We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go Now”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Panchita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Panchita
Ranked #15 of 127 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Go Now”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Casa Panchita had been recommended by a friend, so we decided to try it on our last visit to Oaxaca rather than return to our usual B&B. We were delighted and will return. First the setting: the gardens and patio are gorgeous. Next, the rooms, spotless and beautifully decorated with Mexican folk art. Next, the food, excellent. And finally, the hosts, warm, welcoming and eager to make sure you have a good time. And you will.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leahgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Best kept secret spot. Now not too secret! Best food ever. Best place to find tips to find best local artists.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank slpdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I have been staying at Casa Panchita since the early 80's, at least once a year and sometimes more than once. It has all the comforts of home and none of the responsibilities. There are 6 extremely comfortable rooms fronting a lovely garden. The daily rate comes with full breakfast and all meals are available. It is family run and Panchita is the matriarch of the family and does all the cooking. There is no better cuisine in Oaxaca. Irma, Panchita's daughter and her husband, Alejandro, handle all the business affairs. One quickly becomes a "member" of the family. Each room has a bookcase of books available to the guests. Folk art is found everywhere in the compound........rooms, garden, dining room, terrace, etc. Excellent guides and tours can be recommended. It is a 20-30 minute walk to the zocalo. It is located in the Xochimilco colonia with the 16th century aqueduct forming a wall in the pool area. This is a jewel in a jewel of a city and a jewel of an area.

Room Tip: Graden room for size. Studio room for garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Memo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I love this place! My husband and I have stayed at Casa Panchita on several visits to Oaxaca. We’ve tried other places and always return here, for the people we meet and the service we receive. Casa Panchita opens a door to authentic Oaxacan art and cuisine. Rooms are homey, spotless, and filled with creative art from this colorful region. A family atmosphere prevails at meals, and on the central patio where we inevitably meet interesting travelers and glean tips for the next day’s explorations. Panchita’s food delivers the rich flavors of Oaxaca, and is prepared with care to freshness and health. Alejandro and Irma grew up here and are endlessly resourceful in arranging anything from tour guides to laundry service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpiritedWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.7 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 113 in Oaxaca
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Oaxaca
Hotel Villa Oaxaca
#14 of 113 in Oaxaca
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#9 of 113 in Oaxaca
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.6 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#5 of 113 in Oaxaca
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Panchita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Panchita

Property: Casa Panchita
Address: Jose Lopez Alavez 1319 | Barrio Xochimilco, Oaxaca 68040, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located north of Oaxaca’s city center, Casa Panchita offers a tranquil retreat for visitors to this center of Mexican art and history. A warm, family-run guest house, Casa Panchita sits on a cobblestone street in an area of tin workers and weavers. Six individually decorated guest rooms display colorful works by artisans who have made Oaxaca a destination for lovers of art and regional cuisine. Private baths. B&B or full board available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing