We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it - friendly, safe, clean, quiet, cozy and central.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca
Save
You added Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it - friendly, safe, clean, quiet, cozy and central.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Casa del Sol didnt disappoint and met all expectations raised by previous reviews. I extended my stay twice so was moved around a bit and able to "try out" three different rooms - double with private bath, double with shared bath and dormitory. All rooms nicely appointed with added touches for coziness and athestics. Everything, including shared baths, spotlessly clean. Very quiet. Lovely common areas including kitchen and sunny internal courtyard. Free wifi which was reasonably fast and very consistent. Staff were friendly accomodating and knowledgeable. Breakfast included in rate and was pleasantly adequate - fresh fruit, cereal, bread and jam, tea/coffee that sort of thing. Location in the historic centre very convenient to all attractions and easy walk everywhere. Also very safe - access from the street kept locked and staff members on site all day ad night. All this for less than $US40/night. Great value for money. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lala2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
78
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was the first place we stayed in Mexico, and the friendliness of the staff was never surpassed anywhere else. The people who work here will go far out of their way to help you find anything you need.

The common courtyard is beautiful and creates a sense of community. The facilities and rooms are clean and new. And the location is perfect-- just far enough from the main Zocalo to be quiet. I enjoyed my stay immensely!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alyssa1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillerm0_Mend0za, Propietario at Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. Our mission is to make our guests feel at home, enjoying the city and quickly return to Oaxaca. However, work is also our mistakes and try to improve every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This place is beautiful with a wonderful terracotta courtyard and nice flowers. The rooms and bathroom were also very clean and well decorated. The value is phenomenal we were a party of 5 and payed 160 pesos per person. which is about £7 per night. The breakfast was a joy; fruit, cereal, and toast were perfect in the gentle sun. The staff were also very helpful. The location is also ideal only a 5 minute walk from the make catherdral yet situated on a quiate street. Stay here.

Room Tip: dorms are very comfortable, and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Having tried many, and I mean MANY hostels in Mexico, Casa del Sol still rates up there at the top, hence my having stayed there 4 or 5 times. For comfort, location, tasteful decoration, friendliness, cleanliness, peace and tranquility then you cannot beat this hostel. Guillermo is the consummate host and his team will make sure your stay is hassle-free, relaxing and very civilised. The only drawback is not being able to use the kitchen after 6pm, but if you ask nicely there is sometimes some flexibility. Other than that, this is hands down the best hostel you will find for miles. Muchas gracias chicos!! Arlo

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArloTick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I had a great time staying at Hostal Casa del Sol. The White double room was lovely and a bargain at 450 pesos a night. The courtyard is beautiful, the staff is helpful and friendly, and the entire place is squeaky clean. The location is also excellent; it is a relatively short walk to the zocalo, mostly along traffic-free streets, and an even shorter walk to the Santo Domingo cathedral. Our beds were made every day and the room was cleaned, in sharp contrast with other hostels we stayed in on our trip. The bathrooms were shared, but the ladies bathroom was as nicely decorated as the rest of the hostel. There was a weird incident where a neighbor had a concert until 4 in the morning, but that was no fault of the hostel, and we should have brought ear plugs anyway. I'm so glad that we were able to find out about this place through trip advisor, as it was not in most of the guidebooks I looked at--yet. My only criticism is that the mattress wasn't very comfortable, but I wouldn't rate that as a big enough problem to take a star away from the excellent overall experience--by far and away it exceeds the expectations of something labeled a hostel. I would highly recommend this Hostal Casa del Sol to anyone visiting Oaxaca, and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I cannot praise this hotel enough. The place is clean, beautifully decorated, staff are friendly and helpful.
I stayed there with my family, four of us shared a room and another slept in the dorm. The rooms were clean, tidy, as was the women's bathroom.
It was extremely cheap staying here, breakfast was included and we felt very at home. I look forward to going back in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here just after 2013 new year eve. The hostal was full and the people and commons areas were great. The price is very good and even it has no luxuries but great location, quiet and nice place.

Room Tip: Private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pepe_madrid08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#23 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#5 of 111 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Mariposas
Hotel Las Mariposas
#14 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca

Property: Hostal Casa del Sol Oaxaca
Address: Calle La Constitucion 301 | 68000, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing