We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent fresh fish” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marisqueria Neptuno

Marisqueria Neptuno
Ranked #87 of 453 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: It's a newly opened restaurant (approx. November, 2010), they serve both fish and seafood (shrimps) from the coasts of Oaxaca; Puerto Escondido, Puerto Angel etc..
Richmond, Indiana
Level Contributor
108 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We enjoyed sharing an entire large huachinango, fresh, of course, with all the trimmings. They brought us several fresh fish to choose from. It was nicely priced and the service was excellent! We were treated to free mezcal by the manager. Enjoyed it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardSchillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The best meal we had in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We found this restaurant the last night of our stay and it was right across the small park from the Holiday Inn Express. We liked it much better than the Marco Polo. I had garlic shrimp and my wife had shrimp diablo. Beautiful large prawns cooked perfectly with a salad and rice. They serve a small bowl of soup as a beginner and it was wonderful. Absolutely the best lemonade mineral I have ever had. Don't miss this one. They also offered whole fresh fish which also looked wonderful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauleywog113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We both love fish so picked this place for early dinner next to our hotel for our last dinner in Oaxaca. Thanks to another reviewer we knew exactly what to expect--great fish, everything else not so good. That said the soft tortillas were good and the "fish" was out of this world. Quotes because we especially enjoyed the escargots/squid entree I think in garlic. Best ever. And the fish was perfectly cooked. Waitstaff was very friendly, happy to see us. I was tempted to give this place a 5 despite the quality of the vegetables (and I do like vegetables).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tularosa, NM
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“reasonable and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

good food, service, tasty dishes, we had the filete a la veracruzana and fish tacos. Sopa de camaron very nice. Passed on the cucarachas del mar--couldn't get past the name but look to be a kind of lobster.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tulieguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Unpretensious and delicious seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Directly across from Parque Conzatti, we went to Marisqueria Neptuno twice in one week. Friendly and family-run, we found their seafood to be the best in town. It has none and the pretense of Marco Polo and delivers seafood that tastes every bit as good. Colourful tin decorations of fish are suspended from the ceiling (along with a few shark jaws). When a dish from the kitchen is ready, two animated birds on the counter chirp to let the servers know its ready. After sitting down we were presented with a demi-tasse of fish broth with a big tasty shrimp that poked out the top. The tostadas with avocado and shrimp were among our favourites. When we first arrived the place was empty and when we were ready to leave there was not a seat to be had - it was filled with locals who are obviously in the know.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MLF1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marisqueria Neptuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing