We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Unusual, Experience”
Review of Casa Panchita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Panchita
Ranked #16 of 126 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent, Unusual, Experience”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Casa Panchita is family-owned and run. Guests are treated like family: if you have a question, or a problem, the proprietors (Irma and Alejandro) will do their best to help you. They are very knowledgeable about folk art in the vicinity, and will help you find your way to individual artists, if you are interested. The breakfast is fresh and tasty (and there is coffee available before, and during, breakfast), and the company is delightful: breakfast is served around the dining room table, and guests--many of whom come here year after year--are friendly and welcoming of newcomers. It is also an easy (15 minute) walk to many of Oaxaca's attractions, including the Zocalo, and downtown.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Co.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Casa Panchita is a very special B&B. It is family owned and operated and guests are catered to and treated like family at the same time. Panchita cooks her traditional, scrumptious Oaxacan recipes from whatever is the freshest available in the mercado each day. The setting is a lushly planted compound in a quiet, residential area of Oaxaca a pleasant, sightseeing walk to the centro and the zocalo. I took my granddaughter who could play safely on the grounds and visit with the animals and birds. Each room is delightfully furnished with folk art and fine taste.
Meals are family style with other interesting guests (many who return year after year) sharing thoughts, tips and making plans to take trips as a group.

Room Tip: This is a small B&B and depending on the season there may be few choices. There is one room near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have just returned from a lovely weekend in Oaxaca where we were fortunate to stay at Casa Panchita B&B. It is a delightful place. Particularly wonderful are the breakfasts they serve and the wonderful, welcoming nature of the proprietors, Irma and Alejandro. One could arrive not knowing a thing about Oaxaca, or what to do or where to go and they would offer you the best guidance. They run a lovely establishment with care, simplicity and expertise. I would return happily to spend some time there. It is also very well located near to the main square. Further, they might well be the best guides around for exploring the wonderful folkloric art that exists in Oaxaca. They could not have been more personable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLNewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had been planning a trip to Oaxaca from New Zealand and found Casa Panchita online. From the outset, the email arrangements for booking were prompt and courteous. It was so great to finally arrive at Casa Panchita and meet Panchita, her daughter Irma and son in law Alejandro. We felt at home right away and over a weeks stay enjoyed true Mexican family hospitality and local knowledge.
We can't fault the place or the relaxed and friendly help offered by Irma and Alejandro. Or the cooking of Panchita which has inspired Mexican style breakfasts in New Zealand since our return(although not up to Panchita's level of culinary expertise).
Irma and Alejandro have an intimate knowledge of their city, it's surrounds and in particular the artisanal artists of the area. Nothing was to much trouble and they gave us such great advice. They quickly sussed out what we were interested in suggested options we might enjoy. We followed their advice and had a simply amazing time in Oaxaca and nearby places. Alejandro arranged a driver one day, and on another, when we rented a car suggested visits to places we would have missed without that help. (Thanks for Yagul Alejandro!). Advice on eating out as also spot on.
The room we stayed in was beautiful, large and spotlessly clean. The location as perfect - walkable to the Zocolo and nice and quiet.
We feel fortunate to have met such lovely people and to have stayed in such a beautiful place. We were sad to leave. If you are going to Oaxaca try Casa Panchita - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The owners are wonderful people and the rooms are Mexican styled and cozy. It is a beautiful property located in a quieter section of Oaxaca..but right near the Organic Market Saturday market which is so wonderful.

You are able to walk all over from there. This is not on the Main Drag...but there are plenty of restaurants to walk to close by.
You'll LOVE Oaxaca..GO!

Room Tip: I loved the "studio" She has repeat customers and full on a regular basis so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank blsrsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

casa Pancita is a lovely place to stay in oaxaca. everything is nice: nice rooms, nice garden, nice hospitality.
Is a perfect place for those want to experience a real mexican hospitality. the owner can provide a usefull guides to organiza tours.
the place offer a quite location that is pretty rare in oaxaca city

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A family run inn with six colorfully appointed rooms ringing a courtyard resplendent with flowering shrubs, fruit trees and soaring palms, Casa Panchita is steeped in local culture and committed to traditional hospitality. The food is exquisite, the service unfailingly polite and attentive. The spotless rooms, decorated with whimsical Oaxacan folk art, are spacious and airy. The staff can provide knowledgeable guides and transportation to archeological sites and surrounding villages renown for their weavers and wood carvers. The inn is a 10-minute walk from the city center, its cathedral, museums, markets, botanical garden and the dazzling Church of Santo Domingo. At day's end, Alejandro's margaritas and Panchita's chicken mole or her enchiladas verdes await. No wonder that Casa Panchita has been treasured by seasoned travelers for decades.

Room Tip: Night time in Oaxaca is lively and sometimes noisy. Music blares. Dogs bark. Fireworks erupt. Casa P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anselmo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 109 in Oaxaca
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#13 of 109 in Oaxaca
137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 109 in Oaxaca
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 109 in Oaxaca
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Panchita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Panchita

Property: Casa Panchita
Address: Jose Lopez Alavez 1319 | Barrio Xochimilco, Oaxaca 68040, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located north of Oaxaca’s city center, Casa Panchita offers a tranquil retreat for visitors to this center of Mexican art and history. A warm, family-run guest house, Casa Panchita sits on a cobblestone street in an area of tin workers and weavers. Six individually decorated guest rooms display colorful works by artisans who have made Oaxaca a destination for lovers of art and regional cuisine. Private baths. B&B or full board available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing