We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca
Nearby Hotels
$146
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$160
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$109
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
145
24
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
24
3
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 174 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Staying at Casa del Sol really made our stay in Oaxaca a treat. We had a double room which was tastefully decorated and large and comfortable. We were welcomed by a smiling Jamie who greeted us personally and cheerfully introduced us to the place. The inner courtyard is really pretty and they have really made an effort to make the rooms pleasant. The shared bathrooms are of a high standard and kept very clean. Breakfast was simple but great coffee and friendly service. We also had a fun chocolate making demonstration on one evening. Highly recommended. Thanks to all the staff for a great stay. Stacy and Paul

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hello Stacy and Paul! first of all we would like to thank your comment, it´s very cute. We are really happy that your visit to Oaxaca and staying in our hostel had been pleasant. It was great that you have been part of our small proyect "CHOCOLATEANDO", the best part was that we had a funny time: smelling, shaking and tasting hot chocolat; next time we will prepare something more. We hope you can come back again and discover more of Oaxaca. You will be very welcome to home. Best regads.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Really fantastic. Just want to stay another night! The dorm can be a bit noisy with traffic, but its very comfortable and good value. Sleep wasn't an issue for me. Great staff who are always happy to help and flexible. Oh and a nice breakfast in the mornings and good quality WiFi.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Hello! Thank you so much for spend your time to write us a comment; on behalf of the staff many thanks for let us have you as our guest, it was a really nice pleasure. We invited you to come back and enjoy more of Oaxaca. Warm hungs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Host Guillermo and his delightful staff made a big contribution to a wonderful week in Oaxaca city. Our room was kept immaculate, healthy breakfasts (included) were always provided with smiles and friendly chat. It seemed that any time we needed anything one of the staff would be there with suggestions, directions and information. The most friendly staff we have experienced in many years.

Room Tip: Room with bath definitely worth the extra pesos.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danfaye223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hello Faye & Dan! We have no words to say thank you for your comment. The staff are so glad that our work was pleasant for you. Casa del sol will be open always for you; we hope you have the opportunity to come back and enjoy more of Oaxaca. Best Regards Staff of Casa del Sol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Hostel Casa Del Sol is a fantastic place to stay.

We stayed in a private room with ensuite which was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The courtyard was also beautiful and a good spot to chat to other guests.

The staff were friendly and helpful and even put on face painting, mescal and hot chocolate for the Day of the Dead.

Would definitely recommend this place to other travellers.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ShazDwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Hello Darwin! We are satisfied that your stay in Casa del Sol had been pleasant. We tried to share with you a small flavor taste of "the day of the dead". We hope to host you in another oaxacan festivity. The most important fou us is work with quality of service and show our traditions. Best
wishes from Oaxaca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights whilst staying in Oaxaca and loved it! The room was beautiful and spacious with a private ensuite. Guillermo as well as other guests in the hotel were welcoming, helpful, and friendly. One guest even cooked dinner for everyone in the hostel that night ! The hostel is located in a great spot within walking distance of everything. Wifi was great which is a plus in Mexico and the cleanliness is incredible! One of the best hostels I would definetely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanna7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Hello Lanna! Thank you very much for your opinion, it´s really satisfactory that you stay with us was nice. We hope you can come soon and enjoy more the oaxacan food. Take care and have a nice time at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews