miles from the zocalo ( 25 minutes walk). Eventhough this is a new restaurant we have been in the food bussiness since 1983. We had other locations that now are close and most of the times peopple remember that addresses instead of the new one.
Thank you for your visit, your comments and will be a pleasure for us to recieve you anytime.
Che Gaucho Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Che Gaucho also viewed

Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Che Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing