We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best beef I've had in Mexico.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Che Gaucho

Che Gaucho
Ranked #70 of 461 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Price range: $20 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Che gaucho is now located in colonia reforma just 8 minute taxi ride from downtown. You can taste beef grilled on an open fire, homemade pasta, bread and desserts baked daily with an extensive wine list. If you want to avoid traffic and crowds downtown be sure to make us one of your stops. We have smoking area, terrace with garden, separate bar area, valet parkin and 30 years experience.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best beef I've had in Mexico.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

My daughter, son-in-law, another couple and I had dinner here for the second time. Last year we were here also in February. We enjoyed great meals both times and excellent service. We likde the ambience of the restaurant very much.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank william_logan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chegaucho, Gerente at Che Gaucho, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thanks for all your comments.
We are happy to hear that you, your family and friends visit us when your are in oaxaca, and a pleasure for us to hear you saying that our steaks are the best in Mexico. Let me tell you that we import them from Texas and they are angus quality. We´ll be here at your service once again in your next trip, thank you very much for writting about us in tripadvisor.
Che Gaucho Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great steak house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

I recently travel to Oxaca and visit this restaurant. It was great! The design of the building is inviting, the service is great they have a great variety of wines and the food is delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sgt-Iron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chegaucho, Gerente at Che Gaucho, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thanks for writting your comments at tripadvisor.
The design that you liked was long planned from materials, ilumination and location of the dinning room, it was created to simulate a theater where diners are spectators and the vision is never interrupted, hence that if you look up you would see the wooden ceiling ana at the end of it the sky of Oaxaca and if you gaze down a little bit then you would see the terrace, where you can have a meal al fresco. Also it has a couzy atmosphere by the warmth of the materials and colors, we were looking for not having a sensation of confinement or pretentious.
As you also mentioned the wines. The variety of wines that we have is of four different nationalities basically, argentinean, mexican, spanish and chile. We handle approximately 100 different labels to have a wide range of strains and prices so that customers can enjoy their food with the wine of their choice.
Thanks for writting and we´ll wellcome you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
390 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Really this is a nice place with great ambiance, even though we nearly dined by ourselves as we arrived about an hour before they closed. The staff was very helpful, even finding someone with passable English to help explain the various cuts of meat. Definately a place to go for meat! Someone disappointing, but perhaps we should not have been surprised, that the meats were all from the U.S. Generally a good value for your money. Food was served pronto! Indeed we were in and out in less than an hour, and we might have enjoyed lingering somewhat longer. We took a taxi there because otherwise it might be difficult to find.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank BarryandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chegaucho, Gerente at Che Gaucho, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thanks for your comments and a apology for the delay in answering but there was a problem with the restaurant´s page and it has been solved.
Like you said we have a place to go for meat, that´s why always try our best to get the best quality in our steaks, and as you well said they are imported from the States (Mcallen Texas) and its angus beef quality.
Unfurnatelly this location is new, we open in february fifth of 2010 that´s why is a little bit difficult to get here more if you are not from Oaxaca, the easiest way is to take a taxi like you said, is ten minutes from the zocalo and five minutes from ADO (first class bus terminal) or the other way is walking if you like exercising is 1.4 miles from the zocalo ( 25 minutes walk). Eventhough this is a new restaurant we have been in the food bussiness since 1983. We had other locations that now are close and most of the times peopple remember that addresses instead of the new one.
Thank you for your visit, your comments and will be a pleasure for us to recieve you anytime.
Che Gaucho Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YVR
Level Contributor
295 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nice steaks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Our Oaxacan friends took us to this restaurant in Colonia Reforma, a bit out of the way, but if you get the craving for steak, it is worth a visit. Big, classy looking place, it was a little chilly to eat on the large patio, so we ended up inside. They had a huge selection of different cuts on the menu, and we had a large group who all ordered different steaks. They all seemed to be cooked well, according to our requests and the portions were quite good. It was a nice meal and now that we are back in Oaxaca a year later we will go back and give it another visit.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chegaucho, Gerente at Che Gaucho, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thanks for your comments and sorry for the delay but had some problems with the restaurant´s page.
The restaurant is located in colonia reforma like you said, is a quiet place than the down town we used to have a restaurant next to the Santo Domingo church in 5 de mayo and gurrion street for over 10 years and now in our new facilities we strive to serve all of our costumers with the very best of service. We are please that all of your dishes were of your liking.
We´ll be waiting for you on your next visit to Oaxaca and thanks for writting.
Che Gaucho Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Argentinean restaurant in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

What a great find. Situated in a quiet neighborhood close to Centro this restaurant is a must stop. The food is well prepared with all of the marinades and sauces prepared daily. In addition all of the baking is made on site, and of an incredible quality. The menu focuses on carne, as it should, and all of the dishes from tongue to strip loin steak were first class.
The service is impeccable and the prices are reasonable for the quality and quantity of the meals. Do not miss this restaurant!!!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chegaucho, Gerente at Che Gaucho, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thanks for all your comments and sorry for the delay in asnswering you back but had some problems with the restaurant´s page.
What we like about our location is that compare to the zocalo is situated in a non crowed area and is really quiet as you said, not much traffic and noize.
Every day we bake our five differents kinds of bread and we also make our cakes, the photos are in our facebook page if you want to see them.
We are happy to hear that you like our dishes, the quality and quantity of them, we try to have a balance with the price and give our best service.
Thank you for your recommendations and comments, we´ll be at your service next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Che Gaucho also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Che Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing