We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience! Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca
Ranked #5 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience! Highly recommended”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were recommended Casa del Sol by friends and we were not disappointed. We arrived before check in and were allowed to store our bags and have breakfast while our room was prepared. Guillermo and staff are incredibly friendly and exceptionally helpful. The accommodation is quiet, beautiful and clean! The central courtyard is a garden Oasis and the internet is fast. The location is very accessible to all the sights in central Oaxaca city and the staff can help you arrange day trips. Very good value. Highly recommended. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello Victoria Guy! We would like to thank you for your kind opinion about our hostal. Staff are so glad that people share their experience at Casa del Sol and enjoy the Oaxaca magic but the most important thing in our hostal is take care about our hosts. We want to let you know that you are welcome anytime to stay with us and we look foreward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
78
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My fiancee and I recently spent 7 beautiful nights at Hostal Casa del Sol. I can't say enough good things about this place. The location is perfect. It is centrally located to everything in Oaxaca.

The staff goes above and beyond. Guillermo and his team made us feel right at home. They fix breakfast, help plan outside excursions, recommend great restaurants and keep Casa del Sol extremely clean.

We enjoyed evenings on the courtyard with our Casa del Sol friends. Also complimentary breakfast’s in the morning on the patio.

It’s hard for me to call this place a hostal because of the hospitality 5 star. If you are looking for a party hostal this isn’t the place for you. I would recommend to couples, small groups of travelers and anyone who’s never stayed in a hostal before. I am 100% sure that this is the best place to stay in Oaxaca!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello Allison Fearn! What a wonderful comment! Casa del Sol feels so afortunately to have lovely guests like you; Travelers who really enjoy and discover traditions and culture of each place that you visit. We are so happy that your experience in our hostal will be keep in your mexico's memories. Thank you so much for you opinion, for recommend us but above all for value our work. With any luck, in the not too distant future we shall have the chance to meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This is the nicest Hostel I have ever stayed at. The staff were excellent and made us feel like home. The rooms were spacious and had a great breeze. The courtyard was very relaxing and it is walking distance to the markets. At the end of my stay I was sad and did not want to leave. I would recommend this place for anyone who doesn't mind sharing a bathroom and shower (which is typically what you do at every hostel). They could have easily charged more money. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S5862YNandrewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Allison and Adrew! First that all thank you so much for giving us this agreable comment. After reading these lines we had remember the funny time we had spend togther. Thank you for value our work and be part of our family. We are so sad too, but, we know we will see you and share great moments again. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Jaime was a great host, welcomed us to Oaxaca with suggestions on things to do. Breakfasts were solid, rooms were clean (ours was a little bit noisy on the street side), location would be hard to beat (1 block from Cathedral), and courtyard was beautiful. Most of all the hospitality and friendliness of the staff made the whole experience. Best hostel during our entire trip to Mexico.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Hello Anthony Hernández! Greetings from Oaxaca! Thank you so much for sharing us your experience at our hostal. We know the rooms next to the street are a little bit noisy but we hope to have the opportunity to reduce it. Staff are so glad to know you ejoyed and felt welcome at Casa del Sol. Hope to have you as our guest once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We just finished our stay here and loved it! The staff were super friendly and helpful, the rooms very cute and comfortable and they have a lovely courtyard surrounded by greenery and flowers so you feel very removed from the city. Close to everything so we could just walk everywhere. Would stay here again for sure!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sjm1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello dear costumer! We feel so happy that your experience in our hostel had been lovely. A simple things come in our courtyard to make a good energy for everyone and you made the real oasis in our place. We hope that you continue enjoying your wonderful trip in Mexico. Will be a nice pleasure have you once again. All the best for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Can't echo enough everyone on here saying what a beautiful little place this was. As a hostel/budget hotel, it can't get any more relaxing. Oaxaca's not exactly hardcore anyway, but to be able to escape the traffic that plies its narrow roads all day, for that tiny courtyard blooming with bougainvillea, was repeatedly a relief. We took probably the best room - a largish en-suite - which was as good as anything you would pay at least twice as much for anywhere else in Mexico. There were some real attempts at attention to detail, which lifted it well above your average double room in a hostel/chain hotel. It was February but was just the right temperature inside the room - not too hot or cold. As with other hostel-like places, you sit with others at breakfast (which was perfectly adequate), which means you have chance to share a few travellers tales. that's not to everyone's taste, but I quite like it, as it adds to the relaxed air about the place. But most outstanding was the service. The two or three day and night staff who were on while we were there were terrific; extremely helpful, with perfect English for when my partner's Spanish was not available and just discrete enough so you could get involved with them, if you needed to. My surprise was that it was not full. Why is anyone going anywhere else?

Room Tip: We had the best one. I think there is only one large double with an ensuite, but there are other goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flipside1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear costumer! After reading your wonderful and lovely comment, we can't find words to say thank you for these magnificient lines about our hostel. We are so glad that you found in this place a cheery and pleasant atmosphere. Our mission of everyday is provide to our guests all the necessary to have a great time looking after the smallest details with the warm of a traditional oaxacan house. We hope to host you one more time and enjoy the colors of Oaxaca. Have a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

For singles, pairs, adventurers and travelers on a budget, a little gem of a hostel sits on a lovely street in town. Five rooms with shared bath, and also a dorm-style accommodation. Charming, clean, run by a knowledgable and friendly manager/owner who lives on the grounds.Maybe the loveliest place of this type I've seen anywhere. Simply perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms face a courtyard, some bigger than others but all comfortable and well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello Randy! There are not words to say thank you for your delightful comment.
Any opinion is a new oportunity to look our place and try to start again with only
one ideal: I want to do my best. The most simple things are important for us.
We hope you can come back soon and enjoy more our town, food and traditions.
All the best for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#31 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Mariposas
Hotel Las Mariposas
#13 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aitana
Hotel Aitana
#37 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#22 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca

Property: Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca
Address: Calle La Constitucion 301 | 68000, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing