We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent seafood at a good price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marisqueria La Red

Marisqueria La Red
Ranked #48 of 461 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vigo, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood at a good price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a chain but it's definitely the best seafood I've eaten in Oaxaca. Service is pretty fast, and the prices are pretty low. Definitely recommended!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ccnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    37
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Best seafood we had during a 12-day stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a no-frills restaurant located just south of the zocolo and market. We ate there one afternoon purely by chance - we were hungry, it was open and there was no line. We didn't expect much.

Wow, were we in for a surprise. My pulpo in garlic sauce was the best octopus I had during our 12-day stay in Oaxaca. It was succulent, tender and perfectly seasoned. My wife and son had shrimp dishes and they were also superb. The ceviche (which we didn't order) looked scrumptious and seemed to be a favorite of the locals we who dining there. In fact, the food here was better overall (and considerably cheaper) than what we had at Marco Polo and Neptuno, two highly touted, seafood restaurants located north of Santo Domingo.

If you're craving white linen service, quiet surroundings and fresh flowers on your table, this isn't the place for you. But if you have a taste for fresh, simply prepared seafood and a couple of cold beers or aquafrescas in a lively neighborhood, then make a beeline here. You will not regret it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nationalparkslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

La Red has restaurants in several locations. The most central one is one block below the SE corner of the zocalo. The seafood is fresh and the serving will leave you filled up. The price is medium but well worth it. I wish I were eating there today.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Oaxacaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigo, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great seafood!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

This place is EXCELLENT if you're in the mood for seafood, and there are several around the city so location is generally convenient. They start you with an appetizer of rolls followed by your choice of seafood soups, baked seafood, fried seafood..whatever you want! It's a little noisy as it's quite popular, and a little pricey but that can be expected since Oaxaca is not conveniently located near the coast. Definitely a great value and you can get your fish a la mexicana if you're feeling guilty about not eating Mexican!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A taste of local dinning and unbeatable atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were recommended this place by some tour guides and decided to check it out. From the outside, it looked like a place we probably wouldn't have given a second look but the meal and experience was fantastic. I you like seafood and a couple of beers this is the place for you. The food was fresh and the entire restaurant was packed with locals. Thumbs up!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellabels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marisqueria La Red also viewed

 

Been to Marisqueria La Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing